Zurich North America Reviews

Updated Jun 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
39%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Zurich North America CEO Kathleen Savio
Kathleen Savio
78 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work/life balance was really good for the vast majority of the year(in 79 reviews)

  • "Flexible, strong compensation package, good benefits(in 71 reviews)

Cons
  • "Felt restricted by corporate in many areas; out of state upper management(in 38 reviews)

  • "Difficult to balance work life balance due to excessive work load(in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Representative 

    I worked at Zurich North America full-time

    Pros

    People, bonus, awards, environment, pa

    Cons

    pay lunch work times distance to drive

    Zurich North America Response

    May 7, 2019

    Awesome is the key word here. Our people, bonuses, awards, environment, and your five star review are all awesome!!!

  2. "Claims adjuster"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Adjuster 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zurich North America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company culture great, team oriented, and management wants you to succeed.

    Cons

    Outdated systems can be frustrating. Other than lagging in basic tech systems I believe this is an awesome company to work for.

    Continue reading

    Zurich North America Response

    June 30, 2020Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you so much for the positive review. Zurich works hard to foster a collaborative, positive, and inclusive culture for our talented employees. We just launched our ENPS survey and encourage you to share your feedback and suggestions.

  3. "Great people and great benefits."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Actuarial Analyst in Schaumburg, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Zurich North America full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Enjoyed nearly every person I worked with. Work/life balance was really good for the vast majority of the year. Benefits were very very good.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Zurich North America Response

    June 22, 2020Employment Brand and Diversity Sourcing Strategist

    Thank you for the review. Zurich is so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We wish you the best with your future endeavors. Please remain in touch and continue checking out our new career opportunities on zurichna.com/careers.

  4. "Tax"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tax in Schaumburg, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Zurich North America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Staff - should have stayed

    Cons

    none that I can think of--Great Company

    Zurich North America Response

    June 16, 2020Talent Acquisition Manager

    We entirely agree with your five star review. Zurich and our employees are great. We encourage you to visit our career site at www.zurichna.com/careers, and check out our employment opportunities. Till then, we wish you all the best.

  5. "Solid for a call center position"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Care Professional in Colorado Springs, CO

    I worked at Zurich North America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Direct management really cares about your success. Good work environment, coworkers are friendly, minimal drama.

    Cons

    Not a lot of room for advancement, very long term investment if so. Felt restricted by corporate in many areas; out of state upper management

    Zurich North America Response

    June 16, 2020Talent Acquisition Manager

    We are proud of the support our Customer Care Center provides to our customers. Our Customer Care Professionals are a key ingredient to Zurich's successful operation. We couldn't agree more with your list of pros. Zurich strives to provide a cohesive environment, where employees are truly empowered to be their best. We were sorry to read that you felt there was no room for advancement. Zurich offers many opportunities, both promotional and lateral for employees to expand their career. We hope you will consider Zurich again in the future. Please check out our career site at www.zurichna.com/careers. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Na"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Claims Adjuster in Atlanta, GA

    I worked at Zurich North America full-time

    Pros

    It was a great company

    Cons

    No work life balance there

    Zurich North America Response

    June 8, 2020Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you so much for your five star review. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

  7. Helpful (2)

    "They say that they care about their employees, But don’t prove it"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ccp II 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zurich North America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    •WFH 2 days a week •Holiday pay • Decent pto

    Cons

    • They screw over the employees when it actually comes to working holidays • Management doesn’t actually care to change anything, they just act like they’re making these big steps forward •The systems they use are broken, and it gets worse after every update. •If you have to contact anyone not in your department they either never get back to you, or treat you like a five year old. • You get over worked and they expect you to be ok with some cheap pizza to make up for it.

    Continue reading

    Zurich North America Response

    June 22, 2020Employment Brand and Diversity Sourcing Strategist

    Zurich would like to thank you for your review. We are proud of all the offerings in our Total Rewards benefits package and strive to create change and improvements based on our employees’ feedback. We encourage you to visit Zurich’s Idea Center to share your suggestions.

  8. COVID-19
    Helpful (2)

    "Low Pay, High Workload"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources in Schaumburg, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zurich North America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    *Good Benefits *Work from home - up to 3 days * If you play the game, you can go far.

    Cons

    *Pay isn't competitive, unless you're in a money making role. Most employees leave to get a raise then eventually come back to Zurich. *I was paid below market value for YEARS, and they 'looked into it' for years. Guarantee if I was a male they would have approved the raise. Ended up leaving for a 30% raise, which is sad I was underpaid that much as a female. *Zurich as a bit of a "boys club" and promotes on favoritism very often *Slow to make decisions, have to go through many layers for approval. *Very conservative and anti-risk company - great example is cancelling the 2020 Intern program due to COVID after already making offers. *High performers are overworked and low performers never addressed

    Continue reading

    Zurich North America Response

    June 17, 2020Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for your review, and we wish you the best with your future endeavors. Flexibility in the workplace and offering a competitive benefits package is an important way Zurich supports our employees. Pay equality is critical to the success of any organization. At Zurich, we conduct equal pay and competitive salary analysis regularly. And we focus on the feedback of our employees to help us make sustainable change and enhancements to our work environment.

  9. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zurich North America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible, strong compensation package, good benefits.

    Cons

    Very segmented with limited interaction between business units.

    Zurich North America Response

    June 3, 2020Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you so much for the five star review! Zurich is proud of our benefits package and ability to offer flexibility to our employees. We continue to work on providing a collaborative environment for all business areas and encourage you to visit our Idea Center. Zurich greatly appreciates our employee feedback and has been able to leverage these suggestions to improve our processes, communication, and business strategies.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good company but behind the times"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager in Overland Park, KS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zurich North America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture: great culture as they empower their employees to own their work and drive results. Compensation: above market average at the time I was employed there. Good bonus structure too, and spot bonuses for work that was above and beyond. Excellent work/life balance. You could even sign an agreement to work a certain amount of days from home every week (barring the need to alter for the business). Industry: stable and will always be needed.

    Cons

    The company technology across the enterprise is way behind other companies. They were trying to get on to Windows 10 and Office 365 when I was there, which is a few years back of other companies I'm familiar with. And those were projects, which took resources and time. Insurance, by nature, isn't the most exciting field, but you do see the other side and how complex it can be. The company also had many departments, especially IT, continually reorganizing and it was a nightmare for me as I had three managers in my first 6 months. Not ideal.

    Continue reading

    Zurich North America Response

    May 26, 2020Talent Acquisition Manager

    We are so glad you enjoyed our work culture as Zurich receives that positive feedback a lot. Zurich is a company that encourages employees to be the CEO of their career, and you’re right, we do empower our employees to own their work, and drive results. The insurance industry might have felt stifled and slow to embrace change in the past. However, Zurich is very optimistic about driving future change in the industry and focusing on innovation. In fact, it’s an exciting place to be right now. We will share your review with the Sr. IT Leadership Team. Zurich sincerely wishes you all the best in your future endeavors. Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Found 853 reviews