Zocdoc "free lunch" Reviews | Glassdoor

Zocdoc Employee Reviews about "free lunch"

Updated Feb 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
46%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Zocdoc CEO and  Co-Founder Oliver Kharraz
Oliver Kharraz
135 Ratings
Pros
  • "Perks are awesome here like free lunch, free wifi etc(in 100 reviews)

  • "Great Culture, Great People, Great Leadership team and the Direct is awesome(in 41 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work/life balance is no issue for part-time employees(in 27 reviews)

  • "Very high turnover - since I left a few months ago over half my team is also gone(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "free lunch"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Great Place to be an Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zocdoc full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great (new) office space, and free snacks, free lunch, and great health coverage and vacation. I work on a great team with cool problems on interesting tech, and my teammates are friendly and supportive. My management team is always helpful and kind.

    Cons

    The fancy new office can be a drag (separated from the rest of the company....and the lunch and meeting rooms). We sometimes have to work in the legacy codebase and that's a big pain in the butt, compared to working on newer things. Company is growing, so sometimes it's hard to keep track of the best person (or team) to talk to.

    Continue reading
    Zocdoc2017-11-11
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Great People, Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zocdoc full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -used to have great benefits, but those are phasing out -decent salary -free lunch and lots of snacks, Friday happy hour in-office, etc. -convenient office

    Cons

    Constant feeling of walking on eggshells across most departments; they boast about "transparency" but bad news trickles down from upper management too late for anyone to do much about it. Leadership has great intentions but poor follow through, constant re-orgs make it difficult to know where you're going or who you'll be under in 6 months. Poorly trained/completely untrained middle management, many of whom "failed up," as mentioned before. Young workforce which could have the positive potential for creativity and innovation, but usually produces an undercurrent of competition and distrust between colleagues. It's a real shame because the mission is so great and 80% of the people you will work with are amazing, but it only takes one bad apple, as they say. You think you will outlast it - everyone does - but sooner or later most of their employees bite the dust or burn out.

    Continue reading
    Zocdoc2020-02-07
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Stay Away Company Tanking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Zocdoc full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch - paid health insurance

    Cons

    Will hurt your resume, current management is kind of a laughing stock. All four tech directors left within in one year, only one replaced. Not exactly poised for growth, Pricing structure introduced last year angered their best customers. If you like the sound of people hanging up on you this is your place. They so angered doctors they moved reception to a more secure location because of "threats", from DOCTORS. Virtually no new features in years. Since 2015 HR has lost almost 80 recruiters. In a company with only 400 people. The turnover is spectacular. Without tech talent what exactly is an internet company?

    Continue reading
    Zocdoc2019-12-18
  4. "Benefits are awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zocdoc full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    unlimited vacation, free lunch, casual attire

    Cons

    no tuition reimbursement and no 401K matching

    Zocdoc2019-10-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Management is a disaster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receptionist in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zocdoc full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people were great, and friendly. Free lunch was nice.

    Cons

    Leadership was totally lost. Upper management didn't seem to care much about solving issues long term

    Zocdoc2019-07-30
  6. Helpful (16)

    "They care about you, but don't show it in the right ways"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Integration Support Associate in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zocdoc full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Managers genuinely care about you, the people are great, there is guidance for promotion, you get free lunch, healthcare is paid for. Direct management actually listens to their employees and attempts to make changes based on their concerns.

    Cons

    They are understaffed on this team. They pay less than other companies. It can take a really really long time to move up from your current position. You cannot work from home and hours are very strict. Our position is queue-based, so there is little room for autonomy and self-guided projects (though they will give you limited time to work on this if you request it). They treat service team members like animals (former service team members report having something like PTSD from their time there). The technology department has certain perks that are not applied to this team or to the IT team.

    Continue reading
    Zocdoc2019-06-17
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Zocdoc wants robots and not independent, forward thinkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zocdoc full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Zocdoc provides great *perks* to attract and retain employees -Free lunch, snacks, and healthcare -Team happy hours, fancy all-star dinners -Great people -Brand recognition

    Cons

    -Negative culture on the sales floor -No career development, progression, or upward mobility -No professional skill development -No investment in products/tools/automation -Limited collaboration between teams -Consistent operational changes -Executives leaving at a high rate -Zocdoc does not care about paying clients, which is problematic in a client facing role

    Continue reading
    Zocdoc2019-07-06
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zocdoc full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Training programs, free lunch daily, benefits package I did have two good managers, but had over 10 managers

    Cons

    Low pay relative to the market and skill set, mismanaged expectations in terms of promotions, and terrible management as a whole.

    Continue reading
    Zocdoc2019-02-07
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zocdoc full-time

    Pros

    no dress code, free lunch everyday, full health care benefits, young company

    Cons

    used to be a fun culture with once a month happy hours however that ended. You're a telemarketer and managers invest their time in people who they think will succeed the fastest, if you have one bad month they will phase you out or fire you. Recently there has been much less of a team culture which makes a cold call sales job that much more unpleasant. Commission is based off your evaluation each month from your manager which simply does not even matter what metrics you get, you can close the most deals in a month and still receive less commission than someone who didn't perform as well metrics wise. One manager will tell you to do or say one thing and the next manager will tell you the complete opposite. Lastly, expect change every single month and lack of clear communication about your career growth at the company.

    Continue reading
    Zocdoc2018-12-05
  10. Helpful (8)

    "What a disappointment..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zocdoc full-time

    Pros

    Fully paid healthcare, free lunch and snacks, and a casual dress code.

    Cons

    Caveat: my experiences relate to one team and manager, so I obviously can't speak for every department. With that said, I've never felt so micromanaged in my entire life. My day-to-day tasks were vastly different from what I signed on to do, and the compensation was definitely on the low end of the market. The other Glassdoor reviews are surprisingly accurate, so I'd recommend doing your due diligence before signing on to work here.

    Continue reading
    Zocdoc2018-12-11
Found 100 reviews