Zillow Employee Reviews about "great benefits"

Updated Dec 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
84%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Zillow CEO Rich Barton
Rich Barton
166 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "none / work-life balance is great and the stock is great too(in 20 reviews)

  • "Then upper management says asks why security hasn't solved for X problem(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "great benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great work environment and management"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Business Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great salaries and a corporate culture which greatly places a focus on the employee experience. Receptive management and a constantly changing, exciting work environment. Great benefits in and outside the office.

    Cons

    No serious cons, work can be stressful at times but that is the case with any serious job.

    Zillow Response

    December 16, 2020Zillow

    As we work from home, "work environment" is about how we behave and how we work together. This is what defines the employee experience. I have been very impressed to see that as much as we loved our spaces in the office, our culture is our people and that hasn't changed. -VP of Recruiting

  2. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, various office locations, different technologies, refreshers

    Cons

    many young interns, bad dentist insurance

    Zillow Response

    September 23, 2020Zillow

    Thank you for taking a moment to leave a review. Your feedback is appreciated! -VP, Recruiting


  3. "great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time

    Pros

    Culture, innovation, teamwork. So many great benefits. Overall great place to work.

    Cons

    Really no cons to working for ZG!

    Zillow Response

    September 21, 2020Zillow

    I'm glad Zillow has been a great experience for you. It means you're in the right place and we are happy you are here. -VP, Recruiting

  4. "Offers more than just a (steady) paycheck to it's employees!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Real Estate Transaction Manager in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Zillow truly lives by it's core values and encourages all employees to keep those top of mind in everything we do. It is a very inclusive environment with many committees to join and get involved even outside of the workspace. Personal and professional growth is encouraged with numerous courses and trainings available for all (at any level). Management works hard to improve and support their teams and encourages feedback. Great benefits. It feels like the company really cares about the well-being and health of it's people by offering additional days off to recharge and free resources for mental health. Even though it's a large company, we hear from the C-level execs and CEO on a regular basis. In being forced to have the majority of the company transition to WFH, they provided a lot of extra resources for employees to get comfortable and stay connected.

    Cons

    It is hard to know what your next steps could be in career development, with there being so many different orgs and opportunities. It's a very large company and if you don't work directly with certain teams or departments, you don't know what a lot of your fellow co-workers do.

    Zillow Response

    September 10, 2020Zillow

    I'm glad you feel valued during this time. We've always said our employees are our strongest asset - and we do appreciate how committed our employees are. This time is asking for so much from all of us - personally and professionally. Our goal is to support our employees so they can be their best. Please know that we are here to support you. -VP, Recruiting

  5. "Death by quotas"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Account Executive 

    I worked at Zillow full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and lots of perks

    Cons

    Impossible quotas with a boiler room feel

    Zillow Response

    September 21, 2020Zillow

    I'm sorry to hear the experience wasn't great for you. I appreciate your honest review and the dedicated years you spend with our company. Best of luck on your next adventure. -VP, Recruiting

  6. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, culture, and products

    Cons

    Can be hard to advance from the bottom up

    Zillow Response

    August 21, 2020Zillow

    Thanks for your taking the time to give Zillow a shout out. I'm glad it's been a good experience for you! - VP, Recruiting

  7. Helpful (3)

    "call center job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Seattle, WA

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, really nice coworkers & managers, candy wall!

    Cons

    It's hard to move up from this position. They want you to stay in customer service for a long time before they allow you to even apply for something else. So if growth is what you're looking for, maybe look at some other positions. The company is great overall though.

    Zillow Response

    August 10, 2020Zillow

    If you are looking to grow into a new opportunity, I encourage you to speak with your manager or our internal mobility team and begin to explore your next chapter here at Zillow. The Internal Mobility team is made up a recruiters dedicated specifically to helping our employees identify new roles, opportunities and even point you in the right direction if there are skills or additional development needed. Reach out. They are here to help. - VP, Recruiting

  8. COVID-19
    Helpful (5)

    "Chaotic and very limiting. . . You need to be optimistic to enjoy the role"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advisor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and when culture is good, it’s very good. You will meet some of the best individuals you have ever met when working at Zillow with diverse experience. There is a lot to learn from all of these individuals and I wish management would take that into consideration more. There are some good engaging activities that take place, some better than others. Zillow has handled COVID19 well for us all. The recent announcement about being able to work from home until the end of 2020 took a lot of stress off of a lot of employees. Would be great if Zillow would honor WFH indefinitely. I enjoy my position more working from home because productivity has increased and I am able to focus on the important things such as... my work. You are given metrics for the work that you do which can be rewarding.

    Cons

    Be sure before taking the position as a Zillow Offers Advisor that you throughly understand the position. The position itself can feel entirely draining at times because it will never be explained to you that it’s essentially a call center. Day to day rules can change in an instant with your workflow. Things you were told the day before do not matter. That comes with working at a start up, but understand they will not honor their word and everything is changing at a constant. One day you will be told that something doesn’t matter and the next day it does. I sometimes think it depends on your mangers attitude towards you that day. There is a lot of playing “favorites” in the office. I also think great intentions have been set for culture, but everyone has to play along or it will never work well. It’s a very big tattletale culture. Growth is not encouraged in the advisor role. Your manager will stunt your growth if it means benefiting them with your numbers. I have heard from multiple advisors that they feel their concern for growth isn’t taken into consideration. It is very disheartening when you work incredibly hard day in and day out and you will never be considered for more than the advisor role. Promotions to management or lead positions are few and far between. I know they are working on this, but you will be told false info to try to keep you in the role. A lot of whispering amongst management in the office. . .WFH has alleviated that stress a lot. I also wish the compensation plan would be geared more towards the individual and pay them as such. Sometimes you will hear what management has said about you, but they will never address their concern with you.

    Continue reading

    Zillow Response

    May 18, 2020President, Zillow

    I appreciate your thoughtful and balanced feedback, and I take the insights you've shared here seriously. Within Zillow Offers, there are both exciting and challenging tasks ahead, and this will require our teams to iterate, optimize and establish new ways of working together. There's more work to do here, but we're committed to providing our employees the support, training and mentorship they need to do the best work of their careers. -- Jeremy Wacksman

  9. Helpful (9)

    "It is really a roll of the dice"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, okay pay, wonderful location

    Cons

    Depends which org you end up, members of my org from directors down to IC who have been there for the past 5years create a super political toxic environment. Dead end career and too much negative talking.

    Continue reading

    Zillow Response

    April 25, 2020CPO

    Thanks for your review - I am disappointed to hear your experience. If you would be willing to give me more detail please reach out to me at dans@zillowgroup.com .

  10. Helpful (9)

    "Average tech company problems"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Great benefits Med, stock, 401K, Dental, Vision -Great opportunities to learn and grow with Linkedin classes, manager trainings, conference budgets etc. - Direct manager is great and supportive when needed - Collaborators are skilled and eager to work together to get the work done

    Cons

    There are a lot of typical tech company problems and some that are unique to Zillow. - Hours: expect to work 50-60 hours, not 40 - Not family friendly - Turnover is high even for tech - Firings are common - Fast turnarounds with lots of churn on work - Teams are overextended and sometimes, unhappy - Lots of production, not a lot of creative work - 4-6 hours of meetings a day leaving little time to design - Too many meetings. This is a big one. Here is the typical approval process: A project will need to be approved by your manager (very typical and necessary), then in a separate meeting, pitched to your mgr's mgr (no problem), and in a separate meeting, pitched to your mgr's mgr's mgr (am I in the movie Office Space? Why can't this be in the same meeting?), then pitched to stakeholders all in the span of 2 days and incorporating all mgr feedback along the way. This happens about 3 rounds a project and never happens in the same meeting. After that, it's simple math. You must schedule 4 separate meetings for each of the 3 rounds of feedback, that's 12 meetings for a month long project. Let's say you are assigned to 6-10 projects. That's conservatively, 72 meetings for 6 projects a month divided by 20 working days which equals 3-4 mgr meetings a day plus all the normal manager 1 on 1s, team meetings and company meetings. That's why you're in 4-6 hours of meetings a day leaving 2-4 hours for design.

    Continue reading

    Zillow Response

    March 17, 2020CPO

    Thank you for your years of dedication to the company and your teams. As a 5 year veteran, you have seen a lot of changes, and right now, we're in the midst of one of the biggest changes yet. There are both exciting and challenging things ahead, but this requires new ways of doing things and working together. Specifically, as we move fast and work hard, efficiency is key. I encourage you to address this within your team and be vocal about solutions, especially given your strong relationship with your manager. Efficiency must be a priority across the company and we all need to be open to ideas here and respond. Please reach out to me at dans@zillowgroup.com if you ever want to share your thoughts. - Dan Spaulding

Viewing 1 - 10 of 70 English Reviews