Zimmerman Associates Reviews | Glassdoor

Zimmerman Associates Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Mary Blevins
6 Ratings
  1. "Terrific experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zimmerman Associates full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Manager allows self-directed work, no micro-management, streamlined administrative processes.

    Cons

    I have experienced no negatives working at Zimmerman Associates, Inc.

    Zimmerman Associates2018-07-23
  2. "Contract project was great; ZAI not so much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Librarian in Washington, DC
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zimmerman Associates full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great to get experience; loved the job itself; out of all the contract companies for federal agency libraries, Zimmerman isn't the worst out there.

    Cons

    Little opportunity for growth in the long run

    Zimmerman Associates2019-05-22
  3. "Benefits Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zimmerman Associates full-time

    Pros

    Excellent pay and good benefits

    Cons

    None identified so far since being here

    Zimmerman Associates2019-02-27
  4. "Regulatory Data Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zimmerman Associates full-time

    Pros

    Very easy going atmosphere, Everyone is very friendly and if you learn fast you catch on to it very fast.

    Cons

    No part time positions

    Zimmerman Associates2018-11-26
  5. Helpful (1)

    "RUN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zimmerman Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No pros except for the PM and a handful of other employees.

    Cons

    The entire management structure. No opportunity for growth professionally or training and development opportunities. A lot of favoritism among supervisors and team leads, and no accountability or communication.

    Advice to Management

    Compensate employees better, and offer more PTO.

    Zimmerman Associates2018-07-25
  6. "Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrator in Alexandria, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zimmerman Associates full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    10 holidays off and paid every year.

    Cons

    No raise or bonus in the 3 years I've worked here.

    Zimmerman Associates2018-04-09
  7. "Good money for the area"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Clerk III in Martinsburg, WV
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zimmerman Associates full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Full benefits, room for movement, easier work, above average job security, stable unbiased pay grades, amicable co-workers, semi-flexible shifts.

    Cons

    Some unpleasant HR reps, no wage negotiation, occasional government shutdown layoff, boring paper pusher job, no raises unless promoted, all stick no carrot.

    Advice to Management

    We need a major morale change. I'm not sure how to go about it but combine the constant demand for increased production with no change in wages and the increasing cost of living in the panhandle and you have a sinking ship. Some people can't afford to work here any more and while I know that's more the GSA's problem, I want the morale boost to hear that my company is fighting for me or something.

    Zimmerman Associates2018-01-30
  8. "Average rating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zimmerman Associates full-time

    Pros

    Human resources is highly responsive

    Cons

    Benefits not comparable to other contractors, doesn't allow overtime

    Zimmerman Associates2018-01-19
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Hypocrisy at best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fairfax, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zimmerman Associates full-time

    Pros

    The job is easy and the stress of it isnt high

    Cons

    Hypocrisy and favoritism. If one isnt a kiss up or good friend of upper management then dont believe for a second that there could be a thought of promotion. The promoted were people who are incompetent, save for a few, and who act as if it is high school and a clique. And now it is filling up with pure friends and family, so any drama that can exist is brought to everyone’s attention. Do not even try to complain about...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop all the cliqueing type attitude. Hold the managers to a higher standard and stop the hostile environment that currently exists. It is clear that while some may find it great, a vast majority may feel intimidated to even say anything due to upper management telling others about what was said in confidence.

    Zimmerman Associates2017-12-09
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Family and Friends One Stop Shop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zimmerman Associates full-time

    Pros

    Decent pay, Low stress, Nice location

    Cons

    The job itself is not stressful at all. In fact, the work is very easy and redundant. There is room to move up in the company since they make sure to hire within. The issue stems from the obvious favoritism and open doors for friends and family of the upper management team. I haven't been here long and the trend is sickingly obvious. If you know someone, you're hired. If you REALLY know someone, you're promoted. The rest...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take courses on ethics and equal opportunity and stop hiring your friends and family. It makes for a seriously hostile work environment.

    Zimmerman Associates2017-12-06
Found 30 reviews