Zendesk "no 401k matching" Reviews | Glassdoor

Zendesk Employee Reviews about "no 401k matching"

Updated Oct 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
79%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Zendesk Founder and  CEO Mikkel Svane
Mikkel Svane
406 Ratings
Pros
  • "They had an incredibly flexible PTO policy which made work-life balance better than any other company I've worked for(in 95 reviews)

  • "Worked on a small team of great people(in 42 reviews)

Cons
  • "Growing pains that you get when a company grows as fast as they are, which is understandable(in 36 reviews)

  • "Could have more competitive benefits (currently no 401k matching of any kind, health plans could be more subsidized and provide better coverage)(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "no 401k matching"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "A pretty awesome place to be!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    +Great product +Awesome people, fairly good executive team +Pretty good culture still intact for how quickly we're growing +Good work-life balance +Benefits are pretty on-par with other companies

    Cons

    -401k match could be better

    Advice to Management

    -Prioritize some of our initiatives, it seems like we're always having chasing carrot

    Zendesk2019-06-13
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Lots of good things happening here, needs to adapt to next phase of growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Prefer Not to Say in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Overall, this is a great company. Lots of talented people across the organization working on a product that can (and does) do some good. While the Tenderloin is a challenging place to be located, the leadership does care about our neighbors and employee safety.

    Cons

    401k match is low Cross team collaboration is sometimes difficult and overly political - some groups are very collaborative, some are not Some disconnect between expectations of people who've grown up with the company and folks coming in with more experience in different organizations

    Zendesk2019-10-12
  3. Helpful (8)

    "Details about the office and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time

    Pros

    As of June 12th, 2019... Benefits: -$70 per month phone reimbursement -$120 commuter reimbursement -Free health insurance for cheap plans, very low cost for other plans -ESPP stock purchase plan (15% discount), up to 15% of salary -really good maternity/paternity leave (think it's 4 months or so) -401K plan (horrible match though - see "cons") Office: -snacks, food for basic breakfast (cereal/oatmeal),... and food to make sandwiches for lunch. Lots of "lunch and learns", so usually have at least 1-2 catered lunches per week if you attend the meetings. -there are three buildings, all in the tenderloin and relatively nice. One of the buildings has just been renovated and by far the nicest, but overall all are pretty good. If you're coming from FAANG, you won't be impressed, but compared to normal companies, the general decor is fine. -everyone has standing desks -brand new computers -basic electronics vending machine for free Work/life balance: -although this will vary from team to team, people seem very flexible as far as time getting in and leaving. WFH is no problem, and there seem to be a few remote workers here and there. Obviously, this will likely depend on your manager.

    Show More

    Cons

    Benefits: -Overall, I think the benefits are pretty good. However, the 401K match is absolutely horrible. It's $0.25 for every dollar you contribute, up to 1% of your salary. So, the match is basically nothing. Office: -Not the best part of town. Have to be alert when walking outside. -No dedicated parking. There are parking lots close by for about $15 per day (can use $120 commuter money for this). Most... people BART, carpool, uber, bike or walk. -Lighting can be bad on certain floors -Desk chairs aren't great -Never enough rooms available for meetings (same as every company)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Seriously, increase the 401K match. 1% is ridiculous. We should be aiming for at least 5%.

    Zendesk2019-06-13
  4. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing work culture with a great work/life balance. Wonderful perks. Management is always back you up to think outside the box and excel in your job

    Cons

    401k match is low compared to industry standards

    Zendesk2017-11-15
  5. "Pretty good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time

    Pros

    - Generally friendly people work there - Varies by group, but overall a decent work / life balance - Lots of career opportunities internally. I see a lot of people moving up the ladder from entry level positions in all areas - We eat our own dog food. It's great having internal help centers from different teams and quickly getting assistance. If you need something from IT, just email IT and a ticket is created.... This works surprisingly well and requires very little effort to get help. - Some remote work possible but varies by team. Would like to see a more generally accepted and friendlier policy with regards to remote work. - Generous ESPP program

    Show More

    Cons

    - San Francisco office location is terrible. The interior is very nice but it's right by 6th and market. - Could have more competitive benefits (currently no 401k matching of any kind, health plans could be more subsidized and provide better coverage) - Not the most competitive salary - Too much focus on hiring friends of friends which creates teams where people just hang out all day. We need to add more... cross-team interviewers and empower them. - Open office layout - Performance Reviews seem pretty useless. It's focused heavily on having your colleague friends give you glorious reviews. - Too much focus on CSR (Corporate social responsibility). It's nice that we do some of this, but there is a disproportionate amount of time and effort spent on this. - Too much focus on tenure and not enough focus on performance and accomplishments. We seem to celebrate volunteer efforts and tenure way more than actually important accomplishments from a product / business perspective. - Unlimited PTO. I'd rather have 4-5 weeks starting vacation and earn more PTO over time.

    Show More
    Zendesk2017-06-29
  6. "Great company, some growing pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - The people and culture are by far my favorite things about working at Zendesk. Smart/nice people who genuinely want to see this company succeed while having a few laughs along the way. - Great products and a focus on innovation to make sure we're always improving them. -Leadership is willing to admit when something isn't going as well as it could be and course-correct. Double-edged sword, of course. -... Incredible focus on corporate social responsibility all over the globe - Very flat organization where management is receptive to new ideas and methods

    Show More

    Cons

    -Career progression opportunities are ill-defined and opaque in many departments. - Not necessarily a con for everyone but rapid growth means you might be doing one thing one day and then told to stop doing it and focus on something else the next. To the point that people have been hired to do a job only for it to turn into a pretty different role entirely. If you're flexible and interested in learning new... things, this can be a pro. - No 401k matching.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Remember the "we don't hire a-holes" mantra

    Zendesk2017-04-19
  7. Helpful (44)

    "Great place to develop your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Zendesk has been nothing but short of amazing to me. Leadership truly wants you to succeed. Building my career here has been nothing short of amazing. They will fully invest in you if you are willing to work. Other insanely great perks: RSUs & Stock Options Unlimited PTO Free Beer and Soda and Snacks Awesome office on the Capitol Square Happy Hours and fun parties The people who work there! Lunch... and learns

    Show More

    Cons

    No 401K matching which kinda sucks, but can live with. There are some people who act like it's a high school.

    Advice to Management

    Keep working with the people that put their all into making Zendesk great! Make sure that transparency is kept!

    Zendesk2016-10-12
  8. "Software Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing culture, great people to work with. Perfect work life balance. Great benefits; lot of activities.

    Cons

    No 401K matching. No 100% free insurance. Sometimes climbing up the ranks is not very easy because of visibility issues.

    Zendesk2017-02-01
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Security Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk

    Pros

    I can't speak for all departments, but the things I love most are the work/life balance,the company culture, and the fact that employees opinions and ideas are actually taken into consideration (regardless of the position level)

    Cons

    With the company growing so quickly, some employees are constantly finding themselves having to adapt to the new changes; however, this is inevitable, and Zendesk does its best to make the transitions as easy as they can for their employees. Another thing I would add is the lack of 401K matching, but I'm sure this will come eventually.

    Zendesk2016-11-26
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Excellent culture, lots of opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zendesk

    Pros

    -Amazing corporate culture -Great work/life balance -Upward mobility -Comprehensive benefits -Flat-ish hierarchy

    Cons

    -Midmarket location is a bit sketchy (on the street only - office is very secure) -No 401k matching

    Advice to Management

    Work to maintain open communication channels and avoid losing the company culture during these periods of fast growth

    Zendesk2016-10-13
Found 17 reviews