KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Zengo & Co

Is this your company?

Zengo & Co

Add a Review

Zengo & Co Reviews

Updated Aug 5, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 52 of over 57 reviews

3.5
63%
Recommend to a Friend

The latest conversations about Advertising

Join the conversation on

Advertising

5m

works at 

Publicis Health

I recently received an offer from iProspect (part of Dentsu) I’ve heard ups and downs about this company. I currently work for a great company and not sure if I should leave. The new opportunity pays a lot more than I currently make. Does anyone have any advice about this company and whether I should take the job or not?

24

18 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great people(in 4 reviews)
  • "What made me take this job in the first place was definitely the opportunity to grow fast and learn all the skills that I would need to become a great manager.(in 3 reviews)
Cons
    There are no cons to display at this time.
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Amazing company, smart people, good work

    Apr 8, 2016 - Administration in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    High energy Fun environment Great manager Always busy Team effort Room for growth (and lots of it!)

    Cons

    I cannot think of any cons at the moment. Sometimes it can get hectic. I don't think that is a con but others might.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee

    STAY AWAY

    Aug 5, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They gave me free coffee.

    Cons

    Everything. This was back in 2016 when I had just graduated and was desperate for a job. I had a minor in marketing, and was compelled to apply when they advertised the position as a Junior Marketing Exec. As it turns out, this was completely false information, and they were actually looking for door-to-door saleswomen/men to pawn off cheap, shoddy cell phones to unwitting patrons. The "interview", if you can even call it that, was a complete joke. The manager gave me skeevy vibes and was completely unprofessional. He didn't ask me any questions about my interest in the company nor my qualifications. He just went on a long monologue about his life and success and how many sportscars he owns. His "advice" to me (which I never asked for) was to 'never listen to my parents' and do what I want. This was just the first part of a long and uncomfortable onboarding process. The "assistant manager", or whoever he was, proceeded to walk me through the city streets to a nearby coffee shop where he buttered me up with free frappuccinos and more monologues about how much success working at this company had brought him. He did this all while laying out the format of the company to me. Basically, it would be my job to sell cruddy flip phones to patrons. The more commissions I got, the higher up in the company I'd move, until I too could become a junior assistant manager and own my own branch of the company. Right. It was here where I realized that this was all just a pyramid scheme and had little to nothing to do with marketing. I was desperate though, and decided to hear him out. I even said I would accept the job after they offered it to me. Later in the day, however, after doing some serious reflection, I came to my senses and declined. I never heard from any of them again. Based on the other comments here, it seems my gut instinct was correct. Long story short, this place is a scam. They falsely advertise the position, and then try to reel you in, banking that you'll say yes in order to avoid post-graduate joblessness. Don't buy into it. You'll be happier getting a regular part-time job at a grocery store than working here. I'm just glad I was able to escape in time.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Scam... door to door direct energy etc.....

    Feb 1, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Staff very supoortive. Office location, sale exercises

    Cons

    It is door to door for people like direct energy and other companies. You have to get people to answer the door, let you in and hopefully agree to sign them on. I'm not sure why they keep saying that's the wrong company. All types of weather, on pubic transportation and late hours! You have to report back by the end of the night... 9pm. You have people over you who make money off your contracts. Everyone is just not meant to go door to door and sale... positive attitude or not.

    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Job is not what they say it is!

    Aug 14, 2017 - Marketing Associate in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The office off Mag Mile is bright, inviting and a buzz with activity, but that is the only pro.

    Cons

    I received a job as a Marketing Associate, I was told in the job spec that I would be coming up with creative advertisement strategies in order to sell a clients products. Sounded great. Then your real job is on the street direct selling products, nothing to do with marketing but they entice employees with buzz words. If you want a job beating the payment doing direct sales this is the job for you. Also the 'manager' when offering you the job is aggressive in order to make you basically beg for the job, but after you leave the office you realise it is a set up so you will accept the position.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Account Executive

    Oct 21, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    THERE ARE NONE. DO NOT APPLY OR EVEN GO TO THEIR OFFICE. Just horrible people. Not worth even talking to. Literally garbage.

    Cons

    This place is a horrible, horrible scam for college students. they post on LinkedIn about how they are looking for a marketing specialist but the truth is that it's a sales job where you go to to big stores and sell stuff to annoyed customers. Literally they make you pay for all of your expenses too. They call them "marketing events". In all reality it's your busting your butt to make the scammers money. The people who lead these companies aren't smart people, they just scam to make money. The minute they start getting in trouble they change their name and become a new company. DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    The worst manager I've ever had

    Sep 19, 2016 - Corporate Trainer in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    there's nothing good with this company, starting with the manager, the most Unprofessional person i've ever met (just ask any women who interviewed or worked there). I've learned everything you shouldn't do when running a business, like steal to your employees....

    Cons

    A waste of time and energy.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    IT IS A SCAM

    Jun 13, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    i got to wake up everyday and go to work and waste my day and time

    Cons

    I worked at Zengo for a month and they were not honest with me from the beginning. First they are not open about that the job requires your to solicit sales literally at people's doors. 2. The managers will try to make it seem they make tons of money while they don't just to make you interested, They will tell you that in 6 months you will own your own company which is a LIE. THIS IS A MULTI LEVEL MARKETING SCAM!!!!!!! 3. They will tell you, get paid weekly but in reality it's all commission and you will not get paid until the 4th week, That's if you get paid. THEY RIPPED ME OFF WITH MY CHECK. I WORKED FOR A MONTH AND MY CHECK WAS LESS THAN $50 i also had to call them 300 times before i even got it 4. Here are some fraud complaints; go to rip off . com to see all the complaints they have 5. There are more fraud complains with zengo and it's related companies feel free to do your own research 6.On thursday Night they have 'friendly competitions' which they make bets about who is buying drinks at the bar and blah blah blah. Problem is they never really own up to this because they don't make enough money 7. TO BE HONEST YOU ARE BETTER OF BEING A POTATO COUCH AND WATCHING SPONGE BOB MARATHONS OR STANDING ON MICHIGAN AVE. ASKING FOR MONEY THAN WORKING FOR THEM. 8. Did i mention everything is commission based, you have to have your own transportation and lunch everyday They also change the company's name if they get too many complains on the company, they also tend to relocate if they feel burned out. They want you to work long hours because they know they don't have to pay you by the hour. I will call it being exploited than actually working.because you make less than minimum wage. For more info. look at credico scams.

    7 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Zengo!!

    Apr 26, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    •Great people •If you're friendly and outgoing, then this is the perfect job •Positive Atmosphere •The opportunity provided at the company

    Cons

    A lot of time is devoted for the company, but worth it.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Don't even waste your time applying.

    May 22, 2016 - Account Executive in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I got out of the house for a bit.

    Cons

    Ok so first off, even though I find it clever that the company has decided to respond to people's reviews I'm here to clear the air a little bit. 1) they say that you are offered pay weekly. -Uhhh. No. I asked my hiring manager,(which is literally the same guy for everyone) how the pay worked. He said it was commission and salary based. Also the responder to the reviews said that they offer weekly salary. Uh no again. Please explain to me then why the person I was shadowing on my first day told me that it was all salary commission? She had been working there for a while. So why would she lie to me? Also she told me you guys don't pay your employee until the first month of them working there. Wow so your withholding payment form your employees. Interesting... 2) they explain everything to you during your interview. -while I'm sure they did through all the business jargon that was being thrown at me every second by my business manager. What they actually didn't tell me was that I would be venturing to the south side of Chicago and walking up to random people asking them if they would like to sign up for a phone service. Ok so your outside year round? Like during blizzards and stuff? All day? Wow that sounds fun where do I sign? Oh and also your not paying for my transportation to get to these places? Sounds great.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Marketing specialist

    May 18, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This place is absolutely terrible. They will make the title seem like it is a marketing positions, but it is a position with you walking around selling cell phones to homeless people. DO NOT WASTE YOUR COLLEGE DEGREE.

    Cons

    This place is using people. They bring people in and those people leave real fast once they realize what they got into. Do not waste your time with this pathetic joke of a company.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 52 Reviews

Zengo & Co Reviews FAQs

Zengo & Co has an overall rating of 3.5 out of 5, based on over 57 reviews left anonymously by employees. 63% of employees would recommend working at Zengo & Co to a friend and 58% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Zengo & Co employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.1 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Zengo & Co. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

63% of Zengo & Co employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Zengo & Co 3.1 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.5 for culture and values and 3.7 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Zengo & Co to be benefits, management, career development and the cons to be work life balance, culture, compensation.

Work at Zengo & Co? Share Your Experiences

or

Zengo & Co Photos

+ Add Photo
Zengo & Co photo of: Leadership training
Zengo & Co photo of: Making Plans in New Jersey!
Zengo & Co photo of: Superbowl Fever Hits Zengo and Co!
Zengo & Co photo of: Working Hard in the Chicago Office
Zengo & Co photo of: Zengo and co Conference in Michigan
Zengo & Co photo of: the Zengo and Co top performers
Zengo & Co photo of: Zengo and Co attend Leadership seminar
See All Photos