Zellers Cashier Reviews | Glassdoor

Zellers Cashier Reviews

Updated Aug 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
82%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Zellers CEO A.  Mark Foote
A. Mark Foote
3 Ratings
  1. "Gold"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zellers part-time

    Pros

    Amazing great work space

    Cons

    To little hours given , not enuff breaks

    Zellers2019-08-30
  2. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Cashier/Customer Service in Welland, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zellers

    Pros

    Employees were one big happy family.

    Cons

    A few customers were difficult to help because they wanted something that we couldn't give them

    Continue reading
    Zellers2016-10-19
  3. "I cannot send pictures because Zellers is closed."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier/Fashion Associate in Penticton, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Zellers part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I enjoyed working because they had gave me great hours.

    Cons

    I had trained others how to work and then they ended up getting more hours than I.

    Continue reading
    Zellers2016-04-26
  4. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier/Sales Associate in Cornwall, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zellers part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people you build connections with will always be remembered and cherished. Building rapport with customers and seeing regulars daily.

    Cons

    Not a very organized company, hence why it inevitably was shut down. Management seemed to love power trips, which would hinder performance of employees.

    Continue reading
    Zellers2016-03-25
  5. "good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Halifax, NS
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zellers part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    enjoyed working with my co workers, not a far commute to my work from home

    Cons

    the pay was low, would have to put in for time off couple months in advance

    Continue reading
    Zellers2014-10-27
  6. "A basic part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Winnipeg, MB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Zellers part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours for part time students

    Cons

    a small time compared to other stores

    Zellers2014-05-08
  7. "Good place to work as a first or part-time job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Scarborough, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zellers part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learned much of the basics of cash handling and customer service, especially when it came to distinguishing different products the store had to offer. Hours were pretty flexible and the punch in, punch out time stamp system ensured your pay was calculated based on the hours you were actually in the store. Management was strict but would also provide much needed help when necessary. I thought the training process was thorough and prepared me well for the situations that I came across while working on the job.

    Cons

    No perks for part-time employees, or at least very few that I remember. Big part of the job was MasterCard sales and having to meet your sales quotas per week. Not only did you have to sell cards, you also had to make sure a certain percentage of your transactions were made using the HBC specific Mastercard. Anything less than that and you were given quite a disapproving look. Also, I found that the system was never update with the latest promotions and discounts that were happening at the time.

    Zellers2014-05-04
  8. "Awesome company to work for, great staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zellers part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    best group of co-workers. all supervisors were very friendly, accommodating and always willing to help, very flexible with changing schedule and shifting shifts when needed. supervisors were friends with all employees but still set boundaries and rules. bought lunch for holidays and snacks at random times.

    Cons

    customers were very difficult at times, HR had too few cashiers in peak hours, and too many during down times. the signs were not always changed with weekly sales which created confusion at check out. some of the floor staff were too lazy and were only there for the pay check.

    Continue reading
    Zellers2013-10-17
  9. "My experience was great, fun and challenging at times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Cashier in Ottawa, ON

    I worked at Zellers part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked with a very amazing team. They were very caring, supporting, and fun. Most of the customers were very kind, patient and understanding to the fact that we were closing.

    Cons

    Their were some very rude customers. The wavering amount of hours given. Some of the systems were old school, therefore we had many technical problems with the cash register. Being short staffed at times when its rush hour.

    Zellers2013-07-20
  10. "Cashier, overall experience neutral"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zellers part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Able to gain valuable experience, supportive staff, good for a first time job

    Cons

    Hours not flexible, and often performed tasks under extreme stress due to constant pressure from management to sell HBC credit cards

    Continue reading
    Zellers2013-06-27
Found 17 reviews