Zurich North America Underwriting Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Underwriting Assistant

Zurich North America Underwriting Assistant Reviews

Updated Jan 25, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 22 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
Zurich North America CEO Kathleen Savio
Kathleen Savio
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Underwriting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriting Assistant in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zurich North America full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Large insurance company, several offices around the US, global presence therefore has the pros of a large company and follows work life balance as industry norm.

    Cons

    Very political, Morale is bad with all of the layoffs going on, Management out of touch with everyone else, Way too many layers, Headquartered in Schaumburg.

    Advice to Management

    Management is making a lot of good workers leave the company.

    Zurich North America2016-09-16
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Your career at Zurich is what you make of it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Underwriting Assistant in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Zurich North America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary is competitive compared to competitors. Health insurance cost less than competitors. Vast amount of training and resources available. Work environment is friendly. Work from home & casual “dress for your day policy” Culture of company is open in regards to diversity. Training is sufficient. They don’t just throw you in.

    Cons

    Management is constantly breathing down your neck. Performance review is unfair. Distribution of performance grades are predetermined regardless of individual’s performance. Processes are highly inefficient. Constant measurement of KPIs and metrics becomes overbearing. Difficult to balance work life balance due to excessive work load. Constant implementation of new tasks that dilutes efficiency. Highly political. Depending...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your people and they will take care of you.

    Zurich North America2018-01-26

    Zurich North America Response

    February 2, 2018Talent Acquisition Manager

    What a great list of pros! We love that you value our friendly work environment, newly introduced “dress for your day” policy, solid training, and diverse culture. Thank you for your feedback about the performance review process. We are pleased to announce a change that will ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Underwriting Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Zurich North America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and flexible hours

    Cons

    Hard to move up in the company

    Zurich North America2017-06-02
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriting Assistant in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zurich North America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice team. Decent office environment. Free coffee, tea. Flex time and good benefits. Annual STIP. leave earlier on Fridays in the summer.

    Cons

    Systems are poor. Procedures and processes are unnecessarily complicated. Small office means possibly limited opportunities if you plan to stay with Zurich in Cleveland.

    Zurich North America2017-03-02
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Interesting middle management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Underwriting Assistant in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zurich North America

    Pros

    Fair salary. Nice team to work with.

    Cons

    Training could have been better. Each insurance company has their own systems and you have to be trained on how to processes the submissions,policies, enforcements etc.... I was trained by someone who was hired 2 months before me. Not good not everyone is a teacher.

    Advice to Management

    Better training and learn the the different lines of business

    Zurich North America2016-09-27
  6. Helpful (8)

    "The Big Z"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Underwriting Assistant III in Atlanta, GA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zurich North America

    Pros

    Good salary, good benefits, good amount of PTO with options to buy/sell additional PTO days.

    Cons

    Upper mgmt doesn't really listen to what is going on in the lower levels.

    Zurich North America2016-09-07
  7. Helpful (15)

    ""Abandon Ship""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Underwriting Assistant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zurich North America for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flex Hours and Summer Schedule were nice; manager I personally work for was very good; some really good, decent people in the office.

    Cons

    Where to begin??? Now being a former employee I must say that from the outside, seeing that they can spend who knows what on an expensive state of the art corporate HQ in Schaumburg but can't even retain their own employees is a very bad look. People I keep in touch with who are still at the company feel like their job security is totally up in the air with the impending layoffs that are still to come. I was there while...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Ditch TBW, it's not a good philosophy. - Work tracking shows that you have zero faith in your employees and diminishes trust and morale. - Kind of simple but how about retaining your employees who actually do all of the work and cutting out bloated management which doesn't? - Too much time wasted on bad training. - Complete overhaul needed.

    Zurich North America2016-10-04
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Sr. Underwriting Assistance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriting Assistant in Flowery Branch, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Zurich North America for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I have no pros at this time

    Cons

    Too much micro management that you can't finish the job. Workload is too high - most people are doing the work of 3 people

    Zurich North America2016-09-07
  9. Helpful (11)

    "Horrible work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Underwriting Assistant in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Zurich North America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Summer hours Coworkers are awesome Convenient location Clean environment Nice office building Finding it hard to make the twenty word minimum

    Cons

    Local & upper management are horrible Micromanagement Ridiculous workload Unattainable goals High employee turnover Forced charitable work that is a part of your review/objectives /goals. 90 day wait for health benefits Apathetic HR Low morale Management harass employees instead of lead Salaries not competitive No concern for employees well being

    Advice to Management

    Treat your talent with respect. Leave them alone so they can do their jobs. Too many meetings that take up a chunk of time then reprimanded because of workload. Stop pretending to care & start caring.

    Zurich North America2016-07-30
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Good Place to Start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Underwriting Assistant in San Leandro, CA

      I have been working at Zurich North America for more than a year

      Pros

      - Pretty good Benefits - Great colleagues - Good work environment

      Cons

      - Management holds unrealistic production goals - The company tires to implement a one size fit all type of approach

      Advice to Management

      Need to hear what employees need to say on things that are not working.

      Zurich North America2016-06-14
    Found 22 reviews