KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Zenefits

Engaged Employer

Zenefits

Add a Review

Zenefits Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated Oct 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 of over 603 reviews

3.7
62%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Zenefits CEO Jay Fulcher
Jay Fulcher
140 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free food and a very relaxed dress code(in 35 reviews)

  • "The people and the pace of the company attract people who are in it for the right reasons: great people doing awesome work to address a big opportunity(in 26 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "There isn’t a great work life balance(in 60 reviews)

  • "Long hours and low compensation(in 53 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "great people"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great for many reasons

      Oct 6, 2019 - Biz Ops in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Zenefits is a storied silicon valley company. It's been through a lot. It's amazing to see how well the company is doing now. The people and the pace of the company attract people who are in it for the right reasons: great people doing awesome work to address a big opportunity.

      Cons

      Zenefits will always have to deal with its past. But that's part of the fun.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Zenefits Response

      People Business Partner

      Thanks for your feedback and for your contributions to Zenefits! We're excited about our future and appreciate knowing we've got former teammates out there rooting for us!

    2. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Headed in the right direction

      May 31, 2019 - Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, love the folks here - the company itself truly has tons of potential, Zenefits has really strong software/app tech that our customers love - it seems to be gaining more and more of the market so things are trending in the right direction.

      Cons

      Sometimes a little bit of a lack in process/documentation, but nothing crazy

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Amazing work atmosphere, Free food and great employees

      Feb 22, 2019 - Some Good Stuff in Tempe, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, amazing opportunities, free food

      Cons

      Haven’t come across any for now.

      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Outbound SDR

      Aug 5, 2015 - SDR in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A lot of the kinks from earlier reviews have been worked out. New leadership has made a lot of improvements–though not perfect yet, things are moving in the right direction. -- -Great people & culture (everyone is young, smart, and extremely hard working) -Revolutionary product which is getting better each and every day -Pay is good for an SDR position -Top SDR's move on to be the best AE's within the company (lots of opportunity to advance career) -Snacks are pretty wack, but hey–they're free!

      Cons

      Cold calling and prospecting all day is a grind. It's repetitive and makes your head hurt. However, that's what an SDR position is. It teaches you how to work hard and sets you up to be a very successful salesperson. If you do well as an SDR at Zenefits, you will do well in a closing role. The toughest part about the SDR role at Zenefits is prospecting. Many people stay late to ensure they have gathered enough leads to work the following day (you also get assigned leads, however they aren't the best). Top SDRs stay late at least twice a week. They add no less than 20 leads a day and make about 80 calls a day. Get ready for a grind!

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Classic Story of Over-Promise, Under-Deliver

      Nov 2, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people are great people. Without them, I would have already considered leaving--that's about it. The snacks are nice too...

      Cons

      Unfortunately, the work promised was no where near what the reality is. Recruiters also told me that equity would be discussed after I started, yet no word or follow up. No path for career growth. With internal growth stagnating, so has the opportunity for any upward mobility. Little to no value on the people who have made the company what it is today.

      Continue reading
      33 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Ready, Fire, Aim...

      Mar 12, 2015 - SMB Account Executive in Scottsdale, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Very cool feeling to be a part of something growing so quickly. -Great people everywhere -The office is overflowing with energy -Coffee, drinks and snacks always on deck -Good base comp and incentive commission is pretty good -Product is extremely easy to sell -The product is free and addresses a very real issue for small businesses -Great publicity, with what seems like a new article coming out every week -Hottest start up of 2014! -Really good insurance "crash course" -Lots of upward mobility. Many of my peers were promoted within 3 months

      Cons

      - No control over your sales. Once the sale is complete, you have to get "deal desk" to approve it, and then wait for the implementation team. The implementation team is extremely back logged, working 12 hour days, and by the time they get to it, it has been a few weeks. Proactive clients will reach out to the sales rep almost daily with outstanding items and there is nothing you can do. Once implementation does get to a group, you will likely encounter an issue with the technology, the group's insurance rates, underwriting requirements, or missed deadlines. All the while, there is a strict "talk to your manager" mentality that effectively makes us powerless to get anything done. -Not enough insurance experts. As a sales rep, you will be asked very specific questions regarding benefits, and most of the time, we are not trained well enough to answer them. Even worse, the managers have only been in insurance for 2-3 months longer than us, so they likely don't know either. -There is a HUGE operations issue at the company, which is directly attributed to their growth model. -"Mandatory" all hands meetings that started at 7pm, and we were expected to be OK with it because pizza and beer were provided. -Intense growth makes for a very cutthroat environment. You get two months and if you do not hit goal, you be put on a performance improvement plan. There were reps who missed their first two ramp up quotas and then got put on a plan the first week of their first full selling month. Some were actually let go – one even on his birthday.

      Continue reading
      35 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Facilities

      Feb 22, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Worked with some great people but that's all I can really say that was great about Zenefits.

      Cons

      Management didn't care about employee happiness or culture. Company was completely unorganized and negative to new ideas about how to make the office run more smooth. Favored certain departments while others were not valued even though they were working 16+ hours a day trying to keep their customers happy. CEO at the time was unreasonable, unprofessional and rude. Yes they are the fastest growing Saas company but they are also losing employees left and right. I'm really hoping David Sacks can change this company around. I wish he was there when I was there. Looks like he is on the right track to helping this company succeed and change for the better.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great atmosphere, your career is always up in the air with this position

      Apr 26, 2016 - Associate Benefits Advisor in Flagstaff, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work environment Unlimited PTO Great people to work with Product is innovative Your feedback counts

      Cons

      Things are constantly changing which is what you get when you choose to work at a start up Told one thing about advancement in my interview but it never came to fruition Because you're entry level you may be taken advantage of

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee

      SDR

      Jul 15, 2015 - SDR in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun office environment. Great people! Excellent learning experience as far as sales goes. You will learn everything you need to know about how to sell....prospecting, lead qualifying, closing, pitch, sales cycle, etc. Constant incentives/challenges for sales.

      Cons

      Overall (and this is just my personal opinion) inflated promises of growth, promotion, pay, etc. When I first came on I was told that taking a temporary salary cut from my [at the time] current job would pay off tenfold. I was told if you work HARD and make your numbers you will be promoted to AE within 3-6months. Five days in I found out there was an extra tier added to the SDR role making the road to AE 6-9 months (for a top performer). Two months in a third tier was added to the SDR role making the road to AE 9-12 months with the added bonus of a cut to our base salary and increase in commission {which is taxed at 40%}. At this point, I was performing very well so I thought maybe this change would be good for me, but so far I haven't seen any form of increase in my pay. All in all I think this is a great company and the actual product we are selling is freaking AWESOME and is actually helping businesses which is great. That said, at the end of the day, working 10 hours in office and another 2-3 at home prospecting plus 5-8 hours of prospecting on the weekends....Its wearing to say the least. The thought of keeping that schedule with my current pay with slight increases as I move up in SDR tiers just doesn't seem realistic for the 9-12 months term it will be required. Plus at the end of that year of no social life and cracked out eyes from staring at a computer more than I don't I will be an SMB AE. Still working my butt off, prospecting my own leads with the added responsibility of running demos, closing deals, and retaining customers for 12months while making a couple hundred bucks on each deal. Not sure its sustainable.

      Continue reading
      17 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Wonderful peers, weak upper management

      Mar 14, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - The product has lots of potential and the market is relatively untapped, leaving lots of opportunity for Zenefits to do well in the HR/Insurance Saas space - GREAT colleagues. My peers and teammates were bright, driven and genuinely great people who would drop anything to help someone else out. The atmosphere was very collaborative, and big on knowledge-sharing

      Cons

      - Very little transparency from upper management. We were informed of decisions after they had already been made, and there was very little trust from the bottom up - There have been major layoffs, there is little opportunity for upward mobility within the company, and in the operations department there is no clear KPI structure to dictate how and when an individual is eligible for a salary raise. Raises happened randomly and subjectively

      5 people found this review helpful

      Zenefits Response

      CPO

      Transparency is a challenge in every organization, especially start-ups that are undergoing rapid change. Sharing ideas that are still in formation increases ambiguity. It's not practically possible to inform the employees of major decision until those decisions are made. At our All Hand we share company strategy and vision and give updates on major initiatives. And yes, there is more work to be done to create clarity and alignment behind our all-in-one HR platform. On the topic of upward mobility, we have several VPs and Directors who who started as individual contributors. Given the company is only four years old, that's very rapid growth and development. We are launching a leadership development program, starting with VPs and continuing with Directors and Managers. We just completed merit reviews for Engineering and Ops, including promotions. The rest of the company will compete this work in the following couple of months.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 26 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Zenefits Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Zenefits? Share Your Experiences

    Zenefits logo
    or