Zipps Sports Grill Reviews | Glassdoor

Zipps Sports Grill Reviews

Updated Jun 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Todd Goldman
9 Ratings
  1. "Great neighborhood friendly bar"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Gilbert, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zipps Sports Grill part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great staff and regulars. I loved the extra money I could make a couple of nights a week.

    Cons

    Turn over in management was an issue at one point but for the most part, I loved the staff and management.

    Zipps Sports Grill2019-06-14
  2. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Server in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends

    I have been working at Zipps Sports Grill full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pretty easy job. They work with your schedule. It is always busy. I was able to receive health benefits.

    Cons

    Management is always changing. The customer is not “always right” in their eyes, which can be very awkward for the employee. If customer some how walks out on their tab the employee will get suspended. That is their loophole for not making the employee pay for it.

    Zipps Sports Grill2019-03-11
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible OP’s team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Zipps Sports Grill

    Pros

    It’s a fun place to work for sure the environment makes it really fun.

    Cons

    Horrible treatment for Mangers you are just a number to them not a person.They make promises they can’t keep,been with the company for six months and have seen a GM or some sort of manager quit every three weeks,it’s so sad,they don’t give raises like they say,it’s a joke to work for this company stay far away.You are not heard just told to do what they say,oh don’t even get stated on the bonus,we passed our shop with...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Really listen and give raises to hard workers,especially the ones that work multiple stores traveling around bailing you out due to zero managers staying around.Stop treating all staff like numbers,owners need to be involved or if they are try harder.

    Zipps Sports Grill2019-03-05
  4. "Upper Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Server in Phoenix, AZ

    I have been working at Zipps Sports Grill part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    90% of the time, the serving shifts are great money. (February is slow.)

    Cons

    Upper Management has had a lot of turnover, even in the short time that I've been there. It causes a lot of problems.

    Advice to Management

    Hire better area managers and GMs.

    Zipps Sports Grill2019-03-03
  5. "Poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Food Server in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zipps Sports Grill part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discounted food and easy to get shift covered

    Cons

    Must know your menus by heart, many got fired for not remembering certain happy hour specials

    Zipps Sports Grill2019-01-22
  6. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Zipps Sports Grill part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stays somewhat steady year long Football season really busy Potential to make really good money if you’re a good server

    Cons

    A little strict and uptight. Owners are a little cheap

    Advice to Management

    Care about your employees more

    Zipps Sports Grill2018-12-07
  7. "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Zipps Sports Grill full-time

    Pros

    alot of good people work there

    Cons

    hrs are long and tiring

    Zipps Sports Grill2018-09-10
  8. "Zipps iii do daaa."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Bartender in Chandler, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zipps Sports Grill part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    they recognize you & schedule you based on your ability to handle the floor/your tables. If you’re good you get the best sections, best days. Your hard work is definitely noticed. Can wear normal shoes. Alot of employees have been there a long time.

    Cons

    No discount on food or alcohol when you’re off the clock. Tattoos can’t be shown.

    Advice to Management

    Change the uniform, dont be so strict about tattoos (it is a sports bar) and give your employees discounts... (they work their a**’s off & deserve it) Anyways, all in all I absolutely love Zipps forever & always.

    Zipps Sports Grill2018-09-02
  9. "Bartender"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zipps Sports Grill

    Pros

    Fun environment to chat with guests and coworkers

    Cons

    The corporate status of Zipps makes individual employees feel unheard at times, high manager turnover

    Advice to Management

    Pay managers more, don't overwork them and offer better benefits. The turnover made working for this company challenging.

    Zipps Sports Grill2017-10-18
  10. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Server in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Zipps Sports Grill part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice coworkers, busy during sports events, good happy hour, easy uniform, shifts vary, flexible schedule, many locations, not a lot of side work.

    Cons

    Poor management, poor tips if you work in the location in a bad area, food can take forever, no compensation for large parties, late hours even if it's not busy.

    Advice to Management

    Be more helpful

    Zipps Sports Grill2017-10-12
Found 32 reviews