KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Zelis

Engaged Employer

Zelis

Add a Review

Zelis Reviews

Updated Sep 26, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 243 of over 252 reviews

3.6
71%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Zelis CEO Amanda Eisel
Amanda Eisel
33 Ratings

The latest conversations about Healthcare

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Zelis and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Lovely Company

    Jun 22, 2022 - Customer Experience Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great pay, great PTO policy, good work/ life balance.

    Cons

    None that I can really think of.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Pretty Good With A High Workload

    Aug 9, 2022 - Information Technology Specialist in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    To make it clear, my department is rather insulated and keeps to itself. I have great managers that are hardworking and great at explaining things, along with being understanding and flexible. The remote option is great, and I received a sizeable performance raise after a really hard year. I feel very appreciated where I am! We have also switched to a flexible (unlimited) time off structure and have employer paid short term disability. Recently the higher ups have also been going ham on diversity with Business Resource Groups and especially Pride Month activities.

    Cons

    Most folks are too busy to train well, and the documentation can be difficult to understand. There is SO MUCH to know that it will easily take over a year for you to feel like you know anything at all about how things operate with the in-house software. I also frequently feel like there is a "one hand doesn't know what the other is doing" sort of atmosphere with the rest of the company. Workload is high - frequently I'm doing work outside of hours and rarely get a real lunch period.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Zelis Response

    Thank you for sharing your positive experience at Zelis here on Glassdoor. We are proud to have the best talent in the industry and we’re glad you’re enjoying the collaborative culture we invest in at Zelis. We are committed to building a more diverse, inclusive, and equitable organization with people that inspire one other to bring unique perspectives and experiences to work. In fact, our business resource groups (BRG) including Zelis Pride, Women of Zelis, Veterans of Zelis help provide open and safe forums for Zelots to come together and share lived experiences and speak up about critical topics. We strive to build a culture of advocacy and allyship and hope to encourage inclusion at all levels of our organization. Zelis is on a journey to becoming an industry leader in healthcare payments and that starts with our amazing people. Thank you for being part of Zelis.

  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Turnover

    Sep 26, 2022 - Human Resources 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Summer Fridays and great people

    Cons

    Lots of turnover, slow to change

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    great company

    Sep 13, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    great culture strong leadership empowering and results oriented

    Cons

    maintaining growth requires long hours

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Zelis Response

    Thank you for sharing your positive experience at Zelis here on Glassdoor. We are proud to have the best talent in the industry and we’re glad you enjoyed the collaborative culture we invest in at Zelis. One of our core values is “Champion collaboration” and we believe we are stronger when we work as one team. We’re happy to hear you connected with our people and values. We truly appreciate your years of service at Zelis and we’re so glad you enjoyed your experience working with us. We wish you the best in your future career endeavors and we hope you bring a little bit of Zelis with you wherever you go.

  5. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Underhanded

    Sep 16, 2022 - Network Analyst in Overland Park, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work from home policy. Friendly coworkers.

    Cons

    No support, feedback or help from management or “mentors. “ They will gladly throw you under the bus. They stole accrued pto from salaried employees and instituted flex pto

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Zelis Response

    Through our hiring processes, we are committed to finding the best people to carry on our mission and values across Zelis. We are proud of our talent, especially our leaders that work hard to support associates in their professional and personal endeavors. That being said, thank you for sharing your comments- we truly appreciate your thoughts. We strive for continuous improvement and learning and your feedback helps us identify these areas. If you would like to discuss your experiences further, please feel free to reach out to us directly at PeopleandCulture@Zelis.com.

  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Company

    Sep 2, 2022 - Client Experience Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great working environment, many opportunities for advancement.

    Cons

    None really. Supporting clients with systems that error occasionally.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Zelis Response

    We are so glad you’re enjoying the wide range of growth opportunities we offer here at Zelis. Thank you for sharing your thoughts- we truly appreciate it. At Zelis, we are dedicated to improving the lives of our fellow Zelots in all aspects, including in career and personal development. Continuous education leads to continuous improvement and that’s pretty important to us. Through our learning channels, we offer classes and seminars that help make learning a daily habit for our associates. We’re pleased to hear about your learning experience here at Zelis – thank you for all that you do.

  7. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Decent Culture, Severely Underpaying

    Aug 4, 2022 - Anonymous/Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Summer hours are year round which is nice -Opportunity to gain experience is also a plus

    Cons

    - HR and upper management will do everything except correct the pay structure. Even when brought comparative data they just ignore it while constantly spouting how much they care. Get your experience and get out.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Zelis Response

    Thank you for your feedback on compensation at Zelis. At Zelis, we strive to offer competitive benefits packages for our fellow Zelots, including medical/vision/dental benefits and a 401K plan. With this, we are committed to consistently benchmarking against our peers. If you have specific questions or concerns, please feel free to reach out to us directly at PeopleandCulture@zelis.com.

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Excellent place to work, rapid growth

    Jul 30, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    In touch leadership Excellent senior leadership team Extremely smart people

    Cons

    Some silos remain, but teams working to address

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Zelis Response

    Thank you for sharing your positive experience at Zelis here on Glassdoor. We are proud to have the best talent in the industry and we’re glad you’re enjoying the collaborative culture we invest in at Zelis. One of our core values is “Champion collaboration” and we believe we are stronger when we work as one team. We’re happy to hear you connected with our people and values. Zelis is on a journey to becoming an industry leader in healthcare payments and that starts with our amazing people. Thank you for being part of Zelis.

  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Company with some Stressful Moments

    Jul 4, 2022 - Jr. Software Engineer in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule Great compensation Not a lot of micro managing in my experience Remote work opportunities

    Cons

    Depending on the team you are on, work can be very time sensitive and stressful sometimes, but as long as you are consistently updating with your progress and communicating well, you will get along just fine.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Zelis Response

    Thank you for your positive feedback on Glassdoor – we truly appreciate it! At Zelis, we strive to offer competitive benefits packages for our fellow Zelots, including medical/vision/dental benefits and a 401K plan. With this, we are committed to consistently benchmarking against our peers. Along with health and wellness benefits, our ZelisCares Wellness Program includes financial planning and career-development benefits that we urge our Zelots to take advantage of. Thank you for all that you do at Zelis!

  10. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great Company

    Jul 26, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company cares about employees and fosters internal growth

    Cons

    Struggling to fill open positions causing current employees to take on additional tasks

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Zelis Response

    We are so glad you’re enjoying the wide range of growth opportunities we offer here at Zelis. Thank you for sharing your thoughts- we truly appreciate it. At Zelis, we are dedicated to improving the lives of our fellow Zelots in all aspects, including in career and personal development. Continuous education leads to continuous improvement and that’s pretty important to us. Through our learning channels, we offer classes and seminars that help make learning a daily habit for our associates. We’re pleased to hear about your learning experience here at Zelis – thank you for all that you do.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 243 Reviews

Zelis Reviews FAQs

Zelis has an overall rating of 3.6 out of 5, based on over 252 reviews left anonymously by employees. 71% of employees would recommend working at Zelis to a friend and 65% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 5% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Zelis employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.6 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Zelis. This rating has improved by 4% over the last 12 months.

71% of Zelis employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Zelis 3.5 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.7 for culture and values and 3.5 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Zelis to be culture, benefits, coworkers and the cons to be career development, management, senior leadership.

Popular Careers with Zelis Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Zelis? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

Zelis Photos

+ Add Photo
Zelis photo of: ZGB 500
Zelis photo of: ZGB 500
Zelis photo of: Zelis Gives Back 500
Zelis photo of: Zelis Interns Celebrate
Zelis photo of: ZGB volunteers at local food bank
Zelis photo of: Zelis Gives Back
Zelis photo of: Celebrating Summer!
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Zelis Payments

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist