Zynga Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Zynga Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Nov 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
75%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Zynga CEO Frank Gibeau
Frank Gibeau
26 Ratings
  1. "Great Experience For Interns"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer Intern in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zynga

    Pros

    Great teams, awesome work-life balance, free food, dogs everywhere, fun environment, empowering for interns

    Cons

    Work doesn't feel meaningful, little communication between teams, engineers opinions are disregarded

    Advice to Management

    Make more room for innovation and new ideas. Zynga feels years behind the rest of the mobile game industry.

    Zynga2017-10-26
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Worst place I ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in South San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zynga full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent Salary Good stock options Great Benefits Free lunch in San Fran

    Cons

    Everything else Poorly run teams People over promoted Political and if you aren't on the insider group forget it.

    Advice to Management

    Stop focusing on just getting the stock price up.

    Zynga2019-08-05
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Can’t complain overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zynga full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay Balanced work style

    Cons

    Games have no direction or future

    Advice to Management

    Bring back creativity and fun.

    Zynga2019-02-18
  4. "Fun place with old tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zynga full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of perks Free food Great gym Fun dynamic environment Smart people

    Cons

    Old tech Products are very money oriented, which is fine to sustain, but not fun to develop personally because those who make the games do not typically play the games

    Advice to Management

    Nothing particular, highly depends on the team. Current team is always willing to listen to ideas which is always good

    Zynga2018-04-17
  5. "Enjoyed It"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zynga full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great when things are going great for your game.

    Cons

    Gaming is a fickle business and if your game falters it will get cancelled.

    Zynga2018-03-10
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Experiences of a former employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zynga full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The food. The parties. The monthly show & tell

    Cons

    Was let go two weeks before one year's up, conveniently shutting me out of a chunky promised equity compensation. The people in my engineering and design team have cliques and after approaching to be friendly for a few times I was like why bother it feels very much like high school. The exception was the art team. After months of getting back on my feet I joined another Fortune 500 doing the same work but very relaxing. And they really value what I do unlike Zynga where my advanced experiences and specialties could not be utilized in the constant patchworks and code-debt. I've met another engineer with similar background I too see him doing somewhat unexciting work too. . It was a lesson that -From a person with over 10+ years experience in games

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The project failed to launch eventually. I could have sent something to alert the senior management on what went wrong with the middle management and the cliques even within engineering. But like victims of sexual assault I'm reflecting now that back then I shut myself after the experience. Only now by chance today I got a Glassdoor email about Zynga am I sharing a little of it now.

    Zynga2018-02-28
  7. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Zynga full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Zynga pays well and has good benefits. There's a lot of very talented people there.

    Cons

    Frequently heavy hours. PM driven company (maybe a positive depending on your point of view). Upper management is not good at picking the right games to develop. Your game may be cancelled prior to launch.

    Advice to Management

    Enable employees across all levels of the company to participate in solving problems and being a part of the creative process.

    Zynga2018-01-24
  8. "Gaining stability, less exciting opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Zynga full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Amazing perks: gym, food, parties - Great culture - strong leadership/community of women, generally kind people, open atmosphere where you can bring up something if it's bothering you - CEO Frank is someone who I trust to do the right thing for the company

    Cons

    - Inconsistency across studios - cultures, practices, and goals are very varied across Studios, so it might be useful to meet with the team you are hired for before you make the decision to work at Zynga - Business model is stabilizing but still not as good for future SF HQ - Still lots of attrition - talent is leaving at a pretty steady rate

    Advice to Management

    - Focus on retaining talent - Hire the right people - Keep perks & culture right

    Zynga2018-01-20
  9. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zynga for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly environment. Great management. Interesting projects

    Cons

    Lack of structured teams No enforcement of formal code reviews

    Zynga2017-10-20
  10. "Software Engineering Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Zynga

    Pros

    Awesome people, good work, learning new technologies, great environment

    Cons

    Nothing about it was really that bad, you get what you expect out of it, and its an awesome time if you really like games.

    Zynga2017-09-22
Found 153 reviews