Zoo Atlanta Reviews | Glassdoor

Zoo Atlanta Reviews

Updated Oct 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
63%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Zoo Atlanta President and CEO Raymond B. King (no image)
Raymond B. King
3 Ratings
  1. "My first and best job ever!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Riverdale, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zoo Atlanta part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible with your schedule. Managers are professional and understanding. Great for high schoolers and freshman/sophomore college students. Friendly and safe environment. Great Staff and team members all around.

    Cons

    The pay is somewhat decent. Some of the policies enforced can get annoying. Expect long hours of standing. I would not turn this into a career unless you start as a manager of a department.

    Zoo Atlanta2019-09-25
  2. "Security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zoo Atlanta full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with every day

    Cons

    Requires working in all kinds of weather

    Advice to Management

    No advice to be given

    Zoo Atlanta2019-10-29
  3. "Friendly Co-workers, Poor Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Facing in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Zoo Atlanta full-time

    Pros

    Everyone that works there is amazing. I miss them all the time! The managers are supportive and want the best for all of their employees.

    Cons

    Upper level management does not seem to care about the front facing employees. The pay is terribly low. Most people work there because they love animals.

    Advice to Management

    Competitive pay would save the trouble and cost of high turn over. It would also increase customer service skills. The Zoo is dependent on guests enjoying themselves yet the people providing for those guests are treated as disposable.

    Zoo Atlanta2019-05-08
  4. "Working Here Matters"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zoo Atlanta full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work-life balance, engaging with guests can be really fun because they're excited to visit the zoo, there are many upgrades and changes happening all around the zoo making it a better environment for employees and guests, most co-workers are passionate about the zoo's overall mission and they genuinely want to be here.

    Cons

    Anyone who is coming from a for-profit should know going into an interview that the pay will be lower since the zoo is non-profit.

    Zoo Atlanta2019-03-26
  5. "An excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zoo Atlanta full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you love animals and have a passion for conservation, then this is the place for you. My mangers and coworkers and amazing and the diversity of my teammates is fantastic. Plus, I go home every night knowing that I made a difference.

    Cons

    Well, we're a non-profit, so I won;t get rich. However, working in a place that I love more than makes up for it.

    Zoo Atlanta2019-03-26
  6. "Ok place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zoo Atlanta part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Zoo Atlanta is very dedicated to a mission of conservation.

    Cons

    The pay is not very good.

    Zoo Atlanta2019-03-28
  7. "Education Coordinator Zoo Atlanta"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Education Coordinator in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zoo Atlanta part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great environment to teach kids, and great focus on sustainability and conservation

    Cons

    too much controversy within higher up management that took away from counselor focus on the kids

    Zoo Atlanta2019-03-12
  8. "Decent work environment. Flexible schedule."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Service Worker in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zoo Atlanta part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Straightforward job that gives a good pay for a food service job.

    Cons

    During off seasons hours are very limited.

    Advice to Management

    Put workers in more useful places.

    Zoo Atlanta2019-01-23
  9. "Great place if you aren't in the animal division"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Zoo Atlanta full-time

    Pros

    Atmosphere, benefits are ok for a nonprofit. Professional development opportunities

    Cons

    For what is supposed to be one of the top zoos, the animal dept is a mess. So much favortism it's unreal! Curators that get away with anything and blame keepers for their incompetencies

    Advice to Management

    Upper management needs to wake up and get some new middle management who know how to be leaders.

    Zoo Atlanta2018-09-01
  10. "Great place to work, pay not so much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Zoo Atlanta part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great staff and lovely place to work

    Cons

    the pay sucks. they are a non-profit so there isn't much wiggle room in that regard.

    Zoo Atlanta2018-08-06
Found 37 reviews