Zions Bancorporation Peak-time Teller Reviews | Glassdoor

Zions Bancorporation Reviews

Updated Aug 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 335 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Zions Bancorporation CEO Harris H. Simmons
Harris H. Simmons
195 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Too Slow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in West Valley City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zions Bancorporation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Relaxed environment, nice people, and no reviews in IT.

    Cons

    Promote unskilled people to leadership instead of recruiting from outside. Benefits are easily among the worst in the valley for comparably sized companies, especially if you are a tech person

    Advice to Management

    Make employees come to the office, "remote work" is a literal joke for most employees.

    Zions Bancorporation2019-06-19
  2. Helpful (5)

    "It's a great place to work if you're a woman."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zions Bancorporation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Nice people, nice 401(k) match.

    Cons

    You only get promoted if you're a woman. There is a huge emphasis on promoting women and creating a diverse workplace. However, men get left behind.

    Advice to Management

    Hire the best candidate for the position.

    Zions Bancorporation2019-06-12
  3. "Great Work Life Balance, Not great compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zions Bancorporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility in schedule and great expectation of hours. Fantastic mentor ship and growth opportunities.

    Cons

    Poor benefit package; no bonuses allowed for junior level employees. Executives have really poor communication to employees

    Advice to Management

    Improving direct communication will greatly improve morale and culture. Improve the benefit package/compensation to be competitive

    Zions Bancorporation2019-05-25
  4. "Pretty decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Helpdesk in West Valley City, UT
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zions Bancorporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pretty decent place to work. Good entry-level opportunities, very good pay considering most of the people working there do not have any type of IT background at all

    Cons

    Great company that is supposedly family friendly. I would definitely not consider them family-friendly. Very easy to be black though if you are a single mom or someone that needs extra time off due to whatever reason. They use that scaling system that is called occurrences much many companies are transitioning too.

    Advice to Management

    Unfortunately with this particular department, it is an income earning department. The HR department has much more control over employees than management does This is very unfortunate as many good employees are lost as a result

    Zions Bancorporation2019-05-21
  5. "this good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zions Bancorporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    this good place to work

    Cons

    no bad things to say

    Zions Bancorporation2019-05-17
  6. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Wires Specialist in West Valley City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zions Bancorporation full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Looks out for employees Likes to promote within Community driven Listens to your opinions

    Cons

    Not best health insurance-getting better Focused on degrees a little to much Turn over can be a little high

    Zions Bancorporation2019-05-10
  7. "Overall great company but can be unfulfilling."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Model Risk Analyst in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zions Bancorporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the best, most friendly colleagues I've ever met. Provides reinvestment opportunities. Wonderful work/life balance. Best boss I've ever worked for.

    Cons

    Can get a bit boring during the slow periods. Benefits are a bit lackluster.

    Zions Bancorporation2019-04-19
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Enjoyed my time there, overall a positive experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Systems Analyst in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zions Bancorporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Met some great people there. Enjoyed each of my managers in different ways. Some of the departments have a strong culture of improving the business processes and have people who will listen and work with you. I felt encouraged to look for ways to innovate. The company does great things locally, and I felt proud to say I work for Zions. My list of cons below are a bit lengthy and specific, but I want to stress...

    Show More

    Cons

    The health insurance is a slap in the face and beyond laughable. I personally knew of many of my former coworkers who left and this was reason number 1 on their list of reasons for leaving. Year after year, management would survey employees for feedback, and this was a constant issue that was addressed only in a very superficial way, meeting a bare minimum so management could tell us they were listening to our complaints...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Compensate your employees. I just did not feel that the company really cares about doing what it takes to keep highly talented employees at all levels. Get more aggressive about offering promotions, better compensation, and above all, humane health insurance.

    Zions Bancorporation2019-04-23
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Sliding in to old bad habits, poor pay, complex, cumbersome and slow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Technology Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Zions Bancorporation full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Not much lately. I'm actually really struggling to come up with anything.

    Cons

    The bancorp continues to cut expenses through compensation and benefits. They have major projects that are nearly 10 years overdue. Their Simple, Easy and fast initiative is anything but that. Zions is complex, cumbersome and slow. They have been updating technology which as been a major concern. However, they still make poor choices. They tend to value vendors that are based in Utah, not because they are local. They...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Your burning out people who once truly cared about making the bank successful.

    Zions Bancorporation2019-05-10
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Definitely in need of some new blood."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Zions Bancorporation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The culture is okay as you have a lot of people who have been with the bank many years and are very loyal to the organization so it can help your department feel like a “family” depending on which one you are in. Some developmental growth is possible but that seriously depends on how hard you try and your dept./manager.

    Cons

    Compensation is horrible and well below the industry standard for a lot of positions in operations. I don’t even want to mention the healthcare package.... They are making an effort to change and streamline the ops systems but are too cheap and don’t have enough resources to make it happen in a realistic time frame. You will be dealing with a lot of slow and outdated systems. Lots of folks that have been with the bank...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get young professionals that have diverse and fresh perspectives into the Bancorp to help it stay alive! Stop being cheap with benefits packages as most organizations are adapting to the increasing demand of fair compensation.

    Zions Bancorporation2019-04-12
Found 335 reviews