KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Zuora

Engaged Employer

Zuora

Add a Review

Zuora Employee Reviews about "leadership"

Updated Aug 17, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 79 of over 532 reviews

3.9
77%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Zuora Founder & CEO Tien Tzuo
Tien Tzuo
372 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

441

62 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Zuora and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "leadership"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Corporate Trickle Down Start Up

    Sep 5, 2015 - Anonymous 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Structure being added to this place to better communication, which is desperately needed. A bond exists within teams because it is needed due to lack of leadership / structure. I loved the connection that our junior level team had when we had to bond together to survive some tough projects.

    Cons

    I agree with a former post that this place is overrated. I also agree that the leadership structure is extremely top down and communication often gets lost in the mix. Leadership is so distant that it almost feels non-existent. I reported to a manager who worked from home on the east coast and was often too busy to return my emails so it was extremely difficult to get things done. The general consensus around the company is that sales gets a majority of the attention while the blame is put on the others teams for not being able to keep up with the pace, The investment is being put into sales team to establish market control, but not the other teams to service the influx. It was difficult to keep up incoming projects and new customers with an undersized team, and frustrating when leadership was upset at you for not being able to service unrealistic demands. Even more so when you do manage to have success and it is not visible to leadership due to the disconnect. Bottom line: I loved the people but left because it was so difficult to grow.

    Continue reading
    18 people found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work!

    Nov 10, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in San Mateo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing employee (ZEO) focused company with a powerful inclusive culture that supports success for everyone. A great CEO and leadership team. An exciting growing business

    Cons

    A little crazy and unstructured at times. Leaders who are scaling into big roles because of the rapid growth but few big issues

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful

    Zuora Response

    Talent Team

    Thanks for the feedback, we're glad to hear it! Growth is exciting and brings a lot of opportunity but we hear you and we'll continue to focus on our leadership and all ZEO development so we can keep building our company for the future.

  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company with a lot of focus on strategy

    Aug 12, 2019 - Director of Operations in San Mateo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Love the leadership team and their dedicated focus on the business and the best strategy to create a great customer experience. There are very smart and collaborative people throughout the organization. The company is very inclusive and allows me to be me.

    Cons

    Organizationally we are maturing into a larger organization so at times there are some operational growing pains (but I have seen that everywhere)

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Zuora Response

    Talent Team

    Thank you for your feedback and dedication!

  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Great Company and Disrupting Markets

    Dec 26, 2019 - Vice President in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company and leadership. Disruptive technology that the market needs.

    Cons

    Long sales cycles and very complex

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Not great

    Mar 7, 2022 - Anonymous in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay, nice facilities, company swag

    Cons

    Unfortunately, I have to agree with many of the 1-2 star reviews. While it depends on the department, in general, work life balance is poor here. The turnover rate is incredibly high (even considering the times we are in). Many co-workers have left within a year of starting. The family, supportive feel that once was (mainly pre-IPO) doesn’t exist. Leadership and tone from the top doesn’t always set the best example and that trickles down. Attitude and how you treat people makes a huge difference in retaining your staff. Hopefully, there will be a change in culture as there are still good people there.

    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    The best decision I've made in my career

    Jun 27, 2017 - Product Marketer in San Mateo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've been with Zuora for a couple of months now, and coming here was hands-down the best decision I've made in my career. What I love about Zuora is how passionate everyone is and how there are so many opportunities for career growth. Every morning I feel inspired and motivated to come into the office; work never feels like work. Even though the company has been around for 10 years, it's amazing how it still feels like a start-up; we move quickly and the organization is flat so leadership is easily accessible. Years ago we predicted that we'd shift to a Subscription Economy, and now that it's here and companies are just catching on, we're undoubtedly one of the key thought-leaders in this space. I'm proud to be a ZEO and excited for the future of Zuora!

    Cons

    As of now, there aren't that many places for lunch walking distance (closest is about 15 min.) New restaurants and beer garden are moving directly outside the office in a few months so that's something I'm really looking forward to.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Amazing Company with Solid Culture

    May 12, 2018 - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Professional Tools - Work Life Balance - Health Benefits I have worked at a few software companies and never have I seen an investment in culture and employee success like this one. I truly believe the company has my interests in mind every time I start my day. The benefits are great for a family and are more than reasonable in cost. Leadership is clear with the vision and always sharing the companies wins.

    Cons

    If I had to add one it would be no 401K contribution, but I will say that there are other incentive plans that make up for that.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Zuora Response

    Talent Team

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback! We do value each and every one of our ZEOs. Building a culture in which you can thrive and be inspired by our shared company vision is of the utmost importance to us.

  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    People are mostly friendly and great to work with. Organization structure leaves a lot to be desired

    Jul 24, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    COVID response was tremendous. No firing but compensation freeze only BLM feedback and initiatives was instantaneous. CEO was one of the first CEOs to recognize it and speak out about it. People are friendly and generally great to work with Leader in the subscription billing category so there will always be business Worklife balance is great, there is not much stress if you want to be average. Company does not require you to go to office. Office itself is nice especially the new Redwood City location.

    Cons

    Organization structure have a lot of duplicate roles. Some people are doing the things they are not supposed to do because there is no clear guideline. There is also no clear career path. Zuora has hard time retaining great talent. Leftovers are either not motivated enough to find another job or they do not have the skillset to do so. Product management although has improved because of new leadership but product roadmap is still unclear. Core part of the products is great but the add-ons are not mature Quite a bit of churn issue in their customer base. Over promise in the sales cycle which leads to unmet expectation

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Hard Charging Enterprise Company Grounded in a Positive Culture

    Sep 22, 2020 - Alliances in Redwood City, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great customer base with room to grow, and compelling technology that is unique in the industry. The culture is based on open and kind feedback, with people who really want to do the right thing for our customers and the growth of the business. New GTM leadership is really making a big difference.

    Cons

    Some lingering effects of a previous leadership team still exists that set things in the wrong direction. A handful of long term people are leaving as the new leadership is trying to clean up bad behavior and make everyone accountable, and not everyone wants to work that hard.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful