KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Zuora

Engaged Employer

Zuora

Add a Review

Zuora Reviews

Updated Aug 17, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 478 of over 532 reviews

3.9
77%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Zuora Founder & CEO Tien Tzuo
Tien Tzuo
372 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

446

62 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Zuora and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Excellent workplace to work with

    Aug 17, 2022 - Technical Support Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    RSU will be given, good bonus if asked, good WLB as of now, Respect others decision, can freely talk to anyone whoever it is (even CEO)

    Cons

    On site opportunities can be included.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Very good company

    Aug 13, 2022 - Lead Technical Consultant in Chennai
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Abundant freedom and no micromanagement

    Cons

    Product/Software complexity and needs lot of effort during initial days to understand the base products

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great org

    Aug 11, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to work undoubtedly

    Cons

    None that I can think now.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Zuora Response

    We are grateful to receive this feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share it with us. Our ZEOs are our biggest asset, so making sure that we provide a positive experience is what we strive for. We look forward to growing together!

  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Work at Zuora

    Aug 9, 2022 - Software Engineer II in Chennai
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work life balance Flexibility (work and time ) Leave benefits Culture

    Cons

    Architectural Decisions Communication with other teams (Internal)

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Zuora Response

    Thank you for sharing your feedback and experience at Zuora thus far. We take great pride in the perks, benefits, and experiences we create for our ZEOs—our biggest asset. We hope you feel informed and supported through the decision and change process, as this is our hope for every ZEO as we continue to scale. This includes continuing to improve the connectivity and x-functional collaboration of our global teams. Thanks again for your feedback, we look forward to fulfilling our mission together!

  5. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great company with lots of growth

    Aug 4, 2022 - Technical Support Manager in London, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company, fun and friendly people, growth opportunities, good work-life balance, nice office, interesting work, supportive management & leadership.

    Cons

    Can't think of any right now!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Zuora Response

    We are so glad to hear that you are enjoying the many perks of being a ZEO at Zuora. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we 100% agree with your advice—we’re on it!

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Consulting manager

    Jul 22, 2022 - Principal Consultant in Paris
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everything is perfect in the company / French office

    Cons

    No concern regarding the company

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Zuora Response

    We are so glad to hear this feedback. Thank you for sharing it with us. We are grateful to have passionate ZEOs like yourself leading the way. We look forward to supporting you and growing together!

  7. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    By far worst experience in this company

    Jul 16, 2022 - Sr. Software Engineer in San Mateo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can find some great hard working engineers

    Cons

    The other bad reviews are real. Mid level managers in engineering are worst . They have autonomy to hire and fire as they please. I realized I am hired along with other resources and I am let go after few months. I am kept busy to not realize what was going on . Despite me checking how I am doing , I was told to keep doing good work on projects. HR is a big joke. They are puppets under mgmt. Don’t join here unless you know someone who is in mgmt role. The agony I went through for the months I was there.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Zuora Response

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. At Zuora, we are always looking to ensure that the ZEO experience is a great one and each ZEO is given the opportunity to bring forth any issues/concerns. If you're open to discussing this further, we encourage you to share your feedback directly with your leadership team or connect with your ZEO Success Partner who can help provide additional support.

  8. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Challenging work environment

    Jul 7, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Interesting vision. Leadership in pockets.

    Cons

    A lot of egos. A lot of ideas without ability to execute. Chasing tails. NPS score the lowest of any company I've ever seen.

    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great vision but the product is lacking and work life balance is not there

    Jun 27, 2022 - Account Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The subscription economy is an interesting vision that gets many companies excited to speak with us. Colleagues were really helpful and fun to be with. Before Covid, we'd go for a beer after work once a week at least.

    Cons

    I spent 3 years at this company working in sales where I was fairly successful and as much as I'd like to recommend it to others, I just can't and here is why. The product is not good for the amount it costs - of the 8 or so customers I managed, 1 was happy with Zuora. The rest were either furious or generally disappointed in having purchased the most expensive billing platform which isn't much different from the cheaper options out there (Chargebee, recurly etc). Zuora competes with the argument that "in order to be successfull in the subscription economy, you need to experiment with pricing & packaging + allow customers to make changes to their subsciption" but as nice and cool that sounds, I've never seen it in reality. In reality, 90% of the deals I closed + the customers I had simply deployed a simple monthly subscription fee which could have easily been done with a competitor that costs significantly less. Perhaps in the future when the subscription economy is more mature but I still believe we're far away from there and question if we'll ever get there. The subscription economy opportunity is not big enough for you as a sales rep - perhaps pessimistic but to make a subscription model profitable is not easy. It takes a large business transformation for a company to launch a new or rebrand an existing revenue stream into recurring. To rely on these big business transformation to hit quota is tough, but not impossible. Toxic sales leaders. Warboard meetings every other day for the last 4 weeks of the quarter at 18:00. Management yelling at sales reps at almost every one of those without providing constructive feedback. During my time there, we had a crazy turnover of Sales engineers. At times, we shared 1 SE on 5 reps. This leads to not enough senior SE's. Most AE's does not meet quota - I encourage you to reach out to 5 random AE's and ask them about quota attainment. From what I saw on the leaderboard, the AE's who met quota did so with 70%+ of their quota coming from upsells of 1 mammoth customer. If you don't have those whale customers, it's tough to make quota from new biz (which it is everywhere I guess). BDR team's turnover is also very high, even compared to industry standards. Several sales reps have not been paid commissions after leaving the company and the commission + salary is generally quite sketchy (i.e. you have 0 visibility into your commission and salaries are sometimes delayed). My conclusion is - The subscription economy vision is really fun to sell if you like to be a bit bombastic & inspire business transformation - however, Zuora is not a price worthy solution as there are several competitors at a much lower price who has caught up to Zuora's technology. Just check Zuora's review from customers on truspilot which is 6/10.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Zuora Response

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and we’re grateful for your three years of dedication to our mission. We hope you made some great connections, learned a ton, and felt like you grew during your time with us. We are scaling rapidly as we grow to operate at a new level and continue leading the Subscription Economy, a $1.5 trillion market (UBS.) This includes heavily investing in products as our pace of innovation has never been faster. Our robust roadmap includes an incredible set of new capabilities that add more value, and are continuing to evolve our products to solve more problems for our customers. We heavily invest in enablement to ensure everyone’s shared success because when our customers are successful, that means both our Sales teams and Zuora are successful. As a result, we do drive towards our targets and our commission plans are designed to reward AEs when they close business, whether that’s a new business, renewals, or delivering new products to existing customers. We’re also proud to say Sales turnover is at an all-time low, well below market averages and our engagement scores are strong signaling we continue to move in the right direction. Thank you again for your feedback and your contributions, we wish you the best of luck in your future!

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Aewsome

    Jun 24, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in Chennai