Zenefits "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Zenefits Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Aug 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
70%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Zenefits CEO Jay Fulcher
Jay Fulcher
90 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "An Amazing Place to Grow your Career!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zenefits full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Career growth here is common and real. Many of my colleagues have started at the bottom and worked their way up. Once you get your foot in the door, there are tons of possibilities if you're willing to work hard, be patient, and incorporate feedback you're given. - I have never worked for a company that has encouraged me to be more innovative than Zenefits does. Managers encourage creativity and ideas from your... first week on the job. I have seen many of these ideas get implemented, so long as they are realistic. I feel that I have made more of a positive impact here than I think I could at most other companies. - I have the utmost confidence in Senior Leadership. The changes Jay and team have made in the past ~1.5 years have been well thought out and well executed. I believe in our mission and the path we are taking to get there now more than ever. Not only that, but Senior Leadership is approachable, honest, and communicative. - The people here are some of the smartest, most creative, nicest and hard working people I have ever had the pleasure of working with. - Zenefits has had an especially strong initiative towards learning and development as of late. This includes trainings, ebooks, etc. I truly feel like this resource can help me grow as a manager and as an individual. - As everyone has mentioned, the kitchen and catered lunches are definitely a plus!

    Show More

    Cons

    - We have come a long way with work/life balance during my time here, but I still think we have a ways to go. In my mind, this is somewhat expected given the nature of the company and how fast we're growing, but I can see how it would be a negative for some. This may not be the place for you if you're expecting to work a solid 9 to 5 every day. If you like to stay busy and continuously challenged, you'll love it.... - There are a lot of changes here. Again, I see this as a positive and don't mind it as it's part of growing, but I can see how others might see it as a negative. Processes change frequently, so you have to be flexible!

    Show More
    Zenefits2018-07-30
  2. Helpful (6)

    "They don’t care about you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zenefits full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch and snacks. Great coworkers.

    Cons

    Where to start... sales oversells the product and doesn’t care that it screws over support. They are severely understaffed. They won’t hire enough people for support to help relieve other teams. Directors say they take your input into consideration but then go and do the exact opposite. Work life balance is not existent in support. There are so many tickets that you have to go home and work over time (clocked in or... not) to even out your backlog.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    This company was great a year ago, you’re going in the same direction that made you riff 100+ people in the first place. Quit while you’re ahead. Care about your employees, you’re going to lose all the good ones.

    Zenefits2019-08-12
  3. "Don't Be Afraid to Try Zenefits -- Good Experience Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zenefits full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - In AZ you work in a beautiful high rise with amazing views - Good IT infrastructure (MacBooks, VOIP phones, VPN architecture, etc.) - Opportunity to work with some great products - Catered lunches (daily in AZ) - A convenience store worth of premium snacks and beverages for the taking - Excellent health/life insurance benefit options that the company pays the majority of - Nice couches and seating... areas to get away from your desk - Non-accruing PTO ("unlimited") - Fair salaries and good work/life balance

    Show More

    Cons

    - Not nearly enough work space. Employee desks aren’t much bigger than the desk you sat at in high school - Noisy working conditions – There’s a high expectation to engage customers on the phone, which is difficult when co-workers are screaming, cheering, banging gongs, etc. - Sick constantly – Colds and flus run rampant, in large part due to the close working conditions. At least the company provides good medical... insurance, complimentary EmergenC, Purell, and cold medicine - Tools/resources needed to do your job (i.e. software) are often taken away and you're told to, 'Figure out how to do more with less.' (A common mantra at start-ups.) - Unstable – Rolls out new business models constantly, invests in employee training, then rips it up and throws it out the window. I saw the business/service model change no less than 4 times in 1.5 years with Zenefits.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give employees cubicles and/or more workspace in general. Equip employees better to do their jobs.

    Zenefits2018-04-14
  4. Helpful (9)

    "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zenefits full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Lots of snacks, foods - Work-life balance is great at this time, 3 - 4 hours of work at most every day for engineers.

    Cons

    - Half of the strongly experienced employees have left the company in the past 3 months. - New hires with weak background cannot handle work as well as previously experienced employees. - There is no growth for a long time and a big failure on sales this year.

    Advice to Management

    Hard to say, I don't think there is real professional 'Management' here.

    Zenefits2017-10-17
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Leadership is Older, Workforce is Younger"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zenefits full-time

    Pros

    Good work-life balance, snacks in the office

    Cons

    Leadership is conflict-avoidant. Workers aren't operating as one team. There's not a lot of trust in the leadership. And there are a lot of new VPs who don't value long-term employee feedback.

    Advice to Management

    The new vision of the company has potential. Everybody is hanging around with the hopes of going public. Give us another reason to hang around besides equity.

    Zenefits2017-10-23
  6. "New leadership has brought fresh focus and optimism"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zenefits full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Newly revamped executive team is impressive and seem more closely aligned on product vision and roadmap than before The company has ambitious plans to build a unique platform and has some strong foundations for executing on the vision SF office environment is much improved since the recent office move Competitive salaries and benefits Work-life balance can vary seasonally and by role, but is better than it was... 12 months ago Recent brand refresh was overdue, but is a much better reflection of the values and aspirations of the company and its employees

    Show More

    Cons

    Morale was affected by the last 18 months of changing leadership, shrinking headcount and shifting priorities, but strong recent senior executive hires point to imminent improvements in this area.

    Advice to Management

    Stay focused on the roadmap, keep up the clear two-way communication with the business and keep innovating.

    Zenefits2017-09-27
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Unique Experiences"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zenefits full-time

    Pros

    Zenefits offers great Medical/Dental/Vision coverage, and also provides employee's lunch everyday. Great maternity/paternity leave policy - our HR team really did a good job with this. There are lots of opportunities to experience things like rapid growth or several re orgs that you would not experience elsewhere in a short amount of time. The people that work at Zenefits are smart, talented, and fun to work... with. Overall, a really great place to jumpstart your growth and your career, and get some unique experiences.

    Show More

    Cons

    This company goes too fast sometimes, despite having challenges with this in the past. Many people have great thoughts and ideas and are sometimes not given the opportunity to voice them, or just ignored. Priorities seem to be different for different departments, although I will say that this has gotten a lot better over the past 6 months. There is an unlimited PTO policy, which tends to lead to some people... taking more time off then others, and with no roll over it does not really work for everyone. The sick leave policy also does not roll over, which actually encourages employees to use their sick time even if not needed. No 401k match makes employees feel like this is not a great long term option, especially those with early retirement goals. Mandatory and frequent meetings outside of scheduled shifts is challenging from a work-life balance perspective. Not enough professional training and development - for employees at all levels. We definitely need more of this to feel like the company is investing in us. Depending on what department you are in, there may no career path built out.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take some extra time to work on professional development with your team, this should be a regular activity so employees feel like they are learning skills that they will be able to use anywhere. In addition, there really seems to be some issues with accountability, so I think focusing on this would be great. To more senior leaders, I would encourage talking to the individual contributors. They have great ideas... and thoughts, and it would build trust to meet with them in smaller group settings.

    Show More
    Zenefits2017-08-22
  8. Helpful (2)

    "1 year here is worth 5 elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zenefits full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The will undoubtedly be a book written about this company. Most of the highs and lows have been well documented on TechCrunch and Buzzfeed, but they do a terrible job depicting what it's actually like to work here. Especially now. Zenefits has been through a lot. But it's history is a big reason for why it's so interesting to be here now. Our "rocketship" beginnings, record-breaking fundraising, the dramatic... departure of our founding CEO, the herculean compliance turnaround under the watch of David Sacks, rightsizing and more rightsizing, and now the disciplined and thoughtful execution under our seasoned CEO, Jay Fulcher. The company is in a better spot than it's ever been. We have smart and collaborative people, a high-impact product and vision, vast resources, and strong, experienced leaders. The work-life balance is fantastic. The comp is solid. The opportunity is massive. Career development and mobility is bountiful and encouraged.

    Show More

    Cons

    Working here is not for the faint of heart. We have a lot at stake and we are coming out of some difficult times. Thriving here requires commitment to and belief in the bigger picture. Once candidates understand the business model (which is clever and not immediately obvious) and product vision, it's hard not to jump on board.

    Advice to Management

    Continue being transparent and instilling a culture of discipline and accountability. It's working.

    Zenefits2017-08-01
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Much better than before, and getting back on its feet. I can actually recommend working here now."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zenefits full-time

    Pros

    This place used to be awful, but I can actually see an improvement in the company, its direction, its plans, and the work environment. Being fully transparent about my experience here, the first CEO was single-handedly destroying the company. He had no clue how to run a business, let alone one at such a fast-growing scale. Neither did the people he appointed as management. Every employee was working 80-100 hour... weeks, and we were all counting the days until our 1-year vesting cliff so we could get out. Though all of the negative press was blown out of proportion, as those things usually go, the real story was that the company was full of tired, miserable employees, and was ready to collapse at any moment. That first CEO getting pushed out was probably the best thing that's ever happened to this company. The second, interim CEO and his management team came in and did a great job at improving the product, creating a well-thought-out, sensible road map. Now we're on our third CEO, and he seems to have the "business" experience and vision to understand what it's going to take to get the company to the next level. The focus is now on building sustainable business metrics (revenue, margins, and so on) so that the company can progress to its end goal. The company used to be defined as a "rocketship" in the sense that they were hiring hundreds of people a month and increasing revenue with aggressive sales that targeted the low-hanging fruit of the market, but that wasn't going to last forever. Instead of churning through the low-hanging fruit, the company is now focused on increasing revenue with a combination of a useful and well-designed product, keeping customers happy, and smarter business plan that's going to be much more scalable and predictable. They've also focused on improving the lives of employees, with a great work-life balance (people seem to generally work 40 hour weeks now), decent compensation for a venture-backed startup, training for managers, and improvements in culture.

    Show More

    Cons

    -HR/Insurance/Payroll tech is a difficult space, with lots of rules and business-logic that one must learn. However, this is no different from working in any other heavily-regulated industry, and gives the company a moat to reduce the number of entrants into the market. -Perks and fringe benefits are not as good as at the "hot" startups or tech giants. -The new business model with the incoming CEO led to a... restructuring where many employees got laid off. Though things are completely stable now, the company has so many angry, disgruntled ex-employees now that the Glassdoor reviews are horrible, which will create difficulty in hiring in the future. Also, many of those employees have only seen the company in its terrible state (especially during the reign of the first CEO), and can only provide a narrative of that situation. -The tech debt incurred from terrible engineering decisions early on makes it difficult to increase velocity. Every fast-growing startup has tons of tech debt (For example, think about why Facebook had to build a PHP-to-C++ compiler internally), but Zenefits took a bit too long to address the issues. The good news is, the state of the codebase is steadily improving with the recent focus on paying down the debt. -Promotion process is still highly political, and requires lots of "making yourself visible" to the executive team.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't mess this up. Don't hire any more execs who don't have the experience or the talent to take the company to the next level. Do a better job at recognizing the talented individuals who don't play the political game. Morale still seems low around the office because of all of the turmoil in the past year and a half. Though steps have been taken to make this an enjoyable place to work, the culture still... needs further improvement.

    Show More
    Zenefits2017-06-09
  10. Helpful (19)

    "Truly an awful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zenefits full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Product is great Problem to solve is huge

    Cons

    Management doesn't care about employees at all. People are here today and gone tomorrow. Promises made during interviews aren't kept. Work life balance is nil. Customers are treated like garbage and the sales process is fundamentally based on lies to drive urgency.

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees and customers like people. Don't promote inexperienced people into management without training. Don't lie to customers.

    Zenefits2017-06-20
Found 69 reviews