Zillow Reviews in San Francisco, CA | Glassdoor

Zillow San Francisco Reviews

Updated January 16, 2017
22 reviews

Filter

Filter

San Francisco, CA Area

4.5
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO

22 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • Work/Life Balance is harder to achieve purely because the program is so involved, and needs to cover a huge range of hours (in 13 reviews)

  • Managers that have been there for years are lazy and if you report this to HR you get let go (in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (3)

    "Great Place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great team to work with. Helpful, friendly atmosphere (ZG is a team sport)
    Challenging work
    Open environment. Your opinion is valued
    Love the communication from the management (turn on the lights)
    Fast paced work. Immediate impact (move fast, think big) and at the same time good work/life balance
    Excellent benefits.
    Free breakfast daily. Lunch and Happy hours every friday. Yoga onsite.

    Cons

    Commute from south/east bay is time-consuming and while Zillow does reimburse the cost, it would be great if they start shuttle services like other companies in the bay.

    Zillow Response

    Jan 10, 2017 – CEO (Spencer Rascoff)

    Thank you for the great review. Definitely hear you on commuting inconvenience. Perhaps someday, as we get even bigger, we can do this.


  2. Helpful (2)

    "IT Role"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Support Specialist in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - IT Support Specialist in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Amazing benefits, good pay, fun people, and great opportunity for career growth. Thorough hiring process, so I felt like I was right for the job, and the job was right for me.

    Cons

    Location - downtown SF is quite a commute, although the office is close to a BART station.

    While public transportation is covered as a benefit, the only option for parking is a FSA. It would be great if mileage and parking were covered as an alternative for people who drive.


  3. Helpful (3)

    "Pretty awesome"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Working at Zillow means I am treated with respect, given flexibility (esp since I have a family), have probably the best benefits and perks out there, and genuinely don't dread going to work everyday!

    Cons

    There has been a lot of change over the last few years and acquisitions are hard. It is what it is.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up. Keep putting culture and people first. You're doing a great job! Thank you!

    Zillow Response

    Jan 10, 2017 – CEO (Spencer Rascoff)

    Thank you!!


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Invaluable Experience"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Data Scientist in San Francisco, CA
    Former Intern - Data Scientist in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow as an intern (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Brilliantly organized program, there were constant events, and programs to get us familiar with the industry and bond the team. I was instantly made to feel like a valuable member of the team working on meaningful tasks. The benefits were also more than anyone could ask for and the office is a very fun and comfortable place to be.

    It was so great that I continued to work at Zillow following my internship.

    Cons

    It is a big company, but they really do their best to make it feel like intimate teams and keep the culture strong.

    Zillow Response

    Oct 5, 2016 – VP, Rental Platform

    I'll second the comment that our San Francisco office is fun and comfortable, and it's hard to beat our location just a block from Montgomery St BART. Thanks for leaving a such a positive review ... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    "What you do, matters"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - XXX Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - XXX Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow (Less than a year)

    Pros

    As a new hire, Zillow Group gives me the best working experience! What you do here at ZG matter to billions of people and you can really feel the opportunity and ownership. Of course, at ZG we have great work-life balance and great pay! :)

    Cons

    Can't think of any :)

    Advice to Management

    Let's keep doing what is good and make Zillow Group even better!

    Zillow Response

    Sep 30, 2016 – CTO

    Welcome to Zillow Group! Thank you for providing some early feedback. I am glad you are off to a great start and taking ownership we drive down into our team seriously. Innovation happens in our ... More


  7. "Best Company I've Ever Worked For!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    I couldn't ask for better work/life balance, culture, benefits, location, leadership and opportunities. This company is hands-down, the best company I've ever worked for.

    Cons

    I can't think of any real cons. The only negative thing is the commute for South Bay employees, but the Transbay Terminal (cal train) and San Jose bart station are going to be up in the next year or two.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. We're headed in the right direction, and I can only see more growth from here.

    Zillow Response

    Jun 1, 2016 – VP and GM, Rentals

    So glad to hear you're having a great experience! We believe in working hard on meaningful problems, but the culture, benefits, and everything else matter so much as well. Dan, VP Rentals


  8. "Great Interview Process"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Great benefit package
    - Amazing location in the financial district of San Francisco
    - Great people
    - Competitive pay

    Cons

    None so far. Everything is great

    Zillow Response

    Jun 15, 2016 – VP, Recruiting

    I'm so glad to hear your interview experience was positive and that things are going well so far. Thanks for leaving a review here too, we appreciate it!! Annie - VP Recruiting


  9. Helpful (3)

    "Really great for Millennials"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Zillow full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Popular Brand. Interesting industry. Room for improvement. Great parties. Industry leader. Growing. Diverse workplace. Nationwide. Multiple brands.

    Cons

    Basically another company that owes it's existence to Google Maps. Its a good company, but there are people doing cooler things with their time. Also, lots of typical tech bro culture and perhaps age bias.

    Advice to Management

    Shake off the tech bro attitude and culture. There are way cooler people in this world who are also great employees.

    Zillow Response

    Apr 26, 2016 – VP and GM, Rentals

    Thanks for the review. We work hard to make sure that we're solving meaningful problems in the real world. Buying, selling, and renting are all important processes that impact millions of people but ... More


  10. "Quickly evolving environment, exciting opportunities"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - highly motivated and positive attitudes of colleagues
    - culture of continuous feedback
    - collaboration and innovation is encouraged across teams
    - dog-friendly workplace

    Cons

    - some disorganization and unclear communication across brands

    Zillow Response

    Jan 22, 2016 – VP and GM, Rentals

    Glad things are going so well! Good feedback on communication. We organize in smaller teams because we believe that's most efficient, but this approach makes communication across even more ... More


  11. Helpful (2)

    "Love it"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Exec team is super accessible. Love the free food. Really data driven. The company is willing to do what it takes to really win. Super smart people leading the org.

    Cons

    Hard to connect with peers on other teams. I think I could learn a lot more if I got to hang out with folks doing what I'm doing on other teams.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up. But may be its time to throw a few bones to wall street.

    Zillow Response

    Jan 11, 2016 – VP and GM, Rentals

    Thanks for the review and I'm so glad things seem to be going well. To your point on connecting with other teams - I'm glad to hear you're interested. We have a ton of talented people in our ... More



Showing 22 of 518 reviews
Reset Filters