Zomato "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Zomato Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 19 de Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
78%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Zomato CEO Deepinder Goyal
Deepinder Goyal
568 Ratings
Pros
  • "Challenging work environment with some awesome people to work with trying to solve problems that actually matter(in 67 reviews)

  • "Zomato is a rapidly growing company with great work culture(in 45 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great people, great organization!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Management in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zomato full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have been with Zomato for many years now and have had nothing short of a wonderful experience! It's an extremely faced paced organization (definitely not for the faint of heart), but if you're looking for an organization that will push your boundaries and challenge your existing skill set, this may be the place for you! I have had the opportunity to work on various teams throughout my time at Zomato and have... always felt the support of my colleagues and the organization as a whole. Zomato is made up of strong, passionate and dedicated individuals - for me, the most important ingredient (no pun intended) of any organization. I plan to be here for many years to come!

    Show More

    Cons

    People often complain about 'work life balance'. I believe you should find a career/role that you are truly passionate about. Once you have found that, this concept of 'work life balance' really loses importance. That doesn't mean it isn't important to disconnect and recharge your batteries. As human beings, this is extremely important in all aspects of our lives. However, I don't think the solution is to 'work'... in a role where you merely clock in/clock out each day. When you're truly passionate about what you do (and who you do it with), it is impossible to separate the two.

    Show More
    Zomato2019-02-19
  2. "Key Accounts Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zomato full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    one of the best cultures, hierarchical communication is easy

    Cons

    poor work life balance, very low compensation

    Zomato2017-08-25
  3. Helpful (25)

    "Used to be great, now...not so much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Zomato for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I had the chance to work with some incredibly kind and intelligent people. I wasn't micromanaged much as long as I was meeting targets. Fun office parties every now and then. The atmosphere used to allow you to get a lot of experience in different areas really quickly but that isn't much the case anymore. Depending on the team you worked with, you could have absolutely amazing mentors.

    Cons

    The cons far outweighed the pros: - Office became hyperpolitical, where you would get passed up for promotions or better projects if you weren't a brown noser. - The work became routine and boring. Even if you expressed interest in doing something else and you were capable of doing that, getting a chance of reassignment largely falls on who you know. - There is 0 work life balance. You are expected to eat,... breath and sleep Zomato. There was a lot of down putting if you chose to take vacation time. Even taking a weekend off was highly frowned upon. There were plenty of people who would end up working on Sundays as well. - For being in an environment where you're realistically working 60hrs plus, your salary rarely matches that. - Transparency is lackluster, and communication between higher management and the rest of the employees winds up mainly relying on who you know. - Struggling business model: Zomato began as an online ad space and developed their transactions based model later. While that is helping bring in revenue, it isn't exactly king as people make it seem. The HSBC report that downgraded Zomato recently brought up fair points and honestly aligned the company better in a sense of how valuable it was. - There is absolutely zero organization, with things changing on the whim of higher ups. Often it felt more like it was being run by a bunch of capricious children being given unlimited funds without any hold on them.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please stop calling yourself a start-up, you are a privately held company. Communicate to your employees better, and honestly, act on the transparency that is supposed to be a Zoman value. The townhalls felt repetitive after a while because you wouldn't address real concerns your employees were making. Make your employees actually feel like they're jobs are secure, you'll get more out of them rather than making... them think they could get fired at any moment. Do ACTUAL market research, we wasted a ton of energy and money in markets without any real understanding of the market. Stop trying to make people work how we do in India. It makes absolutely zero sense, Zomato's culture is vague enough to be able to be adopted into other markets but those you send from India to run those markets are honestly the absolute worst ambassadors for zomato. Also, take criticism humbly. You don't need to fight everyone who says something negative about Zomato. You would know this if you hired competent PR people rather than just the yes men that are in the higher ups.

    Show More
    Zomato2016-05-17
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Should have seen it coming.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Anonymous in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Zomato for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with, awesome pay and cool company events. Flexible work/life balance and you actually enjoy coming to work each day.

    Cons

    Laid off without notice. Senior management is either hard to reach or doesn't know anything when asking specific organizational questions. Only some folks in upper management nice and helpful. They're still hiring across the globe, yet felt the US offices needed to be shut down after 4-5 months of being here.

    Advice to Management

    Be more personable with your employees. Realize that 6 weeks of severance pay doesn't help much, and giving advance notice that a layoff may be happening actually allows us time to PREPARE for such an impact. Stop being so quick to hire people making promises you can't keep. Figure out what you need, find it, and learn to appreciate those who skip out on stable companies for a "start up" that's been around for more... than 7 years.

    Show More
    Zomato2015-10-26
  5. Helpful (9)

    "100% Done"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Zomato full-time

    Pros

    My co-workers who I consider family.

    Cons

    Very disorganized, no structure whatsoever in how corporate manages their teams throughout U.S., and unreasonably harsh work/life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Glad you're moving out of the U.S. You don't deserve us.

    Zomato2015-10-16
  6. "Amazing work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - AI Engineer in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zomato full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -I'm a part of the tech team and yet the work life balance is good. At first, I thought the work life balance will not be good but the the company really understands. - We work like a family and knowing that our work contributes to the bigger goal and purpose. -Good money -Amazing tech culture -Hustle -Great team work - Great mentorship

    Cons

    Zomato is my happy place.

    Advice to Management

    Stay the way you are! You are awesome

    Zomato2019-11-19
  7. "Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Zomato full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance Exposure and learning Incentives

    Cons

    Flexibility in time and dress code

    Zomato2019-11-19
  8. "Growth Role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zomato full-time

    Pros

    - Super learning - Never short of challenges

    Cons

    - Highly unstructured environment - Crazy work life balance

    Zomato2019-11-13
  9. "Hectic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zomato full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You learn a lot at Zomato

    Cons

    No work life balance there

    Zomato2019-10-29
  10. "Good for beginning the career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Key Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zomato full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good for begin the career as there is a lot to learn.

    Cons

    No work life balance there.

    Zomato2019-11-01
Found 111 reviews