Zenefits Employee Reviews about "zenefits"

Updated Jun 24, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 74 of over 634 reviews

4.1
77%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Zenefits CEO Jay Fulcher
Jay Fulcher
152 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great people and technology.(in 97 reviews)
  • "Great culture and lots of fun activities.(in 37 reviews)
  • "Great benefits: The jobs page has a listing of some of the benefits we offer.(in 24 reviews)
  • "Free food and a very relaxed dress code.(in 24 reviews)
  • "Great coworkers and everyday is different.(in 21 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Zenefits and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "zenefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Mission driven culture

    Apr 21, 2021 - Senior Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Quality leadership, committed workforce, strong technology and value proposition; this company is helping SMB businesses transition from mundane HR to 'People Operations' and creating high performance cultures in the process.

    Cons

    Zenefits has been through a lot, but emerging stronger than before.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Zenefits Response

    VP of People Operations

    Thanks for sticking with Zenefits for 3-4 years and helping us emerge even stronger!

  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Punching bag for customer frustrations caused by overzealous sales, careless developers, incompetent CTO

    Jun 9, 2021 - Customer Care Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    OK, there was free catered lunch

    Cons

    * CC was always the last to find out about product UX changes—when the support queues blew up yet again with a host of confused & frustrated customers, we knew the offshore dev team had just tossed a new release over the fence for us to catch. * Oh, how we admired their sense of whimsy, as they discarded one long-established browser behavioral convention after another, sprinkling tiny shiny little feature "innovations" ahead of resolving the data-loss bugs, update glitches, and dog-slow page load performance that lay in wait for our larger customers! * Gotta love the cognitive dissonance of talking down a wanna-cancel customer upset by recurrent payroll and tax issues, while knowing Zenefits didn't trust its own system enough to pay its staff with it, instead relying on ADP to process payroll…

    3 people found this review helpful

    Zenefits Response

    VP of People Operations

    Thanks for the feedback and we wish you all the best in your career since Zenefits. Good news, we've made great strides in the last year on both product performance as well as communication on product updates and deliveries. As a cloud-based platform, we're constantly improving and delivering a more robust experience for our customers. And, yes, we're proud of our customer care team, helping our customers when they need it.

  3. 1.0
    Former Employee

    It was great at first

    Jun 24, 2021 - Sales 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Can work as many hours as I wanted The culture at first was positive, fun and exciting The courtyard Brannan was so fun Free beer and organic snacks galore

    Cons

    Sales leadership that continuously failed the company for 6 years now, and skews their numbers and somehow gets away with it so they(HE)can collect the largest paycheck Zenefits is not ADP as much as they would like to think so POPS??? Are you kidding me?!?????! The constant lies from the top down is unreal Hate him or love him, Parker knows how to build a business Enough said…

    3 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    All smoke and mirrors, layoffs, favoritism

    Apr 1, 2021 - Sales 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent training and just a handful of people who actually cared.

    Cons

    Favorites, no room for growth, constant yearly cycles of layoffs, unstable work environment, horrible customer service to our customers. Zenefits is just a name and not really a good company. They do layoffs every year based on who they want to keep on. The. AEs are lazy and don’t really like to put in work. I’ve seen a few people who were still with the company that needed to be let go and weren’t. Constant turnover as no one is ever able to grow and pivot to whatever career path they want. This is a good job if you don’t want any growth in your role there.

    4 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to learn and grow, as long as you're ready to work!

    Nov 16, 2020 - Recruiter in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Zenefits has been a wonderful experience for me, and has allowed me to accelerate my career growth at an unreal pace. I agree with many of the reviewers who state that working at Zenefits requires you to "wear a lot of hats" and take on new responsibilities that may not have been in your job description. However, this has helped me learn new skills while refining the skills I already had. I'd recommend that anyone who is looking to grow their career look at opportunities at Zenefits. I can't wait to see what the future holds for us!!!

    Cons

    Workload can get a little hectic at times with lots of different responsibility. Luckily, Zenefits has embraced asynchronous work so you can figure out your own schedule to complete your tasks.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Tough To Watch

    Sep 4, 2020 - Operations in Tempe, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    In my almost 4 years, I have learned and grown so much. I have never been afforded as much opportunity at any other company as I was at Zenefits. I truly am grateful for my time spent here, the lessons I learned and the people I met.

    Cons

    Given the above, much has changed over the years; from management to company values, and almost all these changes have been for the worse. When I first started, there was an overwhelming feeling that the work you did mattered, to your clients, and to the growth and success of the company. It felt like we were building something together, and everyone was excited to be a part of it. Zenefits was a place where every employee felt valued and necessary. New ideas were encouraged and the good ones were tried out, regardless of if the idea came from a support associate or a VP. People were recognized and promoted for their hard work and innovation. That's what it used to be... now Zeneifts is a bit of a spiraling mess. Management seems intent on running off any talent left at the company by tasking them with impossible deadlines and ridiculing them publicly. It has become an extremely hostile and toxic workplace where VPs/execs/upper management will regularly call out employees, embarrass, and scold them in meetings or public chat channels. There is a lot of clear favoritism as far as promotions and hiring goes. People are regularly moved in to positions without the proper interview processes taking place, simply because the right people like them. This has resulted in several departments of the company being severely mismanaged to the point of barely functioning. Innovation is encouraged, but pointless. If you have a good idea and it makes it to someone with the resources to implement said idea, they will simply take credit. This is a trend at Zenefits. People will regularly steal someone's idea, or take a previously presented idea and tweak it a bit to present it as their own and gain some clout with the execs. I would not recommend anyone work at Zenefits, nor purchase their software.... Unless some serious changes are made ASAP.

    6 people found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Don't be Fooled

    Aug 1, 2020 - Account Executive in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Solid product and leadership is nice but there's a catch..

    Cons

    Let me preface by saying this is mainly for people trying to get into sales at Zenefits, as I don't know how the other departments feel because we are very disconnected. Like I said in the (pros) section, the leaders within this company are nice up front but trust me when I say they don't know what they are doing and have their own agenda.. If you're looking for your next AE gig to make good money and enjoy life, look elsewhere.. this is coming from someone who comes from real experience and from companies who actually have their stuff together. The 100-120k ote they sell you on is literally not attainable and the majority of AE's are less than 50% to quota month over month. Simply not enough leads to go around and the leads you do get are not qualified. So you basically have to bank on luck to close deals. I will say the product is actually great but that's only part of the equation and leadership fails to make people successful and lead departments in the right direction . It sounds biased and harsh but they honestly have no idea what they are doing and there is a reason why the majority of reviews say they hire people and then fire them if they don't perform. Because it's true.. they hire people and expect them to be all-stars but don't set them up for success in any way. Also, implementation is a nightmare and every deal you close wants a refund. Again, it sucks because it's a good product but they don't invest in the long term and AE's end up spending hours trying to reassure customers it will be ok.. when it really won't be. I could go on forever but bottom line, do not think you will make money here or have a sustainable future here because leadership's goal is to sell this company as fast as possible and they will cut every corner to hopefully make that happen. But!! That's not going to happen because revenue is beyond low and churn is through the roof. I give Zenefits 3 months before they start to go under. So it may be pointless writing this review because they will fire a lot more people before they hire them any time in the near future. But I just hope leadership is able to see this common theme of reviews and one day get their act together. But don't hold your breath.. seriously. Tracey Cote, feel free to respond to this and act like you know what is happening within this company and try to make it look like you care. I don't blame you though.. It boils down to Jay Fulcher treating this company like his side hobby and leading it to no where. Apologies for putting this company on blast but the truth hurts. Ya'll need to figure it out before the company tanks in the next 3-5 months.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful

    Zenefits Response

    People and Talent Team

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I'm sorry you feel this way. Sales is a challenging profession with its ups and downs. I agree we have a great product that is a perfect fit for SMB and mid-market companies. As a sales organization, our focus is to have a growth mentality, and for every individual to improve by at least 1% every day, and watch those improvements add up. The Zenefits leadership team and I are 100% focused on helping our sales team win and improve their skill sets. If you come to work for us, I can promise that you will get incredible experience, and plenty of on the job coaching and training. I’m proud that we have so many professionals here making their numbers and exceeding their OTE's - even against the background of a pandemic. I wish you nothing but success in your future role. Jeff Hazard VP of Sales

  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    A sinking ship, proceed with caution...

    Jul 31, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company has great healthcare plans in the SF office and there are some talented people peppered throughout the company. Good work/life balance

    Cons

    The word "dysfunction" is an understatement for how this organization is run. The business model has so much potential and so much runway in the marketplace, but they just cannot execute. There are talented people in the organization, but not many in leadership roles. Leadership is kind of a "boys club" where underperformers are given passes when they clearly illustrate they cannot produce results. We've all had jobs where we wonder how someone who is clearly incompetent got into a leadership position, except at Zenefits it's not just one or two people, it's a systemic issue. Leadership surrounds themselves with "yes" men and women which really squashes any hope for innovation. There is a long history of layoffs at Zenefits and I don't see that tradition ending anytime soon. They couldn't come close to hitting sales targets during GOOD economic times and I wouldn't bet on them to be able to do it in bad times. When I started 2 years ago, the company boasted 10,000 customers, but that number hasn't changed in 2 years. It's a customer churn factory. Ask anyone in customer service. It's a sales-driven company that doesn't do a good job at selling. Most new product features or additions come from an anecdotal use case that someone in sales needs to close a deal. So sales tells the prospect it's on the roadmap to close the deal, then product either builds a feature for one customer or they don't and the customer churns after their contract is up. Work here at your own risk.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    5 Star - Best in breed to work for companies

    Jun 3, 2020 - HCM Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Been working at Zenefits for over 6 months and have experienced a very rewarding opportunity to make a difference as my opinion counts and am heard from Leadership to Peers. The culture is very work/life balance driven and everyone gets involved in making the success happen. This company by far is producing options to clients that really streamline and create better efficiencies from employee level to C- Suite. From Covid-19 to the next new normal, Zenefits is making its mark across America and I can't wait to pioneer the functionality of what's to come! Great company and great Leadership and Values!

    Cons

    The only cons of this job is if you limit yourself. The folks here from Leadership through peers have opportunities that other companies do not think of in terms of pulling in the ranks they have today or looking outside as needed. Zenefits has a very uniqueness about what they are putting out to market and all of us here have the advantage of making our passion become a strength in the marketplace by enjoying what you do and aspire to grow within!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    GROWTH AND OPPORTUNITY

    Jun 1, 2020 - Partner Account Executive in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity for advancement. Great culture and collaboration. Management is willing to roll up sleeves to help. Love the transparency of the exec team. Pay is fantastic as well!

    Cons

    Worked for a few HCM companies and Zenefits is top for me... Keep up the good work Zen Nation

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 74 Reviews

Popular Careers with Zenefits Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Zenefits? Share Your Experiences

or