Cover image for Zalando
Logo

Zalando

Engaged Employer

Zalando

Add a Review

Zalando Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Sep 15, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 2,171 of over 2K reviews
3.8
79% Recommend to a Friend
Zalando CEO Robert Gentz
86% Approve of CEO

Found 77 of over 2K reviews

3.8
79%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Zalando CEO Robert Gentz
Robert Gentz
845 Ratings

What people are saying about Zalando

Join the conversation on

Tech

572.2K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Employer-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Zalando~613421
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about Zalando? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with Zalando employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Colleagues are nice and mostly helpful.(in 116 reviews)
  • "great people and teams are joyful to work with(in 83 reviews)
  • "The teams are great and pull together(in 71 reviews)
  • "Great culture and ambient; the relationship between teams is interesting; work peace is slow but steady.(in 64 reviews)
  • "Work Life balance is good(in 53 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 3.0
    Current Employee

    OK

    Sep 5, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    freedom of decision making and good work life balance

    Cons

    Bureaucracy: many meeting and frequent inconsistent changes in product directions

    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    So far so good

    Jan 20, 2023 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1-good teammate 2- good work life balance 3- above average salary

    Cons

    1- salary should be more for an elite company 2- the pace is very slow 3- some politics involved

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Zalando Response

    Hey Zalando, Many thanks for your feedback! We are happy that you enjoy working in a team, Work-Life-Balance and compensation. We also appreciate your honest feedback on the areas of improvements, as your feedback helps us to improve what we're doing. Best, - Talent Acquisition Team

  3. Join the Zalando team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to work

    Nov 7, 2019 - Senior Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Leading edge technology stack Work with many talented people Good work and life balance Allowance to work remotely when needed Great salary & benefits

    Cons

    I can't think of anything remarkable

    3 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    iOS Engineer

    Feb 11, 2018 - Ios Software Engineer in Berlin
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work Life balance is good

    Cons

    Salary adjustment is very poor

    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Good place to work

    Feb 18, 2020 - Assistant Buyer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work life balance was good

    Cons

    Very corporate enviroment, felt more tech than fashion

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Data Analyst, Customer Analytics

    Dec 13, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Berlin
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1. Very nicely agile environment 2. A coherent teamwork 3. Cross-departmental interaction 4. An adequate balance between work and social life 5. Very nice office setup

    Cons

    1. Daily routine 2. No much transparency 3. High turnover 4. Possibly, lower salaries for some FTEs (Salary inequality)

    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Cutting Edge Tech Stack, amazing colleagues, and a good work life balance

    Dec 10, 2019 - Senior Software Engineer in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The developer infrastructure at Zalando is the best I have ever worked with. The CI/CD platform in particular makes it easy to build and deploy applications to Kubernetes clusters running on AWS. There is little to no red tape, and teams are (within guidelines) permitted to choose the technology they deem most appropriate for the task at hand. The work life balance is great and I have never been pressured to work out of hours or weekends in my time here. They provide way more than average holiday days, and are flexible with both working hours and locations. I highly recommend Zalando as a place to work, have fun, and learn lots from extremely talented colleagues.

    Cons

    The organisational structure is regularly influx, and priorities can shift and change with little notice.

    4 people found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Good for beginners

    Dec 4, 2016 - Software Engineer in Berlin
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Good technologies - Good work / life balance - Good support for beginners: intensive onboarding, self-development plan - Working atmosphere is good - I would recommend company for beginners - the are a lot things to learn, good support by people leads, etc.

    Cons

    - All problems tend to be solved by hiring new people. You are just replaceable detail of huge system. To many people in general. See next points. - Salaries are low because of the first point. - There are a lot of unqualified people because of the first point. Therefore creativity and innovations exist rather on paper. "Great ideas" is about great people, not radical agility or some other process. - Very slow development process because of the first point: to many teams involved in implementation of each feature, to many meeting, to many alignments, etc. Innovation is about fast iterating, not creating detailed API-s upfront.

    Continue reading
    18 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Dynamic, flexible work atmosphere

    Nov 22, 2019 - Merchandise Planner in Berlin
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I appreciate the flexible working hours that I can use at zalando. Being a mother of two girls and still working full time I need a company which lets me work individually and flexible. I also enjoy the support and Challenge I have experiences with my leads. I could always be open with my feedback and would have never feared to say something wrong. Last but not least I really cherish the dynamic work environment. It’s basically continuous change which motivates me and keeps me busy.

    Cons

    Actually I don’t have a lot to complain about. I think people often blame the company for things they should just fight for (such as a work life balance) themselves. We could definitely do a bit better in terms of sustainability and diversity however zalando is only a representation of society and at least we made a start here.

    2 people found this review helpful
  11. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Nice company

    Dec 20, 2022 - Senior Software Engineer in Berlin
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    work life balance is great

    Cons

    none that i found out

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Zalando Response

    Hey Zalando! Thank you for the positive feedback. We are pleased that you are finding Zalando to be a nice company with great work life balance. Best, - Talent Acquisition Team

Viewing 1 - 10 of 77 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Zalando Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Zalando? Share Your Experiences

Zalando logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Zalando Photos

+ Add Photo
Zalando photo of: Zalando Headquarters
Zalando photo of: Working space area
Zalando photo of: Berlin Headquarter cafeteria
Zalando photo of: New campus in Berlin
Zalando photo of: Indoor gym
Zalando photo of: Working area in the campus
Zalando photo of: Rooftop area
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Zalando Job Seekers Also Viewed

Booking.com Logo
Booking.com

4.0

6,869 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 2,184 Zalando reviews submitted anonymously by Zalando employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Zalando is right for you.