Cover image for Zones
Logo

Zones

Is this your company?

Zones

Add a Review

Zones Employee Reviews about "free food"

Updated Oct 7, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,061 of over 1K reviews
3.2
51% Recommend to a Friend
59% Approve of CEO

Found 54 of over 1K reviews

3.2
51%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Zones Chairman, President, and CEO Firoz Lalji (no image)
Firoz Lalji
442 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

561

78 Comments

Tech

638.4K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Zones~6168
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about Zones? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with Zones employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Met and worked with some great people(in 78 reviews)
  • "I enjoyed working for Zones for the excellent training and certification they provided.(in 31 reviews)
  • "There was a good work/life balance but only because they didn't want to have to pay overtime.(in 30 reviews)
  • "Free Food (but even that isn't as good as it use to be)(in 30 reviews)
  • "My coworkers were great and made work worth while.(in 17 reviews)
Cons
  • "Management are poor(in 81 reviews)
  • "Place grabs people in need of a job and depletes them of all their motivation through poor business practice and low pay.(in 60 reviews)
  • "Pathetic and stress full environment was created due to incompetence of managers and directors.(in 39 reviews)
  • "3) Upper management doesn't care about the salespeople.(in 37 reviews)
  • "Senior leadership remains in a state of flux between highly committed to executing on a strategic vision and resisting any change.(in 32 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Zones and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "free food"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Positive Growth Towards Positive Change

    Aug 13, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love not having to commute to Seattle and the staff is great! With the help of the new CEO they are working towards great things. All the free food is pretty great too!

    Cons

    Just keep working towards a growth path for employees!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Graveyard of an IT Company!

    Dec 5, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of free food which is nice...you have to sit through boring presentations though which is kind of a pain.

    Cons

    Comp is really low (especially for Seattle area), management treats people badly, and the focus is lost.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  3. Join the Zones team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    If you value your mental health, run very far away!

    Jan 27, 2021 - Ambassador in
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free food from vendors...which is the equivalent of a Door Dash gift card now due to COVID-19

    Cons

    Where do I even begin? There's the constant stress and pressure of having to ensure every ticket you receive and close is a 5 star to appease some arbitrary metrics and spreadsheet punchers at Zones/Microsoft, otherwise, you risk losing your job. You're constantly being micromanaged by upper management over trivial things and pressured to take more tickets even when you've met the minimum ticket intake. Support resources here are a joke as the people we have to rely on are former support agents who have no business working here in the first place, and will often give you vague or non-answers, putting your support cases in limbo. Escalating a case is no better as reading isn't a requirement for escalation engineers apparently. The most frustrating part is that all of this falls on the support ambassador and no accountability is held for floorwalkers or escalation engineers. People have been working here for years and yet, they are still making the same amount of money that they started with, and up until recently, we were given a "raise" - anywhere from 34 to 55 cents. Pay discrepancy is very apparent here and Zones used the COVID-19 pandemic as an excuse to justify holding off on raises for so long. Management does not care about you at all. You could be the top ambassador for one month, and the next month you're written up and your job is at risk due to some customers that believe a 4 star is just as good as a 5 star. They're severely out of touch with support ambassadors and think all customer issues can be resolved by "building rapport" and introducing more nonsensical metrics that don't actually show how proficient I am at the job, it's all based on the customer perception of how well I do my job. Management is also very hypocritical, they will provide strategies to avoid poor survey ratings, but will threaten termination if you actually use some of these strategies. It's clear they tend to pick and choose when they have a moral compass. Overall, this is probably the WORST company I've worked for as this place has ruined my mental health and given me anxiety issues. There's a reason why the retention rate is so poor at this job. If you want to be appreciated for your proficiency at your job and not be held at the mercy of customers on a 1 - 5 star rating and you value your mental health, stay far away from this job like it's a restraining order for your ex.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    not good

    Jun 23, 2018 - Account Executive in
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice training classmates. Occasional Free food. Good annual party in Seattle. You never feel like your manager is smarter than you. No rabid monkeys running free. Indoor plumbing. No one died on prem. Foosball table. Some free swag.

    Cons

    Company strategy changes every few months. I was asked for a 2 yr commitment only to be fired the day before my 3 month training period was up. Before that I had one five minute talk with my boss in which I asked was I in danger of getting fired to which my boss said he'd rather talk about how we can make sure I succeed . My boss's bosses were detached and probably incompetent. The owner is a nice older millionaire who should probably retire. My boss would tell me to do one thing, then tell me to do the opposite, then go back to the first option. My boss talked about how his neighbors were doctors, what car he had, what car he wanted, how his father tried out for the Royals, and more. Then he told people to stop socializing and talking. I think me being his age was a problem. He likes young people who can't see through his smoke and mirrors. He has more shoes than Imelda Marcos. Clients hate being handed around like a bong to new AEs each couple months. Training is fun but not that reality based. They are an IT company with a messed up computer system. sales training is based on question based selling concept that is cult like and weird. Auburn where many sales trainers are looks down on Portland office.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee

    I hope you like grinding out metrics...

    May 11, 2010 -  in
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Free food and sweets almost every morning from Vendors - Good training program and almost daily product and brand trainings from Vendors and specialists - If you hang out long enough, you'll be given accounts, Zones has a huge turnover rate and as long as you wait it out, you don't even have to find accounts.

    Cons

    - Terrible base pay, they lie to you on how long its going to take to "ramp up" on the sales floor and start making decent commissions, so you're stuck at a low pay grade. In reality, it will take almost 2 years to make any margin on sales consistently. - Incompetent management and sloppy workers, no money invested in improving working conditions for the building or employees. IT sales company, and yet they operate on the slowest, most problematic computers I've ever worked with. Easily 5 years behind trends in the IT industry and what would be considered standard. - Too much focus on "metrics" and not enough on potential of employees

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Zones Noida - Supply Chain

    Sep 11, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1. Good and On Time Salary.. 2. You will get good food and all time snacks and beverages.

    Cons

    1. Overtime is main concern. 2. No policy for employee retention. 3. Poor Management, they do listen employee feedback but that's just for formality and fun for them. 4. You should keep yourself in good books with management else you can be fired soon. 5. Poor people management.They treat people like slaves. 6. Leaves is another big issue in this department. We work like robots and asking for 1 leave for any emergency or for any personal engagement is like hell when you too have good accrued leaves in your account. 7. Department head speaks like a owner of company and can say anything to anyone at anytime. 8. Above all even HR is not employee friendly.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Broken Communication = Broken Organization

    Oct 2, 2017 - Sales Manager in
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Not located in Seattle- easier commute than most Food provided occasionally from vendors

    Cons

    Too many changes over multiple departments which caused vast change throughout the organization. This company does not have any positive culture whatsoever. Marketing runs the company as they are the one with the $ and all other departments rely on vendor's dollars to keep the company afloat. Compensation changes numerous times over the course of the year which deflates employees.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Very corrupt. Entire management team thrives and strives on collusion.

    Feb 24, 2014 - Account Executive in
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The bagels and free food are good. If you perform well you can pretty much get away with murder. The managers are glorified babysitters who don't even have a college degree. Oops that wasn't a pro but honestly there really aren't any pros about this company. Hitting 1bill in sales after 30+ years in the industry is really not impressive. Murray Wright won't change anything.

    Cons

    The base is low but honestly that is normally for any entry level sales position. What's messed up is the commission structure and spif payments. You only get 10% of your margin on an order. Spiffs always "mysterious" fall off of an order so you don't get compensated like you should. Managers and upper level employees are extremely sketchy. Most of them don't have college degrees and have racked up quite the criminal record. You can see for yourself by searching the WA state court records and all their arrests will appear for King county. Managers we AEs for less than a year before they became managers so they don't know how to do anything.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Some good people....bad company!

    Feb 6, 2018 - Senior Account Executive in
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    HR is good at writing fake reviews. Free food at the end of the quarter. Commute is reverse the normal traffic flow Good people, ie. grunts on the sales floor

    Cons

    Too many to list. I'll list a few that are top of mind... Pay - low, low, low. SUCKS. No consistency in compensation plan. They must have changed it 3 times within a year, I swear! Systems and Processes - Archaic and ineffective. CRM system is crap and difficult to use. They need to hire some process analysts here because there doesn't seem to be any standard operating procedures in place. If you ask someone how to do something, you won't get a straight answer. Plus nothing works right. For the longest time my outlook said I didn't have a valid activation key. what the hell? Poor Management - good ole boys club and managers that can't manage. Don't expect any type of constructive coaching or teaching from your manager. Career progression is non-existent. If you're lucky, people on your team will quit or get fired and you'll inherit their accounts if you suck up enough. Business Vision - NONE Training - CRAP. Sales "Enablement" is an oxymoron. Vendor trainings are hit or miss. Large vendors are typically good - Dell, HP, Cisco, Adobe, VMWare, Lenovo. Small vendors seem to get lost in the shuffle and you need to figure it out yourself. Support - or lackthereof. Outsourced to Pakistan to put money in someone's pocket. You get the picture.

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful
  11. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Zones is a sinking ship...

    Jul 17, 2017 - Category Manager in
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some of the people are awesome and knowledgeable. Location - much easier commute than Seattle or Bellevue Tough to get fired - if you set the bar low for yourself, it is almost impossible to get fired. You have to be at a new level of incompetence if you managed to get yourself fired at Zones. Free Food (but even that isn't as good as it use to be)

    Cons

    oh man....do I have enough hours in the day to complete this? PAY - The WORST!! far below the market average. They will bring in new hires off the street and pay them the market average but won't pay their own internal employees who are responsible for driving millions in margin and partner contribution. Management - HORRIBLE...I mean really, really bad. Your boss with toss you under the boss when something doesn't go right but on the flip side, will take credit for any positive accomplishment. No direction - you will have to learn to do your job completely on your own, there is little to zero training and all your peers are too busy with their own problems to show you how to do anything . No Vision - the company has no idea what it is and what they want to be. The position themselves as a solutions provider but lack the infrastructure and technical resources to support the claim. They want their account executives to push advanced solutions but reward them for selling commodity products like end points and printers. it's just a mess.... Honestly, I can keep going on and on but it's pointless. You should be able to get a picture of how horrible this place is. The other reviews are right on (except the good ones that are being written by Zones HR). I can honestly tell you that everyone know is looking to escape. I too will be gone within 30 days.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 54 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Zones Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Zones? Share Your Experiences

Zones logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Zones Photos

+ Add Photo
Zones photo of: Zones was incorporated in 1988 and is a certified minority business enterprise (MBE).
Zones photo of: The 12th Man Lives!
Zones photo of: Zones Golf Tournament
Zones photo of: Supply Chain - Every Link Matters
Zones photo of: Employee Appreciation Day
Zones photo of: Poker Tournament
Zones photo of: Employee Appreciation Day
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

E.Nfrastructure Technologies, Inc.

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Zones Job Seekers Also Viewed

CDW Logo
CDW

4.1

3,534 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 1,062 Zones reviews submitted anonymously by Zones employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Zones is right for you.