Zenefits "free food" Reviews | Glassdoor

Zenefits Employee Reviews about "free food"

Updated Nov 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
70%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Zenefits CEO Jay Fulcher
Jay Fulcher
90 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "free food"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing work atmosphere, Free food and great employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Some Good Stuff in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zenefits full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, amazing opportunities, free food

    Cons

    Haven’t come across any for now.

    Zenefits2019-02-22
  2. "Good starter job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zenefits full-time

    Pros

    Free food/ fully stocked kitchen, young and intelligent coworkers, office space was pleasant

    Cons

    Heavy workload, lots of change, little direction

    Zenefits2018-11-13
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (2)

    "Positive atmosphere after some rough years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zenefits full-time

    Pros

    Complete shift in culture post rebrand. In addition to the standard free food, solid benefits, etc. there is a positive momentum in the building that I haven't felt at other companies. Definitely a company to consider for product/engineering/sales growth opportunities. Real opportunity to control a process or make a real impact that might not be available at the larger, cash cow tech firms.

    Cons

    Concern over future; slight bitterness in older employees who are tired of pivots and shifts

    Zenefits2018-02-27
  5. Helpful (8)

    "The worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Zenefits full-time

    Pros

    Free food and unlimited vacation we’re the only things that kept me here. And some of my coworkers were pleasant to work with.

    Cons

    Inexperienced leaders were prone to making poor decisions without accountability. There was a culture of lacking trust which made it tough to work there.

    Advice to Management

    Take feedback constructively to fix some of the core culture issues.

    Zenefits2017-10-26
  6. Helpful (11)

    "Working here will Kill your soul."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zenefits

    Pros

    Free Food, Good location for SF and Tempe offices.

    Cons

    Their attrition rate speaks for itself. I was let go after the busy season even after being complimented by the then CEO, VP of the department and the director.

    Advice to Management

    Stop focusing on efficiency of cases completed and instead focus on quality of work...

    Zenefits2017-05-10
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Shiny on the outside, scrambled on the inside"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Zenefits full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of free food, though I've heard that's cut back. If you were lucky enough to get laid off, you got a nice severance. That's about it.

    Cons

    Work/life balance was absurd. Job stability is entirely void. Product is faulty and makes employee's jobs unreasonably difficult. Unapologetic and aggressively selfish upper management that takes advantage of its young and tech savvy employees. No way this company will make it to 2020 unless it's sold. If you do get hired here, keep in touch with recruiters at other jobs frequently because what they won't tell... you is that every position is actually temporary.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make a 5 year business plan. STICK to it. No more Z2, HR1 and P50 plans all within the same year. That's insane. Give more credit to the employees who ran your glitchy ship and somehow convinced clients that it was worth the 16 engineering tickets in a week to stay. Stop releasing updates to clients before they are ready. Pay your employees what they are actually worth and stop saying that the reason the... employees should be staying is because of the stock opportunities when employees do ask about raises. DONT HIRE FOR A POSITION WITHIN 100 DAYS OF WHEN YOU LAID OFF THAT SAME POSITION BECAUSE OF "OVER-STAFFING". HONESTLY? I hope your premium for unemployment benefits is cripplingly high for 2018. It should be.

    Show More
    Zenefits2017-04-26
  8. Helpful (14)

    "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zenefits full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    So I noticed the only people who are giving this company five stars are those still employed, which btw congratulations on making it through the third cut and third CEO in one year. Also the company actually comments to those posts too (lol). - free food - the friends you meet - same as the first but I figured I'd be nice by listing another pro; cupcakes - I can't think of anything else

    Cons

    - management - poor execution. consistently releasing new features that don't work - average of fourteen hour workdays, some people in support work 150 hours per pay period - did I mention management? - three mass layoffs and three CEOs in one year - several other cons I can't bother listing

    Advice to Management

    I'd rather light myself on fire than refer a friend to work here. Also you know how bothersome it is to see employees who made it through the third cut enjoying free massages and smoothie buffets in SF meanwhile I'm unemployed? Please just stop trying. You're literally terrible. Oh also Cutler saying "nobody likes to start their first week doing a mass layoff". I can imagine how hard that was on you... being the CEO..., employed making six figures, etc. poor you

    Show More
    Zenefits2017-03-15
  9. Helpful (14)

    "Wow Zenefits, just wow."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Product Operations Specialist in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Zenefits for more than a year

    Pros

    free food, although the hint waters gone, dinners every night, open floor plan and you can work where ever couches, standing desk stations, or a desk/conference room. Dogs in the office (this might have been the best part) and honestly amazing co-workers everyone cared about the success of each other and helped out anytime it was asked or not asked of them, it was a family. Direct management really cared about you,... but had absolutely no power to do anything about it.

    Show More

    Cons

    no communication between C Level and pretty much anyone who wasn't on exec, would continuously say "just hold on a little longer, or we are waiting to hear back from management, were going to find out soon, just a little longer" all the while they know whats going on and won't provide any information to the teams. They had to promote early in the life of zenefits and a lot of managers should literally never been... given the responsibility of a team of employees... let alone not sure how they got through college alive. It used to be a work hard play hard mentality but it turned into this really uncomfortable, uneasy, have no idea of what the purpose or goals are company. Not to mention they hired a HUGE class of benefit advisers and go through a company reorg, promise all employees RSU's and then fire 90% of them right before they are able to vest any of those shares... seems sketch to me... also office management...What happened there? Used to be fun and engaging and now the people on that team are like bitter and power hungry... throwing away peoples dog toys and bowls, and not allowing photos of family members or balls in the office, removing the bean bags because they aren't professional... HELLO we are a STARTUPPP and we work 18 hours days give us a break... why don't you go do something and stock healthier options in the kitchen... what do you even do?? Also one more all hands talking about how we overcame our obstacles and righted our wrong with the insurance industry sector when they would never address the elephants in the room... whats going on with our company?!?! Don't even get me on the culture survey... same results if not worse year over year and the exces are surprised! .. wait seriously yes they are surprised.... then there's a presentation on how they are going to put some processes in place to fix it... how do you fix employees who's answer to the question: "Do you have faith in upper management and exces?" was "I Flat Out Don't Trust You/Them?".... Answer: "We're working on that..." sheesh Get it together... at least Parker was honest with the teams and really kept to transparency. Now its like hide and seek to see if we can try to stumble across any fragment of the reality of whats going on at zenefits.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Just stop... really. You started for the small business to make something great and affordable and now you want to move away from being a broker charge for everything eave our small businesses for enterprise because what that's where the money is? It just sad how its no longer about making a difference and helping small business succeed but about making money and changing what zenefits stood for...

    Zenefits2017-03-23
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Zenefits full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Dedicated people who want to make a difference for the company and for their clients. People are extremely smart and care about one another. Free food, snacks, ect. Catered lunches and unlimited PTO

    Cons

    Extremely hard work/life balance Stressful environment with little collaboration from upper management Treats employees badly despite their hard work

    Advice to Management

    Do not lay off half of your staff who built the company

    Zenefits2017-02-26
  11. Helpful (4)

    "Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Zenefits

    Pros

    Free food and endless avocados

    Cons

    High expectations and long hours. No work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Hire managers with manager experience

    Zenefits2017-01-27
Found 31 reviews