KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Zimmerman Advertising

Is this your company?

Zimmerman Advertising

Add a Review

Zimmerman Advertising Reviews

Updated Jul 26, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 614 of over 691 reviews

3.2
62%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Zimmerman Advertising Founder and Chairman  Jordan Zimmerman
Jordan Zimmerman
34 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fast paced and outgoing work environment(in 43 reviews)

  • "Great people and nice perks from Zimmerman(in 41 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Terrible work/life balance, terrible pay(in 39 reviews)

  • "What really made it worse was that I worked long hours for 2 pro-bono accounts(in 39 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Zimmerman Advertising and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Don't Listen to the Negative Reviews

      Jan 8, 2021 - Media Planner in Fort Lauderdale, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture, plenty of development and room for growth

      Cons

      some processes are overcomplicated, other than that no Cons

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Off to a superb start

      Jun 23, 2021 - Account Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Overall vibe in the collective office at HQ is really positive. Everyone is genuinely happy and kind. The team I am specifically on is really amazing. I honestly feel like I hit the lotto being with such a supportive and helpful group. The HR Director really did an outstanding job with determining where I would fit best based on my background and past experiences.

      Cons

      I have yet to experience any cons and my intuition tells me that I do not foresee any in the future. The transition was smooth. Everyone I have encountered within my department and outside of my department is genuinely nice.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Sweat Shop

      Jul 26, 2021 - Junior Account Executive in Fort Lauderdale, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They give you a shot on well known clients. A lot of the pit is younger group that will become your friends.

      Cons

      Pretty much everything. High turnover, high burnout rate, men run the office, and you are simply a "part of a machine." But if you're into that good luck.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Traumatizing experience

      May 23, 2021 - Account Coordinator in Fort Lauderdale, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Big office, nice building, free coffee.

      Cons

      LOW pay — you are either overworked, under trained, or BOTH. Management does NOT care about you. Their turnover rate is SCARY. My hiring class was forced to read Jordan Zimmerman’s biography in under week, on top of our regular work duties, then sit with him and INTERVIEW him about his book. Self-absorbed, narcissistic founder of this company. You can be fired for no reason, no explanation at all. I was called into the HR office on a Friday afternoon, fired with NO explanation as to why. When I asked, their response was, “we don’t need to give you an explanation when you are in a trial period.” I could not even go back to my desk to retrieve my things — someone from HR had to gather my things and bring them back to me. I was escorted out of the building at 2 PM — again, absolutely no explanation as to why I was fired. I was mortified. I was never trained for the work I was supposedly hired to do. Perhaps they over hired and did not realize it? It was my first real job out of college and the experience was absolutely disheartening and traumatizing. Do NOT be fooled with the big fancy office and false image of a top marketing agency — this company is going downhill and even their big clients have realized it. Nissan, their pride and joy of a client, fired Zimmerman Advertising in 2019, maybe just as they would fire you.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Macro Culture is Sexist, Racist, and Toxic

      Jun 25, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I had an amazing manager who I adore so the micro culture was why I stayed so long. If you get in with a really good team, you could get lucky but you will still be severely underpaid and be forced to work late hours. When I left this job I got a $30K raise because of how severely I was underpaid.

      Cons

      Google "Business Insider Zimmerman Advertising"...... Turnover here is SOOO bad. I saw waves of people come and go. Eventually I gave up, couldn't keep up with all the new people, who by the way, you will be in charge of training. Insurance is SO expensive. Total joke. So underpaid you can barely afford to live in the area. VERY old school agency. If you're interested in learning digital media, don't do it here. TV is king, leadership is old white guys.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Not worth it

      Jul 2, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Fort Lauderdale, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are a few really good people to work with and learn from in this agency. If you can succeed here, you can anywhere.

      Cons

      - High Turn Over - Insurance cost is ridiculous - Raises and promotions don’t exist unless Management likes you or fears you are leaving - Rewards bad behavior - No Training, it’s a sink or swim environment - Under Paid & Overworked - etc

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Good place to start but not where you should stay

      May 10, 2021 - Graphic Designer in Fort Lauderdale, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great place to start and learn. I do have to admit that I got a lot of great experience here. - While there are a lot of problematic people, there are also some great people you can learn from. - Pretty much everyone I worked with was open to teaching you, answering any questions, and helping out when needed. - Good benefits and time off.

      Cons

      - A bit of a toxic work environment and problematic company culture. - A total boy's club. - You only get promoted if you're liked by the right person or spent years fighting for a promotion/raise to the point where you're threatening to quit. - The company has been rightfully called out for sexism and racism in the work environment but has done nothing to actually address it. - No respect for work/life balance. While we get a lot of time off, they will guilt you for using it. And they guilt you into working many late nights and weekends.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Probably not going to change

      Jun 17, 2021 - Digital Media Planner 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There is a lot of opportunity for growth if you are one of the lucky ones

      Cons

      Upper management doesn't listen to the needs of the employees. There were a lot of bad hires that were just brushed under the rug and then others had to pick up the slack. Some people get promoted every five minutes while others are stuck even if they are more deserving.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Overworked and Underpaid

      May 11, 2021 - Account Coordinator in Fort Lauderdale, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice building and loved my coworkers

      Cons

      They recruit young people out of college knowing we would be excited to work for a large agency with minimal experience and knowingly pay us next to nothing and work you 24/7 (seriously!). They make all new hires sit through an orientation with the company owner, where he talks about his personal struggles and then brags about his multi-million dollar sports car collection - knowing he's underpaying all of us. Hours were 9-6 but we'd be lucky to be out by 7 most days. Getting the weekend call/email that a client needs a change was treated as completely normal, we were expected to be willing to sacrifice all of our remaining free time to the company and asking about overtime pay will get you laughed at. No holiday bonuses, either.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Place to Learn

      Jun 15, 2021 - Account Supervisor in Fort Lauderdale, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very bright co-works, great clients, cool office

      Cons

      overcomplicated processes, long hours, top heavy org structure

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 614 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Zimmerman Advertising Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Zimmerman Advertising? Share Your Experiences

    or