Cover image for Zulily
Logo
See All Photos

Zulily

Engaged Employer

Zulily

Add a Review

Zulily Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 28, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,170 of over 1K reviews
3.0
41% Recommend to a Friend
Zulily President Terry Boyle
53% Approve of CEO

Found 119 of over 1K reviews

3.0
41%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Zulily President Terry Boyle
Terry Boyle
186 Ratings

Featured Divisions of Zulily

See all divisions

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "The pay is low and some jobs require later shifts or for you to work on the weekends.(in 143 reviews)
  • "Poor management, concerned only with numbers and no concern for employee health or safety(in 99 reviews)
  • "Good managers have an impossible time keeping top performers bc zulily will not compensate them.(in 52 reviews)
  • "Pay and benefits could be better.(in 46 reviews)
  • "There is no work/life balance(in 45 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Zulily and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Work life balance, but ridiculous expectations

    Nov 15, 2018 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Worked with a good team (mostly) Work life balance (as a corporate hourly associate) A lot of room for advancement (if you’re willing to move)

    Cons

    Cliques at the higher level Compensation to work expectation was unrealistic as what was expected in a 40 hour work week Benefits and vacation are not competitive

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Love to work here

    Oct 6, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love that I can choose what I work and good work life balance.

    Cons

    Salary increment is low and rapid change in management makes it hard to prove yourself.

    1 person found this review helpful
  3. Join the Zulily team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Not a good place

    Oct 12, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are no pros to speak off. Sample sales, if that's your thing. The occasional office party with beer.

    Cons

    The work/life balance is non-existent. You're expected to be on-call constantly. Very chaotic environment -- priorities change daily. One day's top priority is the next day's 'why are you still working on X? you should work on Y'. Huge amount of turnover; within 6 months you'll be the most senior person on a team. Promotions are rare. Every level of management plays favorites, certain teams *and* certain people can do no wrong, no matter what. Got a different idea from management? Better not say anything, because it will be wrong. That goes double if you're a minority ... and you better not say anything about that, either. Benefits are terrible -- your 401k money gets regularly returned to you because of participation numbers. Oh, and after you leave or if you try? They will give bad references, effectively killing your chance at a new job.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  5. Zulily - Corporate | Division of Zulily
    3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Nice People that need better direction

    Oct 31, 2022 - Vendor Account Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work-life balance and nice people to work with. Great for entry-level experience.

    Cons

    Pay is below average for the work done. There is not a very clear path to advancement.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Worked in FAR worse! Zulily is AMAZING!

    Sep 14, 2012 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I read a lot of the posts that have been posted on here and coming from a strong management background myself, I would say that most of these issues are about the employee not the employer. Zulily provides incredible benefits! I was hospitalized recently, and not only was Zulily incredibly understanding and overly compassionate, but my HUGE medical bill was chopped down to $350 with my benefits!! Not only that, but I pay NO monthly premium for my benefits. That has been unheard of in my previous employment....especially since one of my 'dream jobs' had no benefits what so ever. Zulily is only 2 1/2 years old, so they are STILL a start up. I think people get the impression because of it's size and how many people are employed that they are a well established company when it comes to their processes. They are still developing those systems and those systems are in constant development. What is so nice about those systems being in development, is that you can give feedback and that feedback is ACTUALLY received. If any of you have worked in a large company before, you know that those kinds of changes do NOT get heard. I think to be successful here at Zulily, you need to be an entrepreneur yourself. You need to be a self-starter and someone who knows how to ask questions, find answers and also find solutions. If you are expecting someone to hand you a to-do list everyday and have things be the same day in and day out...well then Zulily is not for you. And when I say an Entrepreneur....I do not mean a business owner. Just because you at one point owned a failing business does not make you an Entrepreneur. Zulily has the potential of having a large pay off for it's employees...but that doesn't come easy and without a HUGE amount of hard work. Do you think the first 500 people of Microsoft had a work life balance balance balance?! The answer is most likely YA RIGHT!! There have been PLENTY of people who have been promoted here at Zulily....so that statement is false. But like any company, they have a budget and only so many positions so not everyone can be promoted.

    Cons

    I do agree there can be clicks here at Zulily. But the company does try it's best to through social engagements to help people get to know each other. But remember people, this is a BUSINESS not a HIGH SCHOOL! You do not need to be besties with everyone you work with! I also know that there are departments other than my own that work extreme hours. I do think those departments NEED help to allow them the same work life balance that some other get. I do believe the company is working on hiring in those areas. Too many people are too passionate and think they have ULTIMATE say over a situation. This is both a positive and a negative, but it just means that people need to communicate and work things out....which for the most part I think people do.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. Zulily - Corporate | Division of Zulily
    1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Avoid

    Aug 12, 2022 - Assistant Buyer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great employees to work with. Some great managers

    Cons

    Everything!!! Expects the world with a antiquated system. Acts like they want a work life balance but you end up working a lot of overtime hours. Terrible pay. They lay off employees but than post the exact same job they just laid people off from

    2 people found this review helpful
  8. Zulily - Corporate | Division of Zulily
    4.0
    Current Employee

    Great Work Life Balance

    May 17, 2022 - Technical Product Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work Life Balance is amazing

    Cons

    Compensation isn't up to industry standards, and seems to be below market rate.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. Zulily - Corporate | Division of Zulily
    2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Software Engineer

    Dec 3, 2015 - Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work life balance (only when you're not oncall)

    Cons

    Terrible code base and no plans to improve Terrible middle management that don't promote learning and collaborative environment Terrible changes that reduced insurance perks, stock plans worth, PTO Terrible stock prices mean your total comp is significantly below market rate Avoid at all cost

    Continue reading
    14 people found this review helpful
  10. Zulily - Corporate | Division of Zulily
    1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Not worth it

    Oct 1, 2019 - Assistant Buyer in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Wfh once a week, benefits have improved

    Cons

    I honestly feel like the good reviews are fake, do yourself a favor and trust the hundreds of bad reviews. The wage is so below what is considered a livable wage that most assistant buyers actually have second jobs. Management doesn’t know what they’re doing and everyone is walking around like headless chickens. There is barely any room for growth unless you’re someone’s favorite and promotions have been on hold in merchandising for almost a year. Even if you’re a high performer, the direction always changes and you constantly have to prove yourself. Because of that morale is down and almost everyone is trying to get a job elsewhere that’s all everyone talks about now . Work life balance is poor with vendors emailing all the time and treating you horribly because they think this company is a joke. Would not recommend it to anyone who doesn’t want to me miserable all the time.

    Continue reading
    14 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 119 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Zulily Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Zulily? Share Your Experiences

Zulily logo
or

Zulily Careers

Cover image for Zulily

Be authentic. Bring fun and energy. Make an impact. At Zulily, we pride ourselves on creating a fun and collaborative environment where...More

  • Careers at Zulily
  • Our Interview Process
  • Benefits & Perks
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Zulily

2 days ago

Diversity and Inclusion
Zulily is proud to honor Black History Month and celebrate the diversity and inclusivity of the Black experience.
Shared image
See all

Zulily Photos

+ Add Photo
Zulily photo of: Our Seattle team getting ready to celebrate our 8th birthday at a special all hands meeting in January 2018
Zulily photo of: Black History Month 2020 Talk
Zulily photo of: Birthday 2021
Zulily photo of: Birthday 2021
Zulily photo of: Birthday 2021
Zulily photo of: Birthday 2021
Zulily photo of: Birthday 2020
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Zulily Job Seekers Also Viewed

Amazon Logo
Amazon

3.8

157,761 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 1,171 Zulily reviews submitted anonymously by Zulily employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Zulily is right for you.