Cover image for Zendesk
Logo
See All Photos
Best Places to Work 2022

Zendesk

Engaged Employer

Zendesk

Add a Review

Zendesk Reviews

Updated Dec 6, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 367 of over 1K reviews
3.8
79% Recommend to a Friend
Best Places to Work 2022
Zendesk Interim Chief Executive Officer   Tom Eggemeier
83% Approve of CEO

Found 767 of over 1K reviews

3.8
79%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Zendesk Interim Chief Executive Officer   Tom Eggemeier
Tom Eggemeier
270 Ratings

What people are saying about Zendesk

Join the conversation on

Tech

467.5K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Employer-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Zendesk~360923
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "There are a lot of teams to help you get the answers you need and there are some really great people who work here.(in 183 reviews)
  • "As above Zendesk has a great culture based on it's people and trying to do the right thing.(in 146 reviews)
  • "Also wellbeing benefits are great(in 102 reviews)
  • "Flexibility and great work life balance(in 82 reviews)
  • "Good salaries and packages.(in 40 reviews)
Cons
  • "Bad management for the Latam region(in 44 reviews)
  • "Lack of experience that some managers have who may be out of their depth?(in 28 reviews)
  • "Senior leadership is out of touch and need to align what they say the businesses goals are with the strategic decisions they are making.(in 26 reviews)
  • "Upper management and HR were aware of this said manager's behavior, but did not show any support to the employees affected by this.(in 11 reviews)
  • "no 401k matching at this time(in 11 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Zendesk and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years
    Featured Review

    Definite Change in Company, Remaining Hopeful

    Aug 24, 2022 - Engineering in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Community: In my few years here, I have enjoyed working with my peers and leaders - Awareness: In my experience, leaders and managers have been self aware and can admit when they mess up - Reason to be hopeful: the past few months have been quite tumultuous for the company, but I feel the people here are still supportive of our products and they impact they have for our customers.

    Cons

    - Lack in process: It feels like both at the company-level and team level, processes are broken and old habits are difficult to change - Distrust in leadership: After acquisition drama, there is a general sense of distrust in our top leadership

    3 people found this review helpful

    Zendesk Response

    Thank you for your thoughts. As we embark on a new journey as a private company we hope to solidify our processes globally and provide visibility on our leadership focus and direction moving forward.

  2. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work at

    Sep 9, 2022 - Customer Service Representative in San Antonio, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everything was great. Enjoyed my experience

    Cons

    Nothing. I grew as an individual

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Zendesk team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Decent Salary with Decent Benefits

    Dec 6, 2022 - Senior Software Engineer in Madison, WI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    60th Percentile for Pay Good work Good WLB

    Cons

    No concensus on a decision Vague promotion standards Compensation is 20% less compared to peers

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Good company to work but with some things to improve.

    Dec 1, 2022 - Customer Advocate in Ireland, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Nice atmosphere - Good benefits and salary. - Team activities, even remotely. - You can manage your own work without anyone pushing.

    Cons

    - Stress because the lack of training and time to study, and no one to ask or help. - Not allowed to help others because you lose time to pass probation. - Some managers not the best emphasizing and not treating people equally, most of the people thought that.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Zendesk Response

    We want to thank you for bringing this to our attention. We're sorry you feel your training wasn't adequate. We will pass along your feedback and advice to leadership and the onboarding team.

  6. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Great Place to work

    Dec 2, 2022 - Outbound Research Representative in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good culture Good Benefits Work Life Balance

    Cons

    Recent Layoffs Lack of Internal Mobility

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Culture, Leadership Could be Stronger

    Nov 1, 2022 - Senior Manager, Operations in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Zendesk has some of the best and most collaborative people I've ever worked with. People are always willing to help and care about you as a person. Truly exceptional!

    Cons

    Leadership could be stronger as its unclear how the company is transitioning from a startup to a truly large company. The CEO feels a bit all over the place and maybe not the right fit for this stage.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great people, a little chaotic

    Oct 13, 2022 - Senior Business Systems Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Good pay - Re-charge Fridays / 2nd Friday per mo. - Nice co-workers - Unlimited PTO - within reason - Progressive company - not afraid to advocate for minorities

    Cons

    - "Digital First" philosophy often feels like "don't bug me with any questions" - Large turnover, poor/no hand-off - Difficult to navigate your way in/through this organization - Need to refine their digital-only workplace

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Good WLB

    Nov 14, 2022 - Marketing in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good WLB Nice people Remote first

    Cons

    Unclear company strategy Uncertain future

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good but not great

    Nov 5, 2022 - Renewals Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work life balance, benefits and culture

    Cons

    Head count, pay, growth with out processes

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good company

    Nov 9, 2022 - Treasury Analyst in Orlando, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    Fired a lot of people last minute

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 767 Reviews
</>Embed

Zendesk Reviews FAQs

Zendesk has an overall rating of 3.8 out of 5, based on over 1,392 reviews left anonymously by employees. 79% of employees would recommend working at Zendesk to a friend and 65% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -7% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Zendesk employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.1 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Zendesk. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

79% of Zendesk employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Zendesk 4.1 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.4 for culture and values and 3.8 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Zendesk to be career development, benefits, culture and the cons to be compensation, senior leadership, management.

Popular Careers with Zendesk Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Zendesk? Share Your Experiences

Zendesk logo
or

Zendesk Careers

Cover image for Zendesk

Yes, work-life balance is a buzzword; but it’s actually a priority at Zendesk. Over 6,000 Zendesk employees worldwide have the flexibility...More

  • Digital first
  • Social Impact
  • Our Product
  • Candidate zone
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Zendesk

9 days ago

Company News
Please join us in welcoming Tom Eggemeier as our interim CEO. Leadership at Zendesk may be changing, but we remain committed to continuous product innovation and customer success.
Shared image - Our North Star - Zendesk
Our North Star - Zendesk
www.zendesk.com
See all

Zendesk Photos

+ Add Photo
Zendesk photo of: We come together intentionally. Check out some members of the People and Places team at our Madison office.
Zendesk photo of: Halloween-themed fun was had for employees who wanted to get together at our London and Dublin offices.
Zendesk photo of: Our crafty witch and wizard workshop Frankensteined up some furry freaky fiendish spider garlands, all part of our ongoing support of COSMIC (Children of St. Mary's Intensive Care).
Zendesk photo of: Here's how one Zendesk employee enjoyed a recent Recharge Friday, our company-wide day off.
Zendesk photo of: The LATAM Women at Zendesk committee organized a breakfast to bring local members together for the first time since the pandemic.
Zendesk photo of: A group of Zendesk Mexico volunteers collaborated in cleaning the canals and planting Xochimilco trees, in partnership with Voluntarios México.
Zendesk photo of: A group of Zendesk Mexico volunteers collaborated in cleaning the canals and planting Xochimilco trees, in partnership with Voluntarios México.
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Zendesk Job Seekers Also Viewed

Salesforce Logo
Salesforce

4.5

14,566 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 1,392 Zendesk reviews submitted anonymously by Zendesk employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Zendesk is right for you.