KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Zeal IT Consultants

Is this your company?

Zeal IT Consultants

Add a Review

Zeal IT Consultants Reviews

Updated Dec 27, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 of over 25 reviews

3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Zeal IT Consultants Founder and CEO David Thach
David Thach
17 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Sales Engineer

Let's see what we are all making. Include current salary, location, job role (e.g. Software Engineer; Product Manager) and YoE please. Reply using your comapny.

849

313 Comments

Join the conversation on
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    The perfect environment to cultivate growth.

    Dec 27, 2021 - Mid-level Software Engineer in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone here has at least one thing in common: they are passionate and driven. They are constantly encouraging you to pick up new technologies/languages while also providing hands-on guidance and support to succeed. The excitement for new, innovative technology is infectious. During my first week, I had already started working with 5+ new technologies. There aren't any long-term, indefinite projects you could be stuck working on for years. The work is exciting and always changing. They recognize that a good developer isn't black-and-white; everyone has different strengths/weaknesses. They welcome those differences and work with you to meet your specific career goals. Unlike most companies, the CEO is incredibly transparent and communicates with all of us directly almost every day. The leadership team is there to set everyone up for success and they genuinely care about your well-being. They have benefits like unlimited PTO to ensure their employees are their best selves when they come into work. There is a great work-life balance because they recognize and respect that everyone has a life outside of work. They match 401ks and go above and beyond with their benefits compared to most corporate jobs. I would recommend Zeal to anyone, at any level in their career, that wants to push themselves to become a more well-rounded developer. The employees are the most genuine and intelligent people you'll meet.

    Cons

    This wouldn't be a good fit if you're not interested in fast-paced and evolving work. You also need to have the drive and ambition to continuously learn, so it would not be good for someone who doesn't have that.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Your career is anything you want it to be at Zeal.

    Sep 28, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Empowerment. That is the first word that comes to mind when I reflect on my time at Zeal. No door is closed off to those at Zeal that wish to work towards the future they dream of. Never before have I had access to the talent, resources, and opportunity that I have hear at this gem of a boutique consulting firm. Working at Zeal has introduced me to more opportunities in a few short years than I could have gotten in a decade anywhere else. I have been exposed to more CEOs, presidents, and people in leadership positions because of my time at Zeal. These connections have led to incredible instances where I have been able to see firsthand how building relationships is the foundation of a successful business. Not only that, but I have been able to learn from these individuals about what it means to be a leader and how to mold my own career path in the process. At Zeal, you will work with incredibly smart people who are at the top of their game in their respective industries. The tech leads and architects that work for Zeal amaze me and inspire me to learn as much about software development as I can. It also helps that the leadership at Zeal, both technical and business, are incredibly willing to mentor more junior consultants to help them level their skillsets up. I would not be where I am today if it wasn't for all of the guidance and coaching that I have had while working with Zeal. I am exposed to entrepreneurship, technology, leadership, and kindness on a daily basis. I look forward to many more years of an incredible career with this company.

    Cons

    Working as a consultant means that there is rarely any "downtime" when at a client. This isn't necessarily a con, and is actually something that I love about consulting. You just need to know when to take some downtime for yourself to stay sharp. Thankfully, Zeal allows consultants to self-organize within their teams to plan PTO that is convenient and plentiful. This con isn't reflective of Zeal and is more of a challenge that has to be managed across consulting work as a whole.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Positive, Uplifting, Empowering...& More!

    Sep 9, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Zeal makes it a point to hire positive, trustworthy people who are "doers" and problem solvers! Given this fact, the daily work flow is very efficient. Also, interactions with coworkers are quite enjoyable!

    Cons

    I have not experienced a downside as of yet.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Excellent place to work

    Sep 10, 2021 - Software Consultant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This company has the best culture I've seen. People collaborate and help each other out and there's a lot of investment in interns and junior devs. David Thach (the CEO) is extremely relational and makes it very clear that he values his employees as people.

    Cons

    Because it's a consulting company, the experience can differ based on which client you're working at. But Zeal works hard to mitigate the negative effects of clients. Benefits aren't the best I've seen, but my salary compensation more than makes up for that.

    9 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A Company Unlike Any Other

    Sep 21, 2021 - Product Owner 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been to quite a few companies in my long career, and this company has the best culture I have seen. Zeal is very supportive and invest in their employees, management is friendly and approachable. Founder/CEO David Thach has open-door policy and encouraging everyone to be their best, which promotes a culture of growth, respect, inclusiveness, offers professional development. Everyone whom I have the pleasure of knowing at this company has been very friendly and fun to be around. Flexible working environment, remote, great compensation, health insurance, 401K matching, unlimited PTO.

    Cons

    I have not seen any yet.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Fantastic place to be

    Sep 3, 2021 - Software Engineer in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Surrounded by caring & smart people, competitive pay, great work-life balance

    Cons

    - Consulting may not be your thing; it has its own challenges and perks - Since we're young & growing, some benefits are not fully fleshed out yet (e.g. no 401k match)

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    CEO is creating fake accounts and writing good reviews

    Sep 10, 2021 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I genuinely don’t have any pros. David Thach is a bad person.

    Cons

    The CEO is the most narcissistic and insane person I have ever met, and then imagine working for that person. He will make a good first impression, and then one day you’re working there and you had a conversation with him, and later in the middle of the night he sends you paragraphs of texts explaining why he is right and the smartest. He needs help, and if you are reading all these reviews, all his replies to other former employee are just straight up LIES!!!! The man is insane!!!!! ALSO he is creating fake accounts and creating fake reviews to keep it at 5 stars. There is no way in hell this company would actually get a 5 star review from anyone. Please save yourself the pure anger and frustration you will experience working here. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Stay away

    Sep 6, 2021 - Engineering Leader in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are no long term pros.

    Cons

    The CEO is not who he purports to be. The words don't match the behavior.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    You should know what you are getting into

    Sep 6, 2021 - Software Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The CEO will give you opportunities to work, even if you are new to the software world.

    Cons

    As I said, the CEO will give you the opportunity to work if you are new. But the problem is, you will be assigned to a position you don’t belong in. The skills required to do some of these jobs take years to learn. This is not in the clients best interest. So if you are looking to hire Zeal nowadays, don’t be surprised if the people show up and have no idea what they are doing. I could go into more details or tell you stories, but at the end of the day the current CEO doesn’t value technical skill. Almost every word that comes out of his mouth is a lie, has a huge ego and he's delusional so he thinks it's the truth. If you are a senior developer and thinking to work here, beware. He is gonna do one of two things. One could be he wants you to lie to the client and say all the people there are also senior (even though they couldn't tell you what a class is). The other, he will say to just coach them all up (like they could learn all this stuff in a month and not over years) and then get upset and say you aren’t trying hard enough when you tell him no or you can’t do that. Look, this guy wants one thing at Zeal. Obedient soldiers that don’t want to think for themselves. I was watching a documentary today on North Korea and the way they run that country reminded me of the way David wants to run Zeal. Good luck if you decide to work at or hire Zeal.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Tech has so many options - you can do better

    Aug 30, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Helps employees realize how much better they can do literally anywhere else.

    Cons

    David Thach, the CEO, will sell you a dream of being able to lead and develop a department. This is a lie. He is a micromanager and believes that no one else understands anything, even if he hired you to be an expert. He demands performative praise. He literally requested all the reviews here be good because he wants to con people into working with him. Tech is a huge industry. You can do so much better in another role. Don't fall for his lies about what a great company Zeal is. I am so glad I left and an no longer being gaslighted.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 17 Reviews

Zeal IT Consultants Reviews FAQs

Zeal IT Consultants has an overall rating of 3.5 out of 5, based on over 25 reviews left anonymously by employees. 62% of employees would recommend working at Zeal IT Consultants to a friend and 62% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -20% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Zeal IT Consultants employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.6 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Zeal IT Consultants. This rating has decreased by -16% over the last 12 months.

62% of Zeal IT Consultants employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Zeal IT Consultants 3.7 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.5 for culture and values and 3.6 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Zeal IT Consultants to be benefits, senior leadership, career development and the cons to be compensation .

Work at Zeal IT Consultants? Share Your Experiences

or