Zapier Reviews

Updated May 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.8
95%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Zapier CEO Wade Foster
Wade Foster
21 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (31)

    "Easily the best place I've ever worked"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Marketing Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zapier full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are the best part of working at Zapier. Never before have I been surrounded by over 200 brilliant, helpful and friendly people, all of whom are laser-focused on making the product and company the best it can be. Management excels at giving feedback (both positive and constructive) which is motivational for me as an employee. The word "feedback" no longer strikes fear into my heart. Unlike companies I've worked for in the past, I have not experienced any sort of internal politics or favoritism at Zapier. Everyone —from executives to customer support— has a "How can I help?" attitude. Teammates are quick to jump in and help solve problems, talk through complex issues, and boost each other up. Every single interaction I've had with teammates has been positive. Zapier is one of the companies that pioneered fully remote work. As a result, clear communication is a priority for everyone on the team. This starts from the top down, and Wade, the CEO does a great job of articulating the vision for Zapier, and writes weekly updates on things that are top of mind for him. He's incredibly approachable, and seeks feedback from employees constantly. He also implements this feedback (often immediately). All interactions and conversations take place in public slack channels, so teammates have access to information at all times. This has been remarkably helpful, and very different from the "closed door" policies I've experienced at so many other companies. Even though Zapier is a startup, they do a great job at growing and fostering talent. Recently, HR and managers released a detailed new framework to address individual's growth at Zapier. What was unique about this framework is that it also provided a career path for individual contributors, meaning if you don't want to manage people (now, or ever) then you still have the opportunity to advance your career at Zapier. This is my first time seeing ICs valued so highly at a company (as they should be). As a minority, my experience in the startup and tech world hasn't always been positive. Zapier has been the complete opposite of those experiences. The company has created an incredibly transparent, collaborative and rewarding environment. I plan to work here until I retire (some 30 odd years from now).

    Cons

    Remote work can take some time to adjust to. However the team does a good job of addressing these issues and providing you with a number of solutions. For instance, if you like working in an office environment, you get a generous amount of money for office supplies that you can put toward co-working spaces.

    Zapier2019-07-10
  2. "Awesome company that takes acre of its people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zapier full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Challenging work. Freedom to tackle projects in the way I want to tackle them. People here are just awesome. We really live by our "Empathy, No Ego" value. Transparency. We're in a really uncertain time right now, and leadership has been really good at giving us all the info they can - financials, decisions at the exec level. It gives a sense of a little more stability in an otherwise unstable world.

    Cons

    Remote work can get lonely. But we're in covid-19 right now anyway, so we might as well be working at a place who knows how to do remote work well :) As Zapier gets bigger, decisions tend to slow down. It's still a really fast-moving, high energy work environment - but it's definitely noticeable in the time I've been here. We're definitely not a startup anymore.

    Continue reading
    Zapier2020-05-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Thoughtful and effective work culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zapier full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Founders are thoughtful, easy to talk to and communicate to us often about what we should be focused on - People are generally nice, helpful, and know what they're doing - Get to work with a team from different states, countries, etc. - We go to 3 retreats a year and they're something I look forward to - everyone gives feedback often whether or not you want to hear it. I think this is good especially when you don't get a chance to see people in an office

    Cons

    - Wish there was a way to connect with people more often. You can join a weekly call where you're talking to a random teammate but I wish we could do this multiple times a week - Confusing travel policies during retreats that are always changing

    Continue reading
    Zapier2020-04-07
  4. "Best employer I've ever worked for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Champion 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zapier full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Supportive management and co-workers, tons of room to grow, very cool product, steady leadership even in times of crisis. An absolute pleasure of a workplace.

    Cons

    There are no real cons to working here.

    Continue reading
    Zapier2020-04-03
  5. "Exceeds expectation."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zapier full-time

    Pros

    For a small company, Zapier has the resources and framework of a much larger organization. There is TONS of investment upfront in preparing employees to be successful. This starts in the interviewing process. As others have mentioned, it's lengthy and challenging but ensures finding the right people who can thrive in a non-traditional working environment. Great communication and transparency from the top-down. Managers seem invested in your success and well-being. Lots of flexibility and autonomy to get your work done. Company retreats are professionally executed and there are plenty of opportunities for culture building and socialization year-round. Zapier advocates diversity of thoughts and backgrounds and I feel like we're pretty well represented. People can be who they want. Generous pay, benefits, equipment budget and room for growth.

    Cons

    A fully remote team is challenging by default. You need to be a clear and conscious communicator (sometimes required to be an over communicator). Things change frequently and there is lots of ambiguity. You have to be comfortable with making decisions and working with people across all time zones.

    Zapier2020-03-31
  6. "Zapier cares about its employees"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zapier full-time

    Pros

    - Zapier wants its employees to be happy, and people generally treat each other well - You have a completely flexible work schedule and aren't overworked - There are great benefits and an entire team devoted to making employees' experiences better - They encourage independence and experimentation in projects

    Cons

    - Lots of middle management; sometimes this is great (great manager-IC ratio), but other times it slows things down - Growing pains as the company expands often means disconnect among teams

    Continue reading
    Zapier2020-03-10
  7. "Best job I've ever had"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zapier full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    GREAT culture! People are genuinely nice and passionate about what they do. Senior leadership is accessible. High growth and lots of opportunity. The company cares about living its values and helping employees thrive. Good benefits, including for learning and development, medical, retirement, profit share. Awesome retreats. Remote work done right.

    Cons

    Wouldn't be a good fit for people who need moment to moment oversight to get things done.

    Continue reading
    Zapier2020-03-04
  8. Helpful (56)

    "Great people. Currently profitable. Rapidly downhill with leadership and product choices."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Zapier full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Benefits. It's remote and for a remote company they're pretty good. - Depending on your department, salary is at least middling. - The people working on the lower levels are wonderful, hardworking, kind, and some of the best people I've worked with. They care so much about each other and are what make the culture great. - The retreats are well-organized and fun bonding time with peers. - As a product? They really could be doing a lot better but they still are strong and have some more mistakes to go before they truly start tanking.

    Cons

    Up until late 2018 I would have been writing a 5-star review here and recommending friends to apply, but it's tanked so quickly here. Badly researched product choices with little input from an under-appreciated UX team and a support team that is now turning into a call center style. Pushing head on with bad results because people with arbitrary clout demand it, even when the data team is demonstrating it's not working. Engineering teams being shuffled and reshuffled repeatedly with no stability in sight. Marketing being forced to defend their choices over and over, having their jobs at risk. Anyone not in US times being deeply second class citizens with any kind of decision making or independence (lots of churn for this reason). A lot of this is largely coming from poor choices in hiring executives and senior leadership across many departments. Managers are running amok with politicking and games of favoritism. So many of them rule by stamping out any kind of pushback and rewarding people who can do a flashy, if useless, project. They've rolled out a new framework they're labelling as a path to advancement but has really just demoted a ton of people and devalued who they are and what they do. People are starting to leave very quickly - many more are actively searching. They don't do much to try to retain their people at the IC level (unless you are lucky with your middle manager, who is going to also be suffering under the same framework/politicking as you are). Any kind of public messaging they have about transparency and values of diversity aren't true anymore (although to give them some credit, up until a few months ago they were generally accurate, and non-leadership still try very hard to uphold these values). I also especially discourage anyone who is from a diverse background to not work here, because there are clear biases and a repeated lack of action when problematic things happen, especially when it comes to evaluation and unfair, unqualified feedback. This has happened across several departments so there's no point in calling out a particular one. There are much better places to work when it comes to fully being who you are, even if you're looking for a remote job specifically. People have heard from HR/leadership when reporting issues on many occasions, "Well, I personally haven't noticed that." There are some awesome PMs and middle managers who are trying to shield their teams from nonsense and they can only do so good of a job before being worn down and forced into lanes themselves. It really sucks to give such a poor review given how much I used to love this place and how much most folks who have been here long term used to love Zapier too, but I don't want people to be suckered in by the public image they're trying to project. People have even called this out on supposedly anonymous culture surveys, but 1) a few people have been singled out for their responses so not really anonymous, is it 2) terrible results from this year were advertised to us as great ones, even as people pushed publicly for more change.

    Continue reading
    Zapier2019-07-03

    Zapier Response

    July 11, 2019Zapier

    Wade from Zapier here. Not all feedback is positive or easy to give to people, so I’m thankful to you for giving us your honest opinion. It always breaks my heart to see when people’s experiences at Zapier aren’t excellent. I hold myself to a high standard as the company’s CEO, and I hold our executives and directors to the same standard, no matter how new they are to the company. Like many companies going through a high-growth phase, we’ve made some changes that we think will help our employees. We’ve introduced managers, added some necessary processes to the company, and brought in talented specialists who can help both the product and the company grow. Behind the scenes, our People Operations team has done a lot of work to create an equal opportunity culture at Zapier, so you can truly do your best work here. Working here provides great learning opportunities and we’ve created a growth framework for the purpose of helping every single person at Zapier grow in their career. When you roll out a growth framework that's impactful to someone's career and their life, it can be a lot of change to take in all at once. Not everyone will agree with all the feedback. Our hope is a consistent framework over time will provide a path that’ll help individuals grow in a way that aligns their personal goals with Zapier's goals. We'll continue to invest in training and in leadership development to help create new leaders, develop existing managers, and in general, create solid, well-rounded people in the workforce. We work hard to make Zapier a great experience. Whenever things aren't working out, we try hard to learn from those experiences and grow from the feedback. Please keep giving us feedback. We’re listening.

  9. Helpful (32)

    "Great experience but not everyone can handle growing pains"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zapier full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Fully embracing remote work. - Working with talented people. - Mostly transparent communication. - Very agile and flexible. - Great work life balance if you can manage it. - Annual retreats bring everyone closer together. - Excellent benefits package especially profit sharing. - Great documentation and onboarding on how everything works within the company.

    Cons

    - Ridiculously difficult interview and hiring process. - Vague career path. - Frequent job description changes due to lack of resources. - 1-1 with Manager feels like an exam or trial that you can't win. - KPIs change according to managers feelings. - Matrix and micromanaging management style. - Lack of support from management on projects. - No proper HR procedure in handling serious misconduct.

    Continue reading
    Zapier2019-06-14
  10. Helpful (14)

    "Excellent culture flowing down from thoughtful founders"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Backend Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zapier full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Zapier's culture and work-life balance are absolutely exceptional. Engineering teams are also stocked with supremely talented developers.

    Cons

    In some ways, the product is starting to take a back seat to business and growth concerns

    Continue reading
    Zapier2019-05-28

    Zapier Response

    March 5, 2020Zapier

    Thanks for sharing your experience working at Zapier. One of the benefits of being a 100% remote company is being able to hire extremely talented developers from all over the world and we're glad you agree! We also appreciate your candid feedback and we're always working to make sure everyone can feel aligned on our company goals and priorities. Keep the feedback coming, and thanks for all you do here. - Your friends at Zapier

Found 27 reviews