Zenefits Reviews

Updated Jun 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
78%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Zenefits CEO Jay Fulcher
Jay Fulcher
103 Ratings
Pros
  • "In addition to the standard free food, solid benefits, etc(in 31 reviews)

  • "The people and the pace of the company attract people who are in it for the right reasons: great people doing awesome work to address a big opportunity(in 26 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "Opportunities Galore!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Experience in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zenefits full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you're looking for a rewarding career with opportunities to learn and expand, then Zenefits is the place for you. The senior leadership team encourages us to think out of the box and is extremely supportive of new ideas. Team members across all offices are always willing to help one another.

    Cons

    If prefer a job that is monotonous, then Zenefits is probably not the right fit for you. As the company continues to grow, there is a lot of change; and, with all the changes, there are many opportunities for those willing to try something new.

    Continue reading
    Zenefits2020-01-02
  2. "5 Star - Best in breed to work for companies"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HCM Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zenefits full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Been working at Zenefits for over 6 months and have experienced a very rewarding opportunity to make a difference as my opinion counts and am heard from Leadership to Peers. The culture is very work/life balance driven and everyone gets involved in making the success happen. This company by far is producing options to clients that really streamline and create better efficiencies from employee level to C- Suite. From Covid-19 to the next new normal, Zenefits is making its mark across America and I can't wait to pioneer the functionality of what's to come! Great company and great Leadership and Values!

    Cons

    The only cons of this job is if you limit yourself. The folks here from Leadership through peers have opportunities that other companies do not think of in terms of pulling in the ranks they have today or looking outside as needed. Zenefits has a very uniqueness about what they are putting out to market and all of us here have the advantage of making our passion become a strength in the marketplace by enjoying what you do and aspire to grow within!

    Continue reading
    Zenefits2020-06-03
  3. "Been here 5 years and not ready to leave!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zenefits full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    In the 5 years I have been at Zenefits I have had more opportunity and room to grow than at any other company I've worked for. I've had career progression and training - I've gotten two industry certifications and a license since I've been employed - all of which were paid for by the company. Zenefits has invested in employees and allowed them to grow without an out-of-pocket cost. Plus, just the topics we work with on a day-to-day are learning in and of itself. If you want to become an expert on a topic for your team, you have the ability to do so if you want the extra challenge and raise your hand. If you do so, you'll open the door to other opportunities. I've seen people transition departments and create positions for themselves by doing this. There isn't a day that I dread going into work even with all of the ups and downs that I've seen in my time here. Yes, the days may be hard and long, but I always enjoy it. I've been lucky that I've loved every team I've been on and had good relationships with my managers. I feel like my company and team really care about me. We're a family. The ability to take time off and have a life outside work is great. Taking a day off (even if it's just a Mental Health Day) is welcomed and encouraged. Employees care about our customers and it shows. We're always trying to do the best for the customer and learn from our mistakes. New features and processes are constantly being implemented to make the customer experience even easier and better. The benefits have been wonderful. Flexible time off, paid maternity/parental/medical leave, catered lunch and snacks/drinks on hand, company contribution for parking/transit, and more.

    Cons

    Change is inevitable and it happens quickly here. You have to be someone who is ok with this (*really* ok with it, not that you just say you are in an interview) and keep a positive attitude when things do change. Depending on your department, you are busy. Working more than 8 hours/day can be a given and it can be draining and exhausting, especially if you work on a customer-facing team.

    Zenefits2020-06-01
  4. "GROWTH AND OPPORTUNITY"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner Account Executive in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zenefits full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity for advancement. Great culture and collaboration. Management is willing to roll up sleeves to help. Love the transparency of the exec team. Pay is fantastic as well!

    Cons

    Worked for a few HCM companies and Zenefits is top for me... Keep up the good work Zen Nation

    Continue reading
    Zenefits2020-06-01
  5. "LOVE working here!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zenefits full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The reason I love working at Zenefits so much is because of the leadership we have, from sales team all the way up to the CEO. On the sales side, everyone is looking out for each other and want to see each other win regardless of what team or what position you're in. The sales executives and management trust us to do our jobs (rather than other leaders I've worked with at other companies who micro manage) and are very hands on, supportive, and want to help everyone get better every day. From the overall company standpoint they are very employee focused, transparent, and forward thinking. Not only that but it's a fun place to work, where many colleagues turn into friends, tons of fun activities, and never a dull moment!

    Cons

    Although we are a fairly mature company, we still act as somewhat of a startup. Being in a startup means things are constantly changing, and a lot of the times people are just trying to figure out what works, which may not be a fit for everyone.

    Continue reading
    Zenefits2020-05-28
  6. "Opportunities"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zenefits full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunity to grow as a sales person. Constant learning and collaboration between the teams and sales reps.

    Cons

    Complex sales across many industries, but a lot of opportunity

    Continue reading
    Zenefits2020-05-27
  7. "Amazing Career Opportunities & Supportive Employer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SDR in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zenefits full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Zenefits is a great place for career progression and growth. Leadership is always encouraging you to learn more and better yourself. There are multiple outlets for advice and tools available for you to succeed. Work/culture environment is welcoming, inviting and in tune with today's society.

    Cons

    Constantly changing as most SaaS companies do, so if you enjoy stagnant work environments this is not the place for you.

    Zenefits2020-05-22
  8. "Proud to be a Zenefits Employee"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Services Manager in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zenefits full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've worked at Zenefits for going on 5 years now, and have spent most of that time on the Customer Care branch. Over my time here, I've been afforded some amazing opportunities on career growth as well as a chance to learn and utilize some great skills I didn't go into the company with. In my time, we've had a consistent message in our company values to practice what we preach. When it comes to being an HRIS company, our day-to-day is always about how best to treat our customers, and how to give them all the tools we can so that they can do the same for their employees. One of the biggest moments where I'm reminded of the fact we still operate with a steadfast integrity is that our CEO let us know that even during these tumultuous times during the COVID-19 outbreak, he turned down the small business loan offered by the government to allow for those funds to be given to clients similar to our primary customer base. We know that the money would be a welcome relief to others, and wanted to make sure we were doing what we could inside and outside of our company to help our active and potential client base of Small and Medium businesses. I've always been proud of being a Zenefits employee, but it's moments like this that really exemplify why. It's a busy, chaotic time (as it is with many people during these uncertain times) but it's the best job I've ever had.

    Cons

    Can be stressful at times.

    Zenefits2020-05-20
  9. "Sky Is The Limit!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zenefits full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    What I love the most about working for Zenefits unconditional support from my executive team. Zenefits continues to provide me with not only the most amazing opportunity to grow as a sales professional, but flourish as an overall human being. I have learned over the last 18 months how to help small business owners and HR professionals succeed in areas that are a very complex (HR + Payroll + Benefits) which has been challenging and extremely rewarding. I know that people have different experiences and opinions on this company, but I will say that Zenefits literally has given me the keys to the car and it's up to me to chose my own destiny. Any who "hates" or bashes this company probably didn't want it that bad and thought they were entitled to success. Success is not given, it is EARNED. If you really want to succeed, you will find a way to do so. Lastly, you need to know the opportunities are endless, and that is why employees stay at this company for so long. Knowing that you can make a career switch within the company, shows that we care since we want to ensure you're feeling empowered and you utilize your own natural strengths.

    Cons

    Tough sell across HR, Payroll and Benefits, so be prepared to learn and grow across multiple complex industries.

    Continue reading
    Zenefits2020-05-18
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zenefits full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Zenefits offers a great software platform for small businesses, has a solid and experienced leadership team, and is generally just a great place to work and grow your career. They are very adaptable, and successfully made the shift to remote work virtually overnight. This has made the company even better in terms of flexibility and work life balance, and it is likely there will be a lot more work from home opportunities for employees when things "go back to normal." Jay, the CEO is a high integrity leader, who is mission driven and 100% focused on "leveling the playing field for the other 99.7%" - the company is all about supporting small businesses.

    Cons

    The negative press from a few years ago - from a different time, a different leadership team - is unfortunate and unwarranted in today's Zenefits. It's a totally different company, and it's super annoying that when you search the company, that stuff still pops up.

    Continue reading
    Zenefits2020-05-06
Found 523 reviews