Zumiez Reviews

Updated May 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Zumiez President, CEO, and Director Richard M. Brooks
Richard M. Brooks
377 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, laid back and a great place to work(in 62 reviews)

  • "Amazing work environment all the time(in 50 reviews)

Cons
  • "Short breaks and low pay for someone supporting themselves(in 63 reviews)

  • "if you don’t meet your sales goals you don’t get any hours(in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Awesome"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Lynnwood, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zumiez full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Best culture around, never going to find anything else like it

    Cons

    Use culture to pay towards the lower end of the industry norm

    Continue reading
    Zumiez2020-01-20
  2. "General review of the company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zumiez full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced environment, never boring

    Cons

    You are your loss prevention, the company is obsessed with itself

    Continue reading
    Zumiez2020-05-04
  3. "Fun, but very active"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Zumiez part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The discount, atmosphere, and incentives were good.

    Cons

    The commission didn't really contribute much, and the management also varies.

    Continue reading
    Zumiez2020-05-11
  4. "Eh"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zumiez part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun environment, got to set up skateboards and interact with likeminded people

    Cons

    Few hours, bad management, seasonal job only lasted a few weeks

    Continue reading
    Zumiez2020-05-07
  5. "Decent starting job if you have little corporate experience and want to pad your resume"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Desk Analyst in Lynnwood, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zumiez full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great co-workers and work environment. Corporate culture overall is good however the IT dept had some specific managers that were problematic and caused a lot of great workers to leave.

    Cons

    Bottom of the barrel pay (at least for the IT dept.), management gets upset when overtime is used but then also gets upset when work that is outside of normal working hours doesn't get done. Management loves to brag about how Zumiez's IT dept is 1/3 the size of what a comparable company would need because we are so great but then thinks its unreasonable that we want industry average pay.

    Continue reading
    Zumiez2020-04-30
  6. "Fun while it lasted."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Store Manager in Rochester, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Zumiez full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people and fun products to see.

    Cons

    Upper management was not good. Glad my old boss was fired, she was awful.

    Continue reading
    Zumiez2020-04-30
  7. "Terrible business model"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Zumiez part-time

    Pros

    employees were fun, product was cool, and you did have the freedom to set up your own displays

    Cons

    Extremely underpaid and overmanaged. Your hours are based not only on your sales, but how many items per sale, how many items you can sell online(even though you're in store?) and many other random metrics. They intentionally compete employees against each other, and management is based on punishment, not encouragement.

    Zumiez2020-04-24
  8. "I truly do not know"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Second Assistant Manager in Waterbury, CT
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Zumiez part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Commission is amazing - discount? i guess

    Cons

    - Corporate management does not pay you sick time unless labeled as "1st Assistant manager' no matter hours worked - Schedule is based on work hours/ sales which you have no option to decider -AKA you work a Monday 9-5 and have no sales, you will NOT get shifts assigned due to lack of sales

    Continue reading
    Zumiez2020-04-17
  9. "good job"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 

    I worked at Zumiez part-time

    Pros

    discounts were pretty good at the store

    Cons

    no real sales training. just have to go out and hope u can sell good

    Zumiez2020-04-12
  10. "Bad experience"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shipping and Receiving 

    I worked at Zumiez full-time

    Pros

    Nice people you work with. Lots of company parties and laid back atmosphere.

    Cons

    Lied about overtime. Said it would be every once and a while, it was every single day. 12 hours unloading trucks in 100 degree heat.

    Zumiez2020-04-10
Found 787 reviews