Zones Reviews

Updated May 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.3
31%
Recommend to a Friend
27%
Approve of CEO
Zones Chairman, President, and CEO Firoz Lalji (no image)
Firoz Lalji
239 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "And to be honest I wasn't the only employee being treated poorly by the upper management(in 36 reviews)

  • "Very low pay, CEO doesn't care about you and only wants money(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "good place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zones full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great benefits, food in office 3 days a week on average. generous pay and compensation. work hard play hard environment.

    Cons

    onboarding/ training process could be better

    Continue reading
    Zones2019-09-27
  2. "Good experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zones full-time

    Pros

    Fun work space With great people around you

    Cons

    Weird hours, it’s 24/7 so you can work weekends and over night

    Zones2020-02-07
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good company to start your career"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Auburn, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zones full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to learn and progress. It is a good company to start with as they hire in at minimum experience levels and have a robust sales training program.

    Cons

    Executive leadership in some departments drive down morale. Zones has become the kind of place where the individual does not matter.

    Continue reading
    Zones2020-05-26
  4. "Good place for experience"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Account Executive 

    I worked at Zones full-time

    Pros

    Good Training and Experience Office location Commissions and Spiffs

    Cons

    High Turnover at our office

    Zones2020-05-28
  5. "Overall a decent place to work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Carol Stream, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zones full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Managers did not micromanage and held weekly touch point calls. I had a good work/home balance with the opportunity to work from home at least once per week. Great co-workers and culture while in the office. Health benefits were decent. PTO plan was good (use it or lose it plan, not accrued).

    Cons

    Needed more consistence processes/documentation/direction to support projects (they were working on that). A company where Sales gets most praise. Quite a bit of blame was put on others for initial Sales errors without Sales support post sale.

    Continue reading
    Zones2020-05-18
  6. "great place to start a career"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Albany, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zones full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    friendly people to work with

    Cons

    some outdated tech and methodologies

    Zones2020-05-06
  7. "Great introductory sales position"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Auburn, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Zones full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This job introduces you to the technology industry and sales

    Cons

    Company structure is ever changing and valued employees seem to be valued less after time.

    Continue reading
    Zones2020-04-28
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Honest the most confusing employment ever."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office 365 Technical Support Supervisor in Menands, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zones full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Honestly, the only Pro I can think of is that they have two XBoxes in the break room.

    Cons

    I was recommended to work her by a friend that touted how awesome this company was to work for. I was promised a managerial role over 25 employees. In the first two weeks they revised my job description 4 times. At the end of the two weeks, they decided that I need to be a Night Shift manager. I have a kid and a wife. I did not agree to such a change in my schedule, but it was either that or lose my job. 8 weeks later I was able to rejoin days, but found out at that my role had changed again. Instead of supervising 25 people, I was now a "team lead" of 3 people. They made sure to have me oversee the worst performing workers they had. After 3 weeks, they questioned why the scores of my tiny team of poor performers were bad and they demoted me. Let me be clear, it takes longer than 3 weeks to really turn a poor performer around. It takes a lot of time and effort. No other team lead was able to turn these workers around after more than 6 months. After a few months, someone spread a rumor around the office that I was saying very inappropriate things around the office. There was no evidence or proof of this, it was completely hearsay. In response to this I was screamed at in an office for around 30 minutes. I reached out to HR and they said they would "Start an investigation". There was never a real resolution from management about how I was treated. And to be honest I wasn't the only employee being treated poorly by the upper management. I don't know anyone who was happy to work for the Office 365 department. People were being threatened to be fired simply because they talked to HR. I've heard one of the members of upper management talking about how he mad he was that an employee went to HR in the middle of the office. This is by far the most toxic workplace I have ever had the displeasure of being around. I quit in February and I will never look back.

    Continue reading
    Zones2020-05-22
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Think Twice Before Working At Zones"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in Auburn, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Zones full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company is in Auburn, so traffic isn't as bad as Seattle or Bellevue/Redmond.

    Cons

    Zones is a company where the financial bottom line is the only thing that matters. There is absolutely zero loyalty to employees, with people frequently being fired who have worked at the company between 10-20 years. They fired over 400 India staff in 2018 with no notice, moved those jobs to Pakistan so they could save money, then claimed their increased bottom line was due to higher revenue instead of through savings from paying less to the new Pakistan crew. Because you frequently need to train and deal with your Pakistani counterparts, there’s a very real chance you’re training your replacement, as opposed to strengthening your own position. Your job is NOT safe at Zones, ever. Zones is technologically roughly 5-10 years behind their competitors, and only now (in 2020) have begun taking steps to modernize their ailing techno-infrastructure. People who come to Zones are appalled by how far behind the company is in tech compared to comparable companies in the field. There are few opportunities for career advancement due to the way the company is structured. That’s not to say there are zero opportunities, but as is often the case in Corporate America, it’s more about who you know and have rapport with than it is about getting the best person for the job. Upper management is deaf to the complaints of the employees, and though they claim transparency, very little actually changes over time. Company pay is abysmally low compared to competitors, with Zones offering roughly 40-60% of standard industry pay for comparable jobs elsewhere. This is not an exaggeration for dramatic effect. The COO flat-out admitted to the company in meetings their low compensation choices were purposeful, and instead chose to praise the unseen perks, such as not having to commute as far to get to work. It’s hard to retain fresh talent when a job half an hour further down the road pays quite literally twice as much. Management has a fairly high turnover rate, with new managers coming on and being tasked with the whims of upper management, while not listening to the experience of boots-on-the-ground employees in the trenches. To be fair, the managers at Zones do their best, but are ridiculously overburdened with tasks and responsibilities. You couldn’t pay me enough to work in middle management at this company. All of that said, the job location really is off the beaten path, with the headquarters located in Auburn, WA. Travel to and from is relatively painless compared to working at larger tech firms further down the road. As with all companies, there are some shining stars and great people who work there. Still, that doesn’t make up for the significant lack of pay, lack of upward mobility, and lack of treating employees as their most important resource. You’re a cog in the wheel of progress at Zones, and that’s it. Caveat Emptor.

    Continue reading
    Zones2020-04-18
  10. Helpful (2)

    "What is this company doing?"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Auburn, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Zones full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Paid on time.Good place as a first job out of college, or with high school and some experience.

    Cons

    Sometimes bonuses are paid out a month late. However, the real negative here is the workload, the lack of respect, the micromanagent, the daily morning briefings with managers, presentations by vendors, low base pay with an exceptionally high quota. The list goes on. The recent firings and furloughs have left the Account Managers scrambling for help / resources - the cloud specialists and solution architects are so spread thin, they sometimes take 5 days just to respond to your email for help on a solution. Employees are not respected. I'll be out of there as soon as I find another job, and that's a sentiment shared by many account managers and cloud specialists at Zones.

    Continue reading
    Zones2020-05-13
Found 643 reviews