Zillow Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Dec 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
84%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Zillow CEO Rich Barton
Rich Barton
164 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "none / work-life balance is great and the stock is great too(in 20 reviews)

  • "Then upper management says asks why security hasn't solved for X problem(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "good internship"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Internship in Seattle, WA

    I worked at Zillow

    Pros

    has good work life balance

    Cons

    no no no no no

  2. Helpful (4)

    "Zillow is good but it leaves a lot to be desired."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Market Analyst in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good benefits - Great work-life balance

    Cons

    -internal mobility is not great -Pay is OK but not great

    Zillow Response

    January 8, 2021Zillow

    If you are looking to grow into a new opportunity, I encourage you to speak with your manager or our Internal Mobility team and begin to explore your next chapter here at Zillow. The Internal Mobility team is made up a recruiters dedicated specifically to helping our employees identify new roles, opportunities and even point you in the right direction if there are skills or additional development needed. Please reach out, as we are here to help. -VP, Recruiting


  3. "Good work environment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Database Developer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zillow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Mostly great co-workers. Good management. Very nice facilities. Very good work/life balance.

    Cons

    It is less diverse than one would expect from a high tech player in Seattle. They do a good job hiring, paying, and promoting women, which is good. but it's very white. Cross-leg collaboration should be better, too.

    Zillow Response

    December 16, 2020Zillow

    Thanks for sharing your feedback. One of the things that makes me most proud to work at Zillow is the commitment to a culture of equity and belonging. While I think we do a lot of things right, we're never done, we never "arrive" and we will always strive to build a more diverse and inclusive workplace. -VP of Recruiting

  4. "n/a"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Market Analyst in Seattle, WA

    I worked at Zillow full-time

    Pros

    good culture and work life balance

    Cons

    need to be generally more transparent with workforce

    Zillow Response

    November 6, 2020Zillow

    I wish you luck in your next step. Thanks for taking a moment to share a review. -VP of Recruiting

  5. "Great workplace"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance with advancements within company

    Cons

    Too many snacks to choose from when in office

    Zillow Response

    October 19, 2020Zillow

    If too many snacks is the worst issue, I think we're in a good place. But ensuring we're focusing on creating opportunities for employees to learn and grow is more essential than ever. I'm glad Zillow has been a good experience for you and hope that you continue to grow your career with us. - VP of Recruiting

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Life Changing Career"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Consultant in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance, culture, company mission, rocket ships, compensation, benefits - everything else.

    Cons

    I can’t imagine working for another company.

    Continue reading

    Zillow Response

    October 19, 2020Zillow

    That's a headline that makes all the work we do worth it. It's not just customers that we serve, it's employees and their families. I hope Zillow continues to make a positive and meaningful impact in your life. -VP of Recruiting

  7. "Great Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Connection Specialist in Centennial, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The benefits are AMAZING! You get Company Shares day 1 and access at 1 year and periodically thereafter, get 100% of your Medical Coverage paid for by Zillow (unless you want to increase your plan), 4 months of Maternal and Paternal Leave 100% paid, Medical leave of absence at 60% of wages, Culture is amazing, Progressive when it comes to diversity and safe spaces for all walks of life.

    Cons

    none / work-life balance is great and the stock is great too.

    Zillow Response

    October 19, 2020Zillow

    I think we collectively feel the energy of our forward momentum. It's an exciting time to be at Zillow. I'm glad you're part of it. -VP of Recruiting

  8. COVID-19
    Helpful (2)

    "One of the best places to work in Seattle"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Health, Dental, and Eye Care plans are top of the line -Benefits and perks in general at Zillow lead many larger tech companies like Amazon and Microsoft (more so before COVID-19 and WFH) -Company recognition of the importance of a sensible work-life balance -Sense of community within the company, even while working remotely -Indefinite work-from-home option -Company-wide efforts to improve WFH flexibility outside of typical 9-5 hours, especially for parents -The majority of the individuals that you work with are great people, inside and out of work. There is certainly a Zillow-factor for the type of people that are hired here. -Transparency from senior leadership -Diversity & Inclusion is highly valued and practiced

    Cons

    -Business roles do not receive the same degree of competitiveness as tech roles when it comes to compensation -As the company grows, most All Company meetings are beginning to feel more and more like stakeholder presentations compared to the exciting and inclusive update meetings held in the prior years -Upper management is largely dialing down on employee events like Holiday/Summer parties and ZG conferences to cut down on expenses, leaving company-wide morale noticeably lower than previous years -The amount of diversity seen in the workforce at Zillow does not match the amount of diversity seen in executive leadership

    Continue reading

    Zillow Response

    September 10, 2020Zillow

    Allowing employees the flexibility to work from home indefinitely also means that opens us to being not just a great place to work in Seattle, but a great place for great talent anywhere. That's very exciting and lets us really expand our searches to ensure we're bringing in great and diverse talent. Thank you for what you shared here. You have some really great points that I will share with Crystal Tomczyk, our VP of Equity & Belonging. -VP, Recruiting

  9. "Good overall"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Machine Learning Engineer Intern in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zillow for less than a year

    Pros

    Supportive team and manager, friendly environment, good work life balance

    Cons

    Not enough inter-team communications due to remote

    Zillow Response

    September 23, 2020Zillow

    Sounds like you had a valuable experience as an Intern at Zillow. Finding ways for to feel connected while working remotely is one of our biggest priorities and challenges during this time. If you haven't already, it would be great for you to share with the Intern team, your insights on what kind of communication and cadence would have helped you. As employees now have the option to work remote indefinitely, I know the team would value your feedback. - VP, Recruiting

  10. COVID-19

    "Excellent leadership and strategic direction"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Data Scientist in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zillow full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Leadership is focused on investment in the right areas - Radically open and honest communication about strategic priorities and decisions - Empowered to make my own decisions about what to work on, what to do differently - Most people I work with are really smart - Excellent tech stack for data professionals - Good work/life balance if you advocate for your needs

    Cons

    - No more office snacks and perks thanks to COVID :(

    Continue reading

    Zillow Response

    September 10, 2020Zillow

    I appreciate you sharing your about your experience. Culture is much more than snacks... but snacks are always nice -- and I miss them too. Hang in there! -VP, Recruiting

Viewing 1 - 10 of 137 English Reviews