Zales Reviews | Glassdoor

Zales Reviews

Updated Jul 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 324 reviews

2.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
21%
Approve of CEO
Zales CEO Theo Killion
Theo Killion
127 Ratings
Pros
  • "Nice employee discount if you like watches or jewelry(in 15 reviews)

  • "Meet some amazing co-workers, flexible scheduling, base pay plus commission with increases available(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Signet took over but haven’t seen any improvement in the company other than new training videos and some minor tech upgrades(in 23 reviews)

  • "Upper management provides no support(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Consultant 
    Recommends

    I worked at Zales part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Worked part time here over the holidays and enjoyed it.

    Cons

    Not the best pay but considering it was part time, it was fine.

    Zales2019-04-05
  2. "Terrible company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales in Edison, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Zales full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice co-workers and guests. On time pay.

    Cons

    Extremely low pay and commissions for the demands of the company. Stuck in the 1980's model of selling. Phone calls phone calls phone calls. That's all you do! Might as well be a telemarketer making robo calls. It turns they guests away. The few customers that do come in want to spend little to no money. Some managers are extremely selfish and will take employees sales while not giving themselves a sales goal. Just...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get off your high horse! Spend some real money on advertising and doing things that will actually improve business. Your business model sucks and will eventually put you out of business.

    Zales2019-07-02
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Toxic Toxic Toxic Toxic Toxic ....."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Jewelry Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Zales full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are no best part about this job except if you get lucky and work with friendly coworkers only . Remember I mentioned only your coworkers Not your MANAGERSSS. . This is the worst place can anyone work . I still have to work here because I have no new Opportunities for working at another place now .

    Cons

    Everything from A through Z is wrong with Zales . There are so many Narcissist , con artist , retaliation , discrimination and Insubordination managers . They only thing I aboutvthemself they don’t care for your life and your time . Just for them to have two days off back to back they make you work so many overtime’s and the day you work 11 hours you still have to work 5/6 days after and all closing shifts . The Constantly...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The only thing I can say is god is seeing what you are doing to those poor employees and my advice to management is if you are not a true human and you have no respect for people that work for you STAY home and make people live happy . Find some humanity inside you .

    Zales2019-06-13
  4. "Everday feels like groundhog day."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zales full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You meet a lot of interesting people in this line of work.

    Cons

    Far too many meetings. No vacation time around the holidays.

    Zales2019-05-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Don’t do it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Plano, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Zales full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Can’t think of any unless you are happy with being treated like dirt.

    Cons

    Like being a prisoner in a death camp. The company is going to hell and they take it out on the sales staff rather than looking at their failed business model. Dress standards are strict for males while females are allowed to dress like 1960s hippie rejects, lying to customers seems to be ok as long as sales are made.

    Advice to Management

    Stop blaming the sales staff for the crappy money loosing decisions made by upper management. Oh and yeah, as a British company operating in the US you might want to offer a discount to the millions of active duty and veterans if only a few percent. If it wasn’t for them you wouldn’t be operating in this country or probably any other.

    Zales2019-05-20
  6. "My life in the corporate world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zales full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very dedicated employee's and good benefits. The "worker bee's" are what makes it a great place to work. In my 30 years, the people is what made it a great place to work

    Cons

    Upper management didn't put enough into keeping good people. They seem to use their own greed to make policy and made some really bad decisions.

    Advice to Management

    Put your resources into your employee's that make the money for the company instead of your yearly bonus.

    Zales2019-03-26
  7. Helpful (1)

    "The manager nor the company are honest nor truthful."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Zales full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you are a people person, then the job can be rewarding from that aspect.

    Cons

    It is a very verbally abusive place to work.They will tell you what they think you need to hear to move forward. It is a very hostile work environment., with discrimination against age as well as other forms of discrimination.

    Zales2019-04-23
  8. "Unrealistic Expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management 

    I worked at Zales full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The job itself is fun and you build rewarding relationships

    Cons

    No work life balance, everything is more about selling credit than jewelry or relationships

    Zales2019-03-28
  9. "Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Jewelry Consultant 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zales full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing work environment and a great team

    Cons

    Too focused on credit applications as a company and are very high demand for very little pay and SMALL commission amounts

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees (specifically JCs) what they’re worth and don’t make qualifying for raises so difficult... it looses morale

    Zales2019-03-02
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Memphis, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zales full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people I worked with and the small discount

    Cons

    Terrible upper management Terrible company No respect towards the employees

    Advice to Management

    Be better and care more

    Zales2019-03-26
Found 324 reviews