Zales Jewelers Reviews | Glassdoor

Zales Jewelers Reviews

Updated May 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 262 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Zales Jewelers CEO Theo Killion
Theo Killion
60 Ratings
Pros
  • "50/h (with previous jewelry experience)(in 34 reviews)

  • "Employee discount and twice a year employee appreciation days increase your discount(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "A manager cannot run a store when they’re not backed by upper management(in 25 reviews)

  • "jewelry is not a need for people to have in this day and time(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Monterey, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zales Jewelers part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent with Jewlery and customers. Motivated, outgoing, energetic, easy to work with. Excellent customer service skills. Ready to work, professional , takes the initiative and very skillful and excellent with selling.

    Cons

    Fame can have its down sides . He says being a rock star is a fun line of work when you're young . But I think Sales has its down sides sometimes that's why you have to be positive and do your job with positive attitude so you can sell and be an excellent selling sales associate.

    Advice to Management

    Excellent motivation and hard work comes with positive attitude

    Zales Jewelers2018-06-21
  2. "It could be worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Key Holder in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zales Jewelers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, interesting product knowledge, opportunities for promotions.

    Cons

    Favoritism, poor pay, bad commission structure

    Advice to Management

    Stick to the core values you teach your employees

    Zales Jewelers2019-05-16
  3. "there are unrealistic sales goals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zales Jewelers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A good salary per hour

    Cons

    jewelry is not a need for people to have in this day and time

    Zales Jewelers2019-05-28
  4. "Fun company to work for. You will work long hours but be rewarded for it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Zales Jewelers

    Pros

    Manager compensation, merch discounts, flexibility of schedule

    Cons

    Career path conversations are not specific enough

    Zales Jewelers2019-04-25
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Run like Hell!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Jewelry Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Zales Jewelers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There is nothing I can think of off the top of my head...maybe meeting great customers.

    Cons

    Where do I being? Management will run you ragged, you will work doubles almost every day and they will not feel bad. You will be constantly bombarded with what YOU are doing wrong, but when giving your feedback, you will be ignored. Low Pay, 9 dollars an hour and they boast how much commission you can make, .001% on all sales and then a team bonus, but if you don't make your sales, you get nothing. CREDIT...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Care about your employees.

    Zales Jewelers2019-05-27
  6. Helpful (1)

    "If you want to be treated horribly, hop aboard!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zales Jewelers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Many locations, that is the only thing

    Cons

    Military family, we needed to move in a short timeframe. They filled my position. My old manager would mentally abuse us on a day to day basis, re-ring my rightful sales to other associates and would consistently throw me under the bus for her mistakes. I was in the pool for a Store Manager position and she let the hiring manager know I was “going through a lot and my family was breaking” because my husband was deployed,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Just. Don’t.

    Zales Jewelers2019-05-17
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Awful! Stay far away! Especially from the Woodbridge NJ location."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Woodbridge, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zales Jewelers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great hard working coworkers and some good customers.

    Cons

    Rediculously high goals for low pay and almost non existing commissions. Manager made the job unbearable! She has a very condescending attitude towards employees except for one. Showed favoritism! Also would interject herself into sales and would take half for herself. Employees struggle to survive shouldn't have to compete against their manager who brings nothing to the table. Except for a bad attitude.

    Advice to Management

    Practice what you preach. Watch over your managers and take complaints seriously. Some are stealing sales which is theft in my book.

    Zales Jewelers2019-03-18
  8. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Zales Jewelers

      Pros

      It's a fun place to work.

      Cons

      The salary is a little low

      Zales Jewelers2018-11-28
    • Helpful (2)

      "Jewelry Consultant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Zales Jewelers part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Employees Not too Bad Happy Couples

      Cons

      Very low pay No commission Poor Training Favortism and Push to keep you in one place

      Zales Jewelers2018-12-13
    • Helpful (1)

      "low pay and almost non existent commission (1%)"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Jewelry Consultant in Dulles, VA
      Doesn't Recommend
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Zales Jewelers part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      working in a team work environment. Manager was friendly. flexible scheduel

      Cons

      very competitive. high sales concentration. low pay. a lot of drama happened.

      Advice to Management

      Hire better personalities

      Zales Jewelers2018-11-15
    Found 262 reviews