Zenefits SMB Account Executive Reviews | Glassdoor

Zenefits SMB Account Executive Reviews

Updated May 2, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

2.2
19%
Recommend to a Friend
Zenefits CEO Jay Fulcher
Jay Fulcher
0 Rating
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Get out what you put in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SMB Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zenefits full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great leadership -Great mentorship -Hard working, very intelligent people around you -Open door policy where you can speak to just about anyone when you need to -Absolutely great benefits and perks

    Cons

    -Grew super fast, lots of growing pains (seem to be getting worked out though) -Bad press (obviously hard on the sales people like me) -Somewhat silo'd, although they're trying to break down the walls

    Advice to Management

    -Control the bad press and thing should get better quick -Breakdown the silo'd departments, especially for sales and marketing -Keep up company culture

    Zenefits2016-05-03
  2. Helpful (7)

    "-"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SMB Account Executive in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zenefits full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Beautiful new office, really amazing product, snacks, games, and other typical tech company perks, fast paced environment - you never know what to expect when you come into work. Ultimately, the best part about working at Zenefits was having a product that you can stand behind and be passionate about. I know for a fact that our software benefitted every one of my clients. There's not a lot of places where you can say that.

    Show More

    Cons

    Long hours, no structure, lack of positive reenforcement & support from upper management, too many meetings throughout the day, bad execution of new processes, lack of culture, ineffective communication from upper management.

    Advice to Management

    1. Training - there is no way 30 days is enough time for reps to learn a) cold calling and setting demos, b) insurance, c) HR, d) compliance, e) Zenefits - the software, how to set it, and f) how brokers work. There also needs to be more people on the training team than just one training manager. Reps get very little support during their time in training, and most likely after training, because managers have to continuously teach and coach unprepared reps on the floor. 2. More communication & transparency. As a manager, I was rarely notified of changes until 10 minutes before we were supposed to sell the new idea to our reps. Especially after the layoffs, there needs to be better communication and much more transparency so people aren't afraid to be let go at the drop of a hat. 3. Better culture. Everyone was speaking negatively about everyone else and no one trusted each other. Encourage reps to support each other and share their success stories in MMM instead of ZenMasters (which NO ONE ever pays attention to, sorry). 4. Test things out for more than a month. I've worked in orgs where a "pilot" was anywhere from 6 months to a year. And I know, we rarely had the time for anything, let alone a pilot, but nothing was ever put in place for long enough for us to figure out whether or not it's working. Ready, fire, aim does not work.

    Show More
    Zenefits2016-03-09
  3. Helpful (28)

    "REVIEWS ARE COMPLETELY ACCURATE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - SMB Account Executive in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zenefits full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The employees are some of the best I've ever worked with...and the free beer. That's it!!!

    Cons

    The reviews on here say it all about this company and are very true. I too was very excited to work for the fastest growing company "in history" but once hitting the floor after training, it was all down hill. You're expected to work at home after an 11-12 hour day in the office, weekends, etc to try and hit quota. Fishing for your own leads is fine, but when you do all that work to self generate your leads, once they close not only do you have to wait 2 months to get paid, they don't pay you the full amount you should get or if a company signs up in your territory that's assigned to you, they WON'T PAY YOU FOR IT. If you're an experienced sales person this isn't the gig for you. This is more for kids just out of college that needs experience. Really disappointed in my experience at this company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I don't have the time to write all the advice needed for managememt.

    Zenefits2015-12-31
  4. Helpful (17)

    "I believed the lies too"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SMB Account Executive in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Zenefits full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free food that never changes. New office space in a respectable building.

    Cons

    The call center that is not a call center as they say. All you do is cold call rural areas that have no clue who or what zenefits is. Every week something changes. Upper management cracks the whip on floor managers which forces them to be stern in unprofessional manners. Every month a manager is demoted because the job is not what it used to be. If you put any "director" on the phones they wouldn't set a demo to save their life.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Shuffle upper management demote some of them at the director level so they can see it's not easy. Also, stop lying to your reps about comp and expectations. If it's a blackout tell people upfront. I feel bad for the people who moved across the country for this job. You will lose all your top talent and Zenefits will be another failed startup if you don't get the right people in the right places. You have "leaders" who do not even know how to run a meeting. Spend money in the correct fashion build the brand there is not a cheap way to educate people on Zenefits. Cold calling is not the answer think about the last time you got a cold call did you set the demo with them?

    Show More
    Zenefits2016-01-20
  5. Helpful (19)

    "Bait & Switch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SMB Account Executive in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zenefits full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some of the brightest people I've ever worked with, the snacks and occasional catered lunches are nice, the laid back dress code is ideal

    Cons

    I was incredibly excited to join the fastest growing tech company in history! Training was great, but once we got on the floor the job we were sold in our interview and training was NOT the job we encountered. Instead of a consultative sales role, the sales org has a churn and burn mentality with both clients and employees. The average SMB lasts about 4-6 months before being fired or quitting. New management has come in and turned the SMB role into a glorified telemarketer. Roughly 15% of reps are actually hitting quota (by cheating the system) and the reps who do follow the rules are being fired for not hitting their number. Initially, I really believed in this company but by putting revenue before your employees you soon will have no employees to bring in revenue.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Enough with the 'Big Brother' management style, treat your employees like people not numbers.

    Zenefits2015-12-10
  6. Helpful (13)

    "SMB Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SMB Account Executive in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zenefits full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free drink and snacks

    Cons

    If you are ready to make 80 cold calls per day and work 50 hours per week, this is your job! :) The job descriptions given at interview and by recruiter were wrong and made a false promise. Referral program is $3000 for bringing your friends in so even more smoke signal about the job. Many people leave here after 4~6 months because they were told one thing and when they actually come to work they are expected to alot more.

    Show More
    Zenefits2015-11-30
  7. Helpful (14)

    "Not for a senior sales professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SMB Account Executive in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zenefits full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great product, I can see the potential, environment better than most, tech start up

    Cons

    Sales position as described to me in the interview process, was not what I experienced on the floor. They have no real marketing strategy that I can make sense of. They like to say they have "leads" but you are really just calling a list. Recently brought in new "leadership" and they are turning the SMB role into an entry level position. Very, very, very script driven. I had no faith in leadership. Very few hitting quota, moral is low, most stressed and unhappy.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your people because a lot are going to leave. Better understanding of how to market to that space.

    Zenefits2015-11-19
  8. Helpful (21)

    "Beware!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SMB Account Executive in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zenefits full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone young, fun and dynamic. People are great, but that's about it.. CEO is visionary.

    Cons

    No One hitting their goals, huge bait and switch model, ask to see a sales report showing people hitting numbers before you sign (they can't produce), get ready for the ultimate cold calling experience, no one is happy their

    Advice to Management

    Redo your entire sales organization and model.

    Zenefits2015-09-28
  9. Helpful (19)

    "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SMB Account Executive in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zenefits full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fully stocked Kitchen Unlimited PTO Good Medical Benefits Package Some really good sales people as colleagues. Free MacBook Air

    Cons

    No work/life balance. Expect to be in the office from 7am until. 6pm sometimes having meetings run later. Then management will expect you to take your work home with you. Quota is extremely difficult to hit. Only a handful of reps in the entire org are hitting it. They don't give you any warm leads. You will spend most of your day cold calling.

    Advice to Management

    Set up better marketing campaigns so that AE's can spend there time closing rather than cold calling people who don't want to talk to them.

    Zenefits2015-09-18
  10. Helpful (35)

    "Ready, Fire, Aim..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SMB Account Executive in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zenefits full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Very cool feeling to be a part of something growing so quickly. -Great people everywhere -The office is overflowing with energy -Coffee, drinks and snacks always on deck -Good base comp and incentive commission is pretty good -Product is extremely easy to sell -The product is free and addresses a very real issue for small businesses -Great publicity, with what seems like a new article coming out every week -Hottest start up of 2014! -Really good insurance "crash course" -Lots of upward mobility. Many of my peers were promoted within 3 months

    Show More

    Cons

    - No control over your sales. Once the sale is complete, you have to get "deal desk" to approve it, and then wait for the implementation team. The implementation team is extremely back logged, working 12 hour days, and by the time they get to it, it has been a few weeks. Proactive clients will reach out to the sales rep almost daily with outstanding items and there is nothing you can do. Once implementation does get to a group, you will likely encounter an issue with the technology, the group's insurance rates, underwriting requirements, or missed deadlines. All the while, there is a strict "talk to your manager" mentality that effectively makes us powerless to get anything done. -Not enough insurance experts. As a sales rep, you will be asked very specific questions regarding benefits, and most of the time, we are not trained well enough to answer them. Even worse, the managers have only been in insurance for 2-3 months longer than us, so they likely don't know either. -There is a HUGE operations issue at the company, which is directly attributed to their growth model. -"Mandatory" all hands meetings that started at 7pm, and we were expected to be OK with it because pizza and beer were provided. -Intense growth makes for a very cutthroat environment. You get two months and if you do not hit goal, you be put on a performance improvement plan. There were reps who missed their first two ramp up quotas and then got put on a plan the first week of their first full selling month. Some were actually let go – one even on his birthday.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You will be thrown into a sales role without adequate insurance training and be expected to start producing immediately. If you are a quick learner and OK with not having the power to fully service your clients, this job may be good fit for you. The growth is exciting, but be aware that it comes with many issues. The product is very easy to sell, but unfortunately, you will spend just as much time putting out fires on post sale groups than you will be actually selling. The company will get it together, they just need to slow down their growth to really get a hold of everything.

    Show More
    Zenefits2015-03-12
Found 13 reviews