Zalando "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Zalando Reviews

Updated Jan 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
67%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Zalando CEO Robert Gentz
Robert Gentz
275 Ratings
  1. "Berlin and Zalando: the place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Junior Partnership Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zalando full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great city where to work and live. The company is innovative, dynamic, international and promotes collaboration and sharing. You can learn a lot, get to know new and skilled people coming from different countries. Great working environment.

    Cons

    It's only in Berlin :(

    Zalando2019-11-22
  2. "many group benefits, fast moving Zalando, slow moving Lounge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Merchandise Planner in Berlin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Zalando Lounge is a separate world - divided and very different from the rest of the Zalando SE cosmos. Things go slower in here, the whole institution is smaller, more informal and cosier.

    Cons

    As Zalando is crazy about innovation and always fast forward, you could expect Lounge to be the same, but it is not. This can also be frustrating, depending on one's expectations to the work environment.

    Zalando2019-11-18
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Chaos 101"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Backend Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time

    Pros

    Large scale, and overall company stability.

    Cons

    Nepotism, low salaries, strange hiring process.

    Zalando2019-11-30
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Great Place for SDs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cutting edge tech, Great architectural solutions, open culture, inter operational teams

    Cons

    Changes can take time provoking frustrations

    Zalando2019-11-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good as a starting point"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work atmosphere, benefits as 40% discount, sport activities and social events.

    Cons

    Difficult to grow. No opportunity to discuss salary yearly. Feeling of not being able to actively influence your career.

    Advice to Management

    Zalando is letting go talent constantly, not sure if that is a good growing strategy.

    Zalando2019-11-26
  6. "Customer service specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zalando full-time

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and team

    Cons

    salary , maybe, is not the highest

    Advice to Management

    Amazing management

    Zalando2019-11-13
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin

    I have been working at Zalando full-time

    Pros

    Leading edge technology stack Work with many talented people Good work and life balance Allowance to work remotely when needed Great salary & benefits

    Cons

    I can't think of anything remarkable

    Zalando2019-11-07
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Development, good coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good coworkers (both technically and personally speaking) - Innovation and use of latest technologies

    Cons

    - Overloaded with documentation and paperwork for engineering - A lot of internal processes - Management is changing its mind all the time and prevents being productive. This is changing in a very positive way just recently.

    Zalando2019-11-07
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great teams; interesting work; excellent culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in Dublin, Dublin

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My colleagues in the Dublin office (and beyond) make it a joy to come to the office. We work hard and take our jobs seriously, but every day comes with good humor, laughs, and jokes. It’s exciting to work on the cutting edge - to see these models make an impact on the business and our customers’ experiences; we’re using state-of-the-art data science to address real problems for the business.

    Cons

    We've gone through a few organisations shuffles and reshuffles that can be disruptive to day-to-day work. But things are much more stable now, thankfully.

    Zalando2019-11-07
  10. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Zalando full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great team and technology - Production readiness taking serious

    Cons

    - A lot of internal processes - Heads are very absent

    Zalando2019-11-26
Found 716 reviews