KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Zurich North America

Is this your company?

Zurich North America

Add a Review

Zurich North America Reviews

Updated Jun 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 947 of over 1K reviews

3.7
68%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Zurich North America CEO Kristof Terryn
Kristof Terryn
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "good leadership, great management and work life balance(in 85 reviews)

  • "Flexible, strong compensation package, good benefits(in 75 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Felt restricted by corporate in many areas; out of state upper management(in 39 reviews)

  • "Difficult to balance work life balance due to excessive work load(in 31 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Zurich North America and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Zurich is awesome

      Mar 11, 2021 - Senior Account Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Care about employees and customers.

      Cons

      Salary freeze in 2021 which sucks

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Zurich North America Response

      Talent Acquisition Manager

      Thank you for your five star review. Our employees are truly the reason for Zurich's success by putting the needs of our customers first. Due to the dedication and resilience of our employees in a unprecedented year, we were able to offer 2020 Short-Term Incentive Plan awards.

    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Be careful here

      Jun 15, 2021 - Underwriting Associate in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Work/Life Balance WFH two days a week before pandemic, may be more now after? Solid brand OK benefits When I left, they were trying to get more with the times in terms of technology so that's a good thing.

      Cons

      -Extremely siloed -Lots of politics/nepotism/favoritism -Management changes direction and cleans house constantly - because of this, -you may lose opportunities to get promoted I started at Zurich with a very positive outlook. Management at the time was supportive, coworkers were great and my workload was manageable. I knew where I wanted to go within the company and did everything that I could keep myself lined up for promotion. Then, I noticed how layoffs are a common occurrence throughout the company though I never really understood why, I just assumed it was necessary cost cutting. Fast forward one year and it was a completely different place. The management that supported me in my development either got new jobs or were let go. The company also began a massive clean up of it's poor book of business. Ultimately, priorities changed. And I, probably like many others hoping to move up, were left forgotten. The workload increased substantially while pay didn't. Side note, promotions aren't something where management gives you a new title and job based on your hard work. You still have to apply and go through the formal HR process which I think is exceptionally stupid. Some managers go around that opening jobs for a specific candidate on their team so that's ok. Once I started applying for promotions, it quickly became apparent that either the company or manager had someone else in mind or the pool of candidates was just too large. You might have had one hundred people applying for the same UW job. Then, if you were lucky enough to get to the HR screener, you still had to jump through hoops including interviews and online assessments (wtf?). As stated above, after going through the process several times, sometimes making it to the last round of interviews and other times not even getting a call from HR, I simply gave up and took my talents elsewhere. After seeing other people get promoted with less experience, the nepotism and favoritism showed its ugly face.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A great places to work

      Jun 15, 2021 - International Service Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great opportunities to learn and network with others.

      Cons

      I truly do not have any cons.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Good Company

      Jun 9, 2021 - Manager in Kansas City, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits and salary. People are great to work with.

      Cons

      Upper management is out of touch with the workers in the field. Decisions made that are not in the best interest of the employees

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Underwriter

      Jun 15, 2021 - Cyber Underwriter in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work culture and benefits

      Cons

      Not comparable pay in comparison to the market

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      OK place to work

      Jun 13, 2021 - Actuary 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great group of actuaries to work with all over the world.

      Cons

      Strategic direction is always changing (e.g. we are going to invest in the future (Amalfi), then a couple years later we decided that was all wrong and we are going to cut expenses, downsize, and completely tear down that strategy). A large percentage of my co-workers and friends were down-sized over the years. Good wages, but don't plan on retiring there.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Long hours/Great coworkers/Low pay/Call Center job

      May 17, 2021 - Customer Service Representative in Colorado Springs, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Coworkers are great, no other pros

      Cons

      Low pay, actual job did not match what I was told in interview by recruiter/Micro-managed every minute of the day. Training did not prepare you for job as you are told by auditors that you are wrong even if you do it that way you were trained

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Zurich North America Response

      Talent Acquisition Manager

      Thank you for your review, and we are glad to hear you enjoy working with you colleagues. We appreciate your feedback and will share it with our management team.

    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      great team

      Jun 8, 2021 - Analyst in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      one time that is helping each other

      Cons

      the pay is not the greatest

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      good

      Jun 4, 2021 - Software Engineer in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      balanced life and good ptos

      Cons

      salary not very competitive, work load high

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Zurich North America Response

      Talent Acquisition Manager

      Thank you for your review and comments about our benefits package. As part of Zurich's continued commitment to our employees and candidates, we conduct an annual salary analysis to ensure our employees receive fair and equitable pay.

    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great. Not a dead end. Segway and subway voices.

      May 23, 2021 - Senior Odficer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great mainstream powplw swims upward loves variety up tosate trend report. Community indusium

      Cons

      No cussing no being husband to work with me or the car. That's bout it

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Zurich North America Response

      Talent Acquisition Manager

      Thank you for the review.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 947 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Zurich North America Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Zurich North America? Share Your Experiences

    or