Zellers Reviews | Glassdoor

Zellers Reviews

Updated Nov 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
63%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Zellers CEO A.  Mark Foote
A. Mark Foote
46 Ratings
  1. "Fashion Department Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Zellers part-time

    Pros

    Great People, lots of freedom

    Cons

    Can get very boring being forced to walking around and not being given the time to properly clean your department up

    Zellers2017-07-29
  2. "Pharmacist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Pharmacist 

    I worked at Zellers part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Possibility to franchise, good working environment

    Cons

    They closed facility without compensation

    Zellers2017-08-03
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zellers

    Pros

    Quality, Fast, Salary, Design and organization

    Cons

    Time, Secrets, Jobs, Editing and Motion graphics.

    Advice to Management

    Stay focused

    Zellers2017-07-12
  5. "stock"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zellers

    Pros

    Good atmosphere. low pay for work done. close commute

    Cons

    closed now. low pay for work

    Zellers2017-05-28
  6. "Summer Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zellers part-time

    Pros

    Good location, good management. A good place to work as a summer student. I would not want to work there permanently.

    Cons

    Overall a good place to work part-time, but sometimes I had to help in other areas and I ended up staying overtime. I would not want to work there permanently.

    Advice to Management

    Zellers had good management at the time I worked there. I really can not think of anything they could have done better.

    Zellers2017-05-17
  7. "Great Part-time Work Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Seasonal Sales Associate in Richmond, BC

    I worked at Zellers for less than a year

    Pros

    All colleagues are pretty nice to work with and they will try to give you advices or suggestions on how to answer question from customers at different section (eg, toys, stationary, jewelry, so on).

    Cons

    nothing much I can say here

    Zellers2017-02-02
  8. "employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Zellers

    Pros

    a big company good advertisement

    Cons

    the company closed not much time for notice

    Advice to Management

    company closed

    Zellers2017-02-08
  9. "Good retail chain that should still exist."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receiver in Victoria, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zellers full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Wages that were appropriate for the position. Good clean work environment. Equipment available to do your job. Hours were available when needed.

    Cons

    Poor HR management, the wrong people were constantly hired and left. New people were being hired and the core experienced staff were picking up the slack. Poor store management. No coaching was available to staff that needed it. Many managers and supervisors were not doing their jobs.

    Advice to Management

    Relaunch the Zellers chain as Walmart really has no real competition in Canada. Use the Target Canada failure as a guide to not making the same mistakes.

    Zellers2016-11-05
  10. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Cashier/Customer Service in Welland, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zellers

    Pros

    Employees were one big happy family.

    Cons

    A few customers were difficult to help because they wanted something that we couldn't give them

    Advice to Management

    None

    Zellers2016-10-19
  11. "sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zellers

    Pros

    nice environment to work with

    Cons

    long periods of standing and get tired

    Advice to Management

    should be more cooperative

    Zellers2016-09-18
Found 149 reviews