Zoopla "zpg" Reviews | Glassdoor

Zoopla Employee Reviews about "zpg"

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
76%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Zoopla CEO Charlie Bryant (no image)
Charlie Bryant
90 Ratings
Pros
  • "great benefits package on offer(in 11 reviews)

  • "Great people to work with, free breakfast, Friday drinks, progressive company(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "ZPG was bought by an outside investor (Silver Lake) just over a year ago and that's brought with it new ways of doing things(in 9 reviews)

  • "No one likes to battle trains in and out of Waterloo(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "zpg"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "A great mix of trust, autonomy and responsibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Automation Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zoopla full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There's been a real focus these last 12 months on hiring and retaining people who love their job. I am surrounded by talented people and there's a really good collaborative atmosphere. I feel comfortable walking up to anyone's desk and asking if they have a minute to help, and they feel comfortable saying yes or saying no depending on their workload. That people will say no when they don't have time really helps me feel like I'm not putting pressure on them if I ask for advice. We work in scrum teams and each team is fully responsible for their parts of the platform. We have input into our business goals and targets, we work with our embedded PO and BAs to come up with a backlog to meet those goals. We have design, UX, front-end, back-end and quality engineers all working together. Because all the work we're doing is the work we decided needed to be done to meet the goals we helped set, everyone is on board and focused and enthusiastic. I have opportunities to research new technologies and learn while on the job. We recently added automated visual testing to our pipeline because we thought it would add business value. I had great support from my team and from management to investigate how it would work, create a proof of concept and then present the finding to the wider dev team. That's not an uncommon event which stands out for its rarity, it's the kind of thing people here are doing all the time. Another thing worth pointing out, they genuinely care about your mental health here. We have a lot of different support services and vectors for asking for help. We have full-company buy-in on the importance of mental health and resilience. People are actively encouraged from working late, we've had trained CBT professionals come in and give talks and run workshops. We're given access to a 24/7/365 helpline with trained counsellors that we can call anonymously for anything and the information on who used it is not available to anyone working at ZPG.

    Cons

    There has been a lot of change in the last year and it's been hard to keep focus at times. ZPG was bought by an outside investor (Silver Lake) just over a year ago and that's brought with it new ways of doing things. But those changes are what got us where we are now. Things have settled and I'm really happy with where we ended up.

    Zoopla2019-10-15

    Zoopla Response

    December 11, 2019Talent Partner

    What a thoughtful review! We're so appreciative of the time you spent putting together your feedback and it's even more pleasing to hear you're enjoying the challenges that life at Zoopla offers. You're so correct on your point around change - if you look at our history change really is the only constant. Our adaptability as a business is why we've managed to become so successful. However, the hard work isn't over and we're as excited as you about the future, with such an amazing opportunity ahead to re-imagine the property industry. Keep up the great work!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Careful not to be too agile..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zoopla full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Loads of perks if you work out of London, less if you don't. New tech is approached with an open mind, which can make for some fun days.

    Cons

    Do you consider yourself agile? Someone who is thoughtful and outspoken? Has agile told you that your views matter that your opinion will be listened to? That you will have an impact on a business? If you do and you have, then don't apply at ZPG! Do you like to move fast and adopt new ideas and embrace change? The only change in ZPG is the constant turn over of staff and team restructuring and the new internal applications that keep getting spun up and dropped a week later. Leadership is getting somewhat better, so that is a plus. Unfortunately, the new managers do not know anything about prioritisation, about the area of business or people management, so good luck there. Don't expect your achievements to go unnoticed, your management team will see them and take them as their own. If you do chip in with some help or advise don't expect to be thanked or valued. Someone else will take the credit somewhere. Then we have the sneaky people and backstabbing staff, some people are only at ZPG to better themselves and they do not care who they throw under the bus to achieve it. The worst part is that management knows who these people are and panders to their whims. The very same people like to style themselves as heroes, the ones that can do anything and so get more responsibility and more ears to listen to them. Then, when they don't get their way, or something goes wrong, they explode and throw profanity around the office, directed at other staff and nothing comes of it, even if you complain to the relevant people. Don't expect HR or accounting to help you, they don't know you exist and don't care either. If you ever find yourself missing a payslip or, you know, some other important document, don't expect help to get it.

    Continue reading
    Zoopla2019-07-17

    Zoopla Response

    August 9, 2019Talent Partner

    I’m sorry to hear that your time at Zoopla was so negative. Agile is absolutely a core part of how we work, so it’s a real shame that your experience didn’t reflect that. We’ve been through a huge period of change and we’ve had to spend some time getting the right leaders in place to take us onto the next exciting part of the journey. Inevitably that means we’ve seen some instability while things fall into place, but we’re confident we have the right people to lead the charge. I’m very surprised and sorry to hear that you didn’t feel you received the care, help and support from the HR team that we pride ourselves on. If you’ve got the time, we’d love to hear more from you because, in the spirit of agile, we’re always looking to learn and improve. Please feel free to drop a line to our HR team any time.

    Continue reading
  3. "Surprised by negative reviews - Happy with my experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zoopla full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Women in leadership positions -The ZPG Xmas party -coffee and food in office (free)

    Cons

    -the hours can be long -the targets were *sometimes* higher than felt achievable

    Continue reading
    Zoopla2019-01-18

    Zoopla Response

    February 14, 2019Talent Partner

    What a lovely review, thanks very much! You’re right - we’re an ambitious business, but we appreciate that there’s a fine line between the exciting challenge of a stretch target and an unrealistic goal - it’s definitely important to know the difference. We’ll keep doing our best to keep that Zoopla spirit alive!

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Leadership lack knowledge and integrity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zoopla full-time

    Pros

    Free tea , coffee and breakfast Good offices Free onsite gym

    Cons

    A poisonous culture where management say one thing and do another. This has completely destroyed morale and any feeling of affiliation with the company. Management see us purely as numbers rather than people who built the company they were so keep to buy. They're ripping the company apart and don't care for the impact it's having on individuals. A top down approach to leadership, where the managers above are less informed than the people they're try to lead. Completely unrealistic KPIs are set but our bonuses are bench marked against them, effectively meaning we're in a never ending cycle of underachievement and will forever be underpaid. Manufactured claims of poor performance to push people out of the door. ZPG say they're interested in personal development but really this is just lip service, they want you to stay in your lane and be nothing but a nodding dog to the line manager above you.

    Continue reading
    Zoopla2019-02-19

    Zoopla Response

    March 1, 2019Employee Engagement Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback and I'm really sorry to hear that you're experiencing some of these things. The KPIs and objectives that feed into your bonus should be something you mutually agree on with your manager. Have you discussed any of these concerns with your line manager, department or HR business partner? Or, if you'd prefer to remain anonymous, it would be great if you can share your feedback in our next engagement survey so that we at least determine which area of the business may need some extra support and see if this is something that others in your team/department are experiencing.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Internal sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zoopla full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Centrally located modern offices and facilities by Tower Bridge. Games room, ping pong tables, communal eating area, dedicated free on-site barista, showers, gym and secure cycle park. Good benefits and working environment with periodic company socials. ZPG owns a number of brands so potential to move into other areas. Great bunch of people to work with. Strong brands.

    Cons

    Working in the sales floor is very KPI/call driven. Expectation of 60+ calls/2hrs outgoing per day, quantity over quality approach. Communal feeling amongst sales colleagues of a lack of trust from management e.g. knit picking on call stats, certain staff felt singled out on performance/attitude. Just before leaving, morale was low due to recent long serving strong employees leaving, difficult/near impossible targets and feeling of disconnect of front line sales staff and management's view of the market. I'd envisage other depts i.e. marketing, IT etc having a better working environment due to the nature of their roles. For similar AM roles, salary/commission is below market average.

    Continue reading
    Zoopla2018-11-02

    Zoopla Response

    February 14, 2019Talent Partner

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback - it’s great to see some of the things we pride ourselves on, like our benefits, brands and offices, really do make the difference! Sorry to hear that you experienced some issues within your team. Our new Head of Internal Sales has been working hard with the team to boost morale over the past few months, with a focus on support, development and recognition, so we’re hoping to see the positive results in our next anonymous employee survey.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Avoid the Sales department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Internal Sales in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zoopla full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    *The people, at my time at ZPG one of the main reasons that kept me in the department was the people I worked with, stand up bunch. ZPG benefits, Private Healthcare, Personal development money bonus holiday for birthdays and Move days, ZPG has some great benefits available to its staff

    Cons

    In regards to the Sales department as a whole it is wildly micromanaged, this does not reflect the company as a whole but if you are going to work specifically for Internal sales you will find the complete opposite of the values that ZPG hold itself so highly to. Be prepared for a call center like mentality, where it's solely focuses on dials and talk time activity rather than outside the box thinking in a difficult marketplace and little to no autonomy, again I can't stress this enough the department is heavily micromanaged with lunch hours monitored to the minute as well as constant messages on G chat asking for justifications on different work methods.(be prepared to justify everything you do that's not related to dials and talk time) Capped commission with the structure constantly changing , typically this came with the targets going up and the commissions pot being stretched so people would earn less and work harder, this made consistently trying to make the same money month on month extremely frustrating. Little to no communication with other departments, you will find processes frustrating and communication with marketing and other departments discouraged if you are away from your desk for more than a few minutes.

    Continue reading
    Zoopla2018-08-22

    Zoopla Response

    February 14, 2019Talent Partner

    Thanks for taking the time to share your views - I hope these are things that you’ve also flagged in our anonymous employee survey. We often hear that the people and the benefits are the biggest reasons that people love working at ZPG, but of course, there’s much more to creating a great place to work. Our new Head of Internal Sales has been working hard with the team to boost morale over the past few months, with a focus on support, development and recognition, so we’re hoping to see the positive results in our next survey.

    Continue reading
  7. "Good place to work, great benefits and exciting projects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zoopla full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The company is constantly growing, bringing more business opportunities and exciting projects to work on. - Great benefits and cool office. - Management are really transparent and there's good communication across the business about how the company is performing. - Everyone has an input in the projects, and most of the times decisions can be made within the team without needing approval from many levels of management.

    Cons

    - Some parts of the business are really old school, inefficient and not open to change. Some of the technologies used and are really old, still with the mentality of software companies from 20 years ago rather than adapting to the modern days. - Although there are many businesses within ZPG, the interaction between these businesses is not as smooth as it could be.

    Zoopla2018-02-15

    Zoopla Response

    February 14, 2019Talent Partner

    It’s lovely to hear you’re enjoying your time here at ZPG, with plenty of opportunities, freedom and support. Thanks for sharing your views! If you have any ideas or suggestions for how things could be improved in terms of tech or interactions between teams, make sure you have a chat with your manager or team lead.

    Continue reading
  8. "They're always looking to push you further"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Marketing Manager in Banbury, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zoopla full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company with fantastic benefits and career growth. ZPG are a very supportive company and continue to grow.

    Cons

    Connection between growing offices can be a challenge. ZPG very much live in the London bubble.

    Continue reading
    Zoopla2017-04-11

    Zoopla Response

    August 31, 2017Talent Partner

    Glad to hear you are enjoying the benefits at ZPG and your career opportunities. Our HR team have spent a lot of time ensuring that benefits are relevant and meaningful to all our colleagues so always a pleasure to hear when they are enjoyed. As you can imagine acquiring several businesses in a short period of time is complex and new teams can take a while to integrate. To help encourage this, our London-based colleagues visit our other offices regularly (and vice versa) so that we can build our knowledge of each other and gradually make improvements. If you feel there is still something missing from your particular location then please do contact the HR team with your suggestions or submit a question anonymously at our next company update so we can work on it. Keep up the good work!

    Continue reading
  9. "An incredible place to work with real prospects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Visual Designer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zoopla full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A great family environment within the team as well as everyone being incredibly talented. Lots of exciting things in the pipeline with the company pushing boundaries and leading the prop tech market. The company really values it's employees, giving support both personally and professionally, through benefits and learning & development. The office is beautiful and provides a great environment to work in. This is a place you can really grow as a person and in your career.

    Cons

    There really are no cons here if you make sure you put the effort in to ensure there isn't. We have an amazing team pushing ZPG forwards, making it an incredible company to work for.

    Continue reading
    Zoopla2017-04-03

    Zoopla Response

    April 6, 2017Talent Sourcing Partner

    What wonderful feedback, thank you! We’re delighted to hear how happy you are here at ZPG and we promise to keep doing everything we can to make our colleagues feel truly valued and help them thrive, at home and at work. Keep your ideas and feedback coming!

    Continue reading
  10. "Forward thinking dynamic company with great values."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Key Account Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zoopla full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    From the highly energetic training and sales team to the deeply thoughtful and passionate exec teams and CEO and of course the hugely talented tech teams everyone is pushing this business forward, Driving excellence,Innovation and quality. The offices in central london are stunning fun and inspiring with quirky features usually reserved for the likes of google to include meeting rooms in a treehouse, Barn, sauna, Greenhouse and swimming pool, fully equipped with a free gym, arcade and library there's even a ZPG barista called Bruno. All in all the experience of Zoopla hits you around the chops with vigour and intrigue! The benefits package for the employees is Literally the best I have seen.

    Cons

    With serving two customers, Consumers looking to move house and partners looking to sell to these consumers there's is a difficult balancing act. Having said the ZPG make it very clear that their job is to serve the consumer and this is not hidden from the partners, having said that the data, product packages and information available to the partners is increasing and improving daily.

    Continue reading
    Zoopla2016-11-09
Found 15 reviews