Zenefits "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Zenefits Reviews

Updated Aug 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
73%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Zenefits CEO Jay Fulcher
Jay Fulcher
96 Ratings
  1. Helpful (9)

    "All SaaS and no Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Benefits Advisor in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zenefits full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Extremely forward thinking software company. Great employees. Brilliant engineers. Benefits package is good. Perks are decent.

    Cons

    Absolutely none of senior management has any insurance background. Company is entirely run as a software company with no consideration to the benefits which is the source of nearly all revenue. Comp structure works for SaaS but feeds extremely bad behavior when it comes to benefits. Unlimited PTO is useless when your work is still there when you get back. Work life balance is almost non-existent.

    Advice to Management

    Zenefits is a benefits broker and needs to be managed as such. Until that happens there will be minimal growth moving forward. Your strongest asset (benefits advisors) who are the only employees who know the insurance industry are treated like garbage compared to the rest of the company. Zenefits has is all backwards......

    Zenefits2016-04-04
  2. Helpful (11)

    "Client Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Support Associate in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zenefits full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Young + energetic culture - Great social atmosphere + hard working people - recruiters do a great job of hiring very intelligent, ambitious and fun-loving people - Snacks / drinks / catered lunch - Unlimited PTO - Lax environment (open desks, yoga balls, flexibility to move around the workspace, casual clothing) - Beautiful highrise office in Tempe

    Cons

    - Extreme hours (10+ hours/day with no lunch break regularly, 10-13+ hours/day during "peak season" - November through January, during which time there is a strict PTO blackout officewide) - No work/life balance (completely mentally and emotionally incapacitated after work) - Heavy workload - Unobtainable expectations in terms of knowledge (meaning Support would receive calls and emails pertaining to anything from specific insurance questions to ACA compliance to the way the platform works to why their payroll deductions were off, etc. It is impossible for one associate to know about each "spoke" of the hub-and-spoke model as each one is so complex- not to mention oftentimes customers are calling because they have a unique or specific situation that can only be answered with in-depth knowledge.)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Reduce hours so associates aren't burnt out and can realistically have a work/life balance - Listen to the needs of associates - Figure out a better system so associates can become a master of one spoke rather than a jack of all trades; and route calls/emails to associates more proficiently based on the matter of their question which will provide the customer with an accurate answer quickly and instill confidence

    Show More
    Zenefits2016-03-17
  3. Helpful (54)

    "Worst career move I ever made"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Enterprise Sales Development Representative in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Zenefits

    Pros

    I loved my manager and team. The energy and people I worked with were great. Also, it was nice having free snacks.

    Cons

    Zenefits is a cluster. When I signed on, recruiters over promised on compensation, work/life balance, and hitting sales goals. It was a huge mistake and I would never recommend anyone take a job here. The management is so off-balanced and communication is lacking. The constant changes give the SDRs "whiplash" and do not enable people to become successful. I would label this place as a churn and burn environment. Things to fix: Work/life balance. SDRs spend 2-3 hours outside of work "scrubbing" accounts to have them pulled out of their name or get scolded if they don't hit their daily metrics of 25 scrubbed accounts. The SDR day and meetings should become more efficient so that individuals aren't spending extra hours trying to do account clean-up. Sales Ops should also improve data integrity. Managers need to stop micromanaging their team, we are all adults. I would say on average I would work 13 hour days but it wasn't paying off compensation wise. "Unlimited" PTO but there is a PTO blackout. Recruiters should be upfront about this policy. It was shocking to come in and find out a month in that we could not take time off from Nov-Feb. and that we are not paid out for PTO accrued. Changing compensation multiple times within 6 months also needs to be fixed. In my offer letter it was promised a certain base with variable comp. This changed 2 times after the letter was presented. When I asked about variable compensation, management failed to even respond to my question on the change. Overall everything is extremely disorganized. I have worked at other start-ups and I would say the disorganization shouldn't be blamed on "being a startup" but really just a huge disconnect between management and the floor.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep processes in place for longer periods of time to get actual results. Have a clear path to promotion. Make sure you communicate. Get to know your team upper management --it seems like you aren't invested in your SDRs success. Be clear about PTO policy.

    Zenefits2016-01-07
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Need to Work Some Things Out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zenefits full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This company is changing the benefits and HR industry, but they definitely have competitors nipping at their heels. With all of the bad press and company culture prior to my departure it was a toxic environment to be in. Fortunately, I think David Sacks is going to be able to fix the culture problems. Good Pay Free Food Pretty Office Location

    Cons

    Long work hours- they schedule meetings until 6 or 7 pm sometimes multiple times a week no work-life balance Never once took a lunch break- most everyone works through lunch Language and profanity is prevalent

    Advice to Management

    I think you guys are making the right steps and will be fine. It's just unfortunate I was there when I was.

    Zenefits2016-03-14
  5. Helpful (13)

    "Implementation Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Implementation Manager in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zenefits full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work amongst like minded people. Good snacks. Occasional catered lunches. Beer & Wine always available.

    Cons

    Extremely Long Hours. Lack of Work/Life balance. Inconsistent management.

    Advice to Management

    Set realistic expectations. Pay better. Give better bonuses. Treat employees as though they're valued.

    Zenefits2016-01-26
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Client Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Client Support Associate in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Zenefits for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of free food and snacks, fun young atmosphere

    Cons

    Pretty much everything else. Zero work life balance, everyone works a minimum of 10 hours a day with many pushing 12 with no end in sight. Hiring standards dipped during hypergrowth phase which led to incredibly high turnover and lots of poor fits. The "explosive career growth" everyone was promised only happened to a few, incredibly early, hires.

    Advice to Management

    Find a way to allow your people to have a life outside of work, working 12+ hours a day isn't healthy for anyone.

    Zenefits2016-02-12
  7. "Just Don't"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Client Support Associate in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zenefits

    Pros

    There is always food and outside of the black out periods and if there are time slots available there is supposdly unlimited paid time off

    Cons

    Long Hours, feeling like just a number, poor training, LONG hours, no work life balance, no PTO requests from October-February, salary positions treated a thousand times better than hourly in terms of work load even then the salary employees are treated a lot better, clients are overly catered to which makes them all slightly pretentious and very difficult to work with, you will be a number...if you are a director or below you will be simply a number, LONG HOURS, no breaks, inconsistant security measures and grading rubics

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Just help us. Implement the requested and understood needs.

    Zenefits2016-03-04
  8. Helpful (12)

    "Honest review without bias"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    SDR and Account Executive in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Zenefits for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food Amazing people Fun outings, once in awhile.... Attractive staff You get a Macbook Air for use at work/home

    Cons

    -Impossible Quotas -terrible pay, our compensation has been cut so many times - micro management - literally the SDR managers do nothing all day, our managers on the AE side, work a bit harder - business does not close, and you are held responsible for that - you will fear for your job constantly - Hours are terrible, there is no work/life balance - you will have mandatory meetings and trainings at least 3-4 times a week, always at your lunch hour - if you take time off, you are guilted - there is no room for growth, I have seen less than 7 people get promoted in the last 6 months -there is so much negative press, nobody wants to work with us - the market for what companies we can work with is so small no one hits quota ever -there is no culture In all, this was a terrible place to live. There is so much pressure on you, and management is absolutely terrible. Its the mindset "what have you done for me lately" You could have one month that goes decent and the next be at risk for losing your job Upper management will not be honest with you Abandon the sinking ship

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be honest about job expectations when being hired. So much talent walked out the doors. Some of the best sales people I ever met walked out the door due to the terrible work environment. At least Parker was transparent with us. Pay us better.

    Zenefits2016-02-24
  9. Helpful (19)

    "Mid-Market Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mid-Market Account Executive in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zenefits full-time

    Pros

    Truly amazing people and talent by my side. Recruiting did an incredible (however, unethical) job obtaining A talent. Fancy, new office space. Stocked kitchen with snacks and drinks.

    Cons

    Extremely under-paid salespeople. The amount of talent and skill set necessary to close deals in the mid-market segment does not align with the average total comp achieved. Salespeople who were previously earning $130k-$200k+ over promised and extremely under-delivered. Average MM AE earning 50% of the OTE discussed during recruiting process (average about $70-$80k). Constant changes to the comp plan, recent change has made it nearly impossible to make decent commission without self-prospecting your own deals. Database is full of completely inaccurate information, making it an extremely difficult call center situation. SDR org has dwindled down to 50% of reps remaining... Headcount keeps declining; will eventually phase out. Sales team grew way too quickly and marketing has done a poor job of scaling alongside us -- leading sales to completely miss 2015 ARR goal by $20m -- causing Fidelity (largest VC investor) to slash our $4.5B valuation by more than 40%. Executive leadership completely inexperienced to handle a company of this size and are under water. Mid-level management also inexperienced, but really do work unbelievably hard. Work life balance is nonexistent. Did I say extremely underpaid? Top performers barely earning into the 6 figures. DO not buy into the hipe unless you are looking for an entry level sales role. Opportunity for growth is nearly nonexistent because the MM team continues to shrink, rather than grow.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Figure it out -- employees are extremely unhappy and we've told you over and over again. Stop selfishly worrying about the revenue and value your employees. Morale is at rock bottom and I can confidently say that 90%+ of your sales reps are looking for a new career. Your employer brand will make it extremely difficult to attain new talent necessary to continue propelling this company forward.

    Zenefits2016-01-24
  10. Helpful (19)

    "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zenefits full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1.Snacks, a lot of different snaks 2.Base salary above average(15% higher)

    Cons

    1.Long hours, no work life balance, you may have to work 60+ hours every week 2.Almost everyone lives under dear of being fired everyday 3.Poor training 4.No 401k, bad insurance coverage selection

    Zenefits2015-12-17
Found 69 reviews