Zayed University Assistant Professor, University College Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Assistant Professor, University College

Zayed University Reviews

Updated Jul 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.1
28%
Recommend to a Friend
18%
Approve of CEO
Zayed University CEO Lubna Al Qasimi (no image)
Lubna Al Qasimi
58 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Asst Professor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zayed University full-time

    Pros

    Nice colleagues, wonderful research opportunities

    Cons

    Always contractual appt for 3 years.

    Zayed University2018-02-25
  2. Helpful (17)

    "Many Problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Zayed University full-time

    Pros

    Facilities, offices, colleagues, mostly tax free for ex-pats, (except a new 5% VAT was added in 2018 making everything more expensive).

    Cons

    ZU disempowers people; it takes every opportunity to wrangle money out of employees even when there have been no substantial raises for 10 years (salary scale not adjusted for inflation for a decade). While paying less and less (because of cost of living increases), more and more is required of faculty in terms of research, advising, needless paperwork. Most faculty teach 4 classes per semester, with multiple preps.

    Zayed University2019-01-02
  3. Helpful (11)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Zayed University full-time

    Pros

    Good tax free salary and health benefits

    Cons

    Worst working atmosphere and complete lack of professionalism - no process and who or why decisions are made is never clear

    Continue reading
    Zayed University2018-11-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Asst Professor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Zayed University

    Pros

    Good work environment and great students

    Cons

    Highly centralized decision making process

    Zayed University2017-11-09
  5. Helpful (4)

    "operations staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zayed University full-time

    Pros

    well meaning staff and diverse group

    Cons

    housing allowance too small to manage

    Continue reading
    Zayed University2017-07-18
  6. Helpful (21)

    "Professor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Zayed University

    Pros

    The few students who really want to work hard and are there for a reason

    Cons

    Majority of students expect easy grades, have a poor working knowledge of English and therefore writing essays is of a challenge. The University needs to build up its credentials with a solid staff however with no salary increases along the path, there is little room for professors to stay long term.

    Continue reading
    Zayed University2015-10-23
  7. Helpful (7)

    "OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Zayed University

    Pros

    Generous benefits, fun colleagues, many colleagues mean well

    Cons

    No direction in leadership, no follow through

    Continue reading
    Zayed University2015-08-07
  8. Helpful (51)

    "Promises not kept, ill-prepared students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Zayed University

    Pros

    Not a thing. Nada. Zilch.

    Cons

    We went to Abu Dhabi because of the promises of a dean, a former stateside colleague. A major part of her pitch was all the other opportunities for earning, especially for my husband whom she promised would be a major part of Zayed's external seminar and teaching program. In fact, at the first faculty meeting she singled him out as an important asset for the school. Nothing she promised ever came to fruition. He did end up teaching high-level diplomats for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, but agreed upon fees were always late, reduced, or argued about after the fact. As for myself, I was appalled at the quality of the undergraduates; ill-prepared but quite willing to blatantly cheat and plagiarize. The colleagues I arrived with became disillusioned as quickly as I did, and we shared the same stories of broken promises and indifferent students. Colleagues who had been there for a few years fell into two camps: Those too scared to make a peep, and those who toed the party line, and did the dirty work for the sheiks and deans. I taught one graduate course, but only after the original curriculum I proposed was completely "dumbed down." I cannot imagine a graduate degree from Zayed having the same academic heft as a typical U.S. high school diploma. Their undergraduate degree is utterly worthless, as students are passed along so as not to offend their influential fathers. This was a horrid waste of time, and we left in June for a "visit" back home, leaving a fully furnished apartment behind, never to return. It's the only way to do it; tell them you're quitting and the cancel your visa and hold your money hostage. After we left a colleague and his family were booted out of the country with no reason given - and 30 days to clear out! I see they've posted job listings for the coming year; hopefully prospective applicants will stop at glassdoor first.

    Continue reading
    Zayed University2014-12-10
  9. Helpful (18)

    "Broken Promises"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zayed University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great colleagues, some smart students, Emirati culture

    Cons

    Faculty and staff were promised a 5% raise we are yet to see. Contracts are broken for no reason. Getting research funding is a joke. Though, it is easy to appease the masses. Frustration, anger, and anxiety due to issues neatly summarized in other reviews are now temporarily ameliorated in large part thanks to the upper management's vision of shiny teeth and dental insurance for all. For all, that is, except for the support personnel who are still being treated like slaves and working 12 hour days. ZU has no concept of social responsibility.

    Continue reading
    Zayed University2014-01-21
  10. Helpful (16)

    "Happy Days are over"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zayed University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work/Family life balance was good. Lots of holiday time and opportunities to travel. PD opportunities

    Cons

    Management insists on employee feedback only to completely disregard it.

    Continue reading
    Zayed University2013-10-09
Found 134 reviews