KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Zones

Engaged Employer

Zones

Add a Review

Zones Reviews

Updated Aug 7, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 975 of over 995 reviews

2.9
42%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Zones Chairman, President, and CEO Firoz Lalji (no image)
Firoz Lalji
400 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

434

62 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Met and worked with some great people(in 73 reviews)
  • "Theres not a whole lot but the people and trainings were good here.(in 32 reviews)
  • "Free Food (but even that isn't as good as it use to be)(in 32 reviews)
  • "There was a good work/life balance but only because they didn't want to have to pay overtime.(in 29 reviews)
  • "work environment is good(in 16 reviews)
Cons
  • "Management are poor(in 82 reviews)
  • "Place grabs people in need of a job and depletes them of all their motivation through poor business practice and low pay.(in 60 reviews)
  • "3) Upper management doesn't care about the salespeople.(in 40 reviews)
  • "Some managers have a 'not it' mentality.(in 39 reviews)
  • "Senior leadership remains in a state of flux between highly committed to executing on a strategic vision and resisting any change.(in 29 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Zones and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Easy Work Good pay

    Dec 16, 2021 - IT Technician in Clifton Park, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Normal day shift, good pay, easy work

    Cons

    Hard to get hired permanently

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    It's a Job

    Jul 29, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Leads are compassionate and are willing to help you assist and grow as needed -Program is very much a meritocracy -Opportunities to learn are available

    Cons

    -Expected to be advanced at too many subjects out of the gate (The material is there to pick up and learn but there is too much to get overnight) -Program makes frequent drastic changes but normally ends up hurting itself more than helping

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Typical Call Center

    Jul 26, 2022 - IT Support Analyst in Buffalo, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Offer remote work, benefits, and opportunities for later shifts

    Cons

    Very busy during day with long-hold times, Employees are monitored for time off of phones, management only engages to bring up something negative, no room or training to move up.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    strong services play

    Jul 11, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    excellent services company , with global experience

    Cons

    at times too much desktop focus

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Awesome Job!

    Jun 30, 2022 - Team Lead 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Remote position - I started in Buffalo, NY in the office, we went remote due to Covid and now we are completely remote. The people that I work in leadership are all awesome. The agents are great, and pick up the job quite easily. Company provided computer. My manager is always there when you need him!!

    Cons

    I simply do not get paid enough for the work that I put into the company. I got a raise of $.92 after being there for 4 (almost 5) years.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Good starter

    Jun 19, 2022 - Account Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good place to get into the technology field , pay is ok.

    Cons

    The pay plan is confusing and changes every year

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Best place to work and learn

    Jun 13, 2022 - HR Business Partner in Auburn, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I joined Zones recently in the US, all i can say is this is the best place to work. Its far ahead than those big fortune 500 companies that I worked before in terms of taking care of the employees. Zones took extra care of me after I lost family member due to pandemic in India. They said " You are zones family now, please take your time to be with your family you can join us whenever you are ready we will wait for you to return, your offer will remain same". My recruiter Jeff Lawlee and my manager Brandee Brown are so humble and kind. Not every organisations can do this for candidates who are yet to join your organization. They offer best compensation and has amazing teammates.

    Cons

    nothing that i have come across

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    They'll use you, underpay you, grind you up and spit you out, and possibly give you the need for therapy

    Jun 27, 2022 - Customer Service Representative in Menands, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The only pro of this company is it can be a stepping stone, but that stone is a molten lava rock with shards of glass sticking out. You will learn a lot. It's trial by fire surrounding by hounding, needling micromanagement, but you'll learn a lot about Microsoft and IT in general. I went from careers completely not in IT, to working here, and now having a real job that actually pays well and doesn't treat you like crap.

    Cons

    I just still couldn't in all good conscience recommend anyone else use this place to find a better career. There are like 17 bosses that can order you around. THERE ARE NEVER ANY RAISES. I worked there over three years, no raises. They use promotions, which gain you experience, in lieu of raises. But the funny part about that is they can just demote you back to where you started on a whim if they lose a contract. I worked 5 different roles, ALL of them more responsibilities and technical know-how needed than the last. NO RAISE. Lateral moves they called them. "at least you'll get off the phones!" they say instead of raising my pay. But by then you are so torn down by their constantly changing direction on which metrics to pursue and that you gleefully accept the giant steaming bag of more responsibilities to get away from both the abuse of the customers AND the management. They use the worst of tactics. One favorite thing that happened to me was meeting their ridiculous standards to accrue a bonus only to never actually see that bonus. I won some BS "lunch with the managers" contests I DID NOT WANT TO DO but the point is it never happened, not because I asked that it never happen, but because they just constantly give out false promises. One time we all got an email from the CEO that looked like an 8chan green text about vaccines. One time we got an email where they extolled how much money they made after selling off a portion of their business they no longer invested in, and then we still didn't get a raise that year. One time in the middle of the call floor when I had gotten a low score for the first time in 8 months of employment, the then-manager made a huge scene about it in front of everyone. One time when I was talking to a Quality Assurance team manager about that exact same low score, for no reason at all, he had a print out of how long I took on my breaks. The sheer level of micromanaging is unprecedented. My current job is amazing and I still experience terror when I hear the Teams sound, I have some negative pavlovian response ingrained into my very soul from three years of toxic abuse from Team Leads and upper management who could barely tie their shoes, let alone stop themselves from harassment, incessantly trying to be your friend outside of work to backstab you, doing illegal things on the premises before it was WFH, and lying through their teeth. I was 'promoted' LATERALLY!!!!! (as they so often emphasized to you in raptor screeches, so you would just not complain about no raises ever. EVER!) to a job that required higher skills, but then I was unceremoniously shoved into two roles that wasted those skills and then put into a highly specialized team where, after the 4 main middle managers of the program were fired for lying and negligence, the new manager cluelessly allowed the program to falter without support or guidance, and I was shoved right back to where I started. The best part of this was that new manager promised to have one last convo with me about "where I was landing" in the afternoon the next day, but he went on a week long vacation in the morning, and on Monday I was back on the phones and he never spoke to me again. He DID spinlessly like my new position on LinkedIn, though.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Ehh

    Jun 21, 2022 - Account Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Easy work with great hours

    Cons

    Pay is not great, and no room for growth

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Terrible

    Jul 7, 2022 - Repair Technician 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    crew members r cool AC

    Cons

    terrible management selections job description does not match unprofessional place no parking

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 975 Reviews

Zones Reviews FAQs

Zones has an overall rating of 2.9 out of 5, based on over 995 reviews left anonymously by employees. 42% of employees would recommend working at Zones to a friend and 35% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 5% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Zones employees rate their compensation and benefits as 2.7 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Zones. This rating has improved by 12% over the last 12 months.

42% of Zones employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Zones 3.1 out of 5 for work life balance, 2.8 for culture and values and 2.7 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Zones to be benefits, career development, coworkers and the cons to be senior leadership, culture, management.

Popular Careers with Zones Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews