Zumtobel Reviews | Glassdoor

Zumtobel Reviews

Updated May 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 49 reviews

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
17%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Alfred Felder
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "Ability to maintain Work/Life balance thanks to Flextime and generous vacation policy(in 2 reviews)

  • "(in 2 reviews)

Cons
  • "Viele Einsparungen und viele Mitarbeiter verlassen das Unternehmen(in 3 reviews)

  • "People are promoted based on how long they have been in the company and who in the right positions they know rather than on performance(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zumtobel full-time

    Pros

    Get to work within many departments and projects. Leader in the lighting industry get to work with latest technology in the lighting manufacturing

    Cons

    Room for growth can be minimal Very top heavy for upper management, A lot of paper pushers and not enough doers.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to employees concerns and taking care of the employees doing the work that makes management look good. I think those employees should get more credit.

    Zumtobel2015-09-11
  2. "Assembler"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assembler in Highland, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Zumtobel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    fun atmosphere, fun co-workers, christmas lunch

    Cons

    Terrible pay, to hot in the summer time

    Advice to Management

    give raises

    Zumtobel2019-05-01
  3. "Could have been a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Zumtobel full-time

    Pros

    Most people you work with are great Variety of work

    Cons

    Too managers and directors Agendas often at odds with each other Communication is poor between areas Europe Hdqtrs does not seem to support US plant Process control is weak

    Advice to Management

    Restore structure and implement processes that you can sustain Training and team building are needed

    Zumtobel2018-02-24
  4. Helpful (2)

    "This company is a meatgrinder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - White Collar in Highland, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Zumtobel full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of oportunity for yes-men and do nothings. As long as you are happy having other people take credit for your good work while accepting the blame for their bad work, you will be happy here.

    Cons

    Local senior management has little understanding of the lighting industry and lies more frequently than I could believe. The"good-old-boys" club is strong here. I had vendors I had used for decades tell me that they would not give kickbacks to get projects when I told them I work for Zumtobel. The systems put l and processes are so convoluted they can only exist to hide embezzlement.

    Advice to Management

    Pull your heads out before the remaining good employees leave.

    Zumtobel2016-05-09
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Disappointment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - White Collar in Highland, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Zumtobel

    Pros

    Many diverse skills are required so lots can be learned.

    Cons

    Not one bit of job satisfaction as poor planning and poor execution always result in poor quality and returned material. Hard work on your part is wasted.

    Advice to Management

    Provide better planning and get involved. Supply materials to complete jobs, fix the inventory, get rid of the dead wood, provide better tools for EVERYONE.

    Zumtobel2012-03-11
  6. "Best products in the area."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - AREA SALES MANAGER in Moscow
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zumtobel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Product, Company name, knowledge base

    Cons

    Salery, Processes, number of products and not user friendly interface of sites

    Zumtobel2019-04-12
  7. "Area Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zumtobel full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Covers a wide range of lighting applications with a strong product offering. Offers the possibility to work with a lot of lighting experts and to learn a lot.

    Cons

    Poor management with a lot of internal politics. Most of the outperforming/star employees left the company in the same period and have not been properly replaced.

    Advice to Management

    Don't hire VP and GM based on your personal relationship. Establish a transparent recruitment and evaluation process for executive positions.

    Zumtobel2019-05-05
  8. "Short comment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zumtobel full-time

    Pros

    Hideen champion in the lighting industry

    Cons

    Too proud about its position

    Zumtobel2019-02-08
  9. "Still the best in lighting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Vice President in Dornbirn
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zumtobel full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The leader in its industry, not in revenue but in ambition

    Cons

    The company is in restructuring, which is why I left in 2018 to join a competitor.

    Advice to Management

    Be transparent and develop a strategy. Then execute. Do not tolerate unreliable and dishonest leaders and middle management.

    Zumtobel2019-01-12
  10. "do not understand what is asked for in this point"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dornbirn
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Zumtobel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very nice location of the company headquarter

    Cons

    low level of professional skills in the company, lack of vision, very bad behavior toward employees

    Advice to Management

    start to get best industry practices in all functional areas, build company culture and values

    Zumtobel2018-11-29
Found 49 reviews