Zingerman's Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Zingerman's Reviews

Updated Jul 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
76%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Zingerman's CEO Ari Weinzweig (no image)
Ari Weinzweig
40 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great food, professional environment, learn from some of the best in the business(in 3 reviews)

  • "Work with great people that really do care about the food and the service that they produce(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "All retail jobs have the same issues but I have never experienced the arrogance of the Zingermans culture(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zingerman's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Treat employees with care Great systems Great Training Very patient

    Cons

    Keep on listening to your employees

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you do

    Zingerman's2019-07-07
  2. "A very welcoming and upbeat enviroment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Associate in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zingerman's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, Great food, Good pay, Nice Hours

    Cons

    I really didn't experience any.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing a good job.

    Zingerman's2019-06-23
  3. "A great Place to work and learn about food if you dont mind barely making enough money to be happy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Zingerman's full-time

    Pros

    knowledge of food is greatly increased and you'll have great coworkers

    Cons

    unpredictable hours, very little mobility, if you work hard for several years you can maybe make it up to 13.50

    Advice to Management

    pay people more, if I work at a place where buying a single sandwich costs more than I make in two hours something is wrong

    Zingerman's2019-06-15
  4. "Great Place to Be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zingerman's full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Laid-back culture and atmosphere.

    Cons

    Resistance to change in processes and improvements at times.

    Zingerman's2019-05-03
  5. "Like family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Event Planner 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zingerman's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Open book finance, shared responsibility, discounts

    Cons

    Long hours, stressful situations, sometimes some pushback from upper management

    Zingerman's2019-04-24
  6. "Seasonal mail order warehouse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Employee in Ann Arbor, MI

    I worked at Zingerman's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Upbeat supervisors, good music, lunch and snacks provided. Overtime pay. Some ten hour days but time goes by pretty fast.

    Cons

    Worked twenty days in row without a break. Christmas crunch time.

    Zingerman's2019-02-17
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Not greasy, Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zingerman's

    Pros

    They do what they can to make sure that they’re staff is meeting full time if desired. Friendly staff, not much drama.

    Cons

    Management doesn’t care about employees too much. They have a great theory and want to say that they do- but they don’t treat them that well. Be aware when you’re getting taken advantage of. Benefits aren’t great. Non livable wages.

    Zingerman's2019-02-22
  8. "Good Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zingerman's part-time

    Pros

    Get discounts on the food, people are super nice, great company

    Cons

    Nothing about this place is a con

    Zingerman's2018-12-21
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Zingerman's

    Pros

    Great food, professional environment, learn from some of the best in the business

    Cons

    Not all employees are held to the same standards; raises hard to come by; training opportunities not as wide as they purport to be

    Zingerman's2018-12-29
  10. "Fun holiday job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Holiday Service Star in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zingerman's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Feel good atmosphere, Kind co-workers, Well-organized, Growth-oriented, Delicious food

    Cons

    Management is a little cliquey

    Zingerman's2018-12-10
Found 55 reviews