amNewYork Reviews | Glassdoor

amNewYork Reviews

Updated Feb 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Great place to get clips!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Reporter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at amNewYork for less than a year

    Pros

    Editors are very supportive and let you pitch every now and then Flexible with days to fit your school schedule Oppurtunity to get a lot of clips Some interviews would be conducted on the phone so it can get monotonous but overall good work ethic Friendly staff

    Cons

    No hiring oppurtunities Unpaid Ideas get lost sometimes

    amNewYork2019-02-01
  2. "Supportive, learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Editorial Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at amNewYork for less than a year

    Pros

    Offers paid internships, friendly and knowledgeable full-time staff

    Cons

    Sometimes disorganized, but in a way not uncommon for a newsroom

    amNewYork2018-01-06
  3. "Lower your expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at amNewYork full-time

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues and decent benefits.

    Cons

    The corporate, sweat-shop atmosphere stifles creativity and opportunities for growth. Senior management expects 24/7 work lifestyles, with very little support. Quality control over the work is low, a dispiriting experience for anyone who takes pride in what they produce. Overall, the newsroom has a low morale.

    amNewYork2018-01-11
  4. "Former intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Sports Intern in New York, NY

    I worked at amNewYork for less than a year

    Pros

    I was given the opportunity to write original pieces for both the online and print edition of the paper.

    Cons

    I did not have as much opportunity to do original reporting and rather relied on my own research and knowledge.

    amNewYork2016-01-12
  5. "Average place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at amNewYork

    Pros

    The hours are pretty good so work life balance is easy to maintain. The company is subsidiary of Newsday and Cablevision so they have the money to provide the infrastructure needed to succeed.

    Cons

    Many employees are lifers and have been with the company for too long. Especially in upper-management. Advancement felt more like it had to do with who you know versus how good of an employee you were.

    amNewYork2016-01-14
  6. "Great Product,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at amNewYork full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone loves the product. I cannot say anything positive.

    Cons

    Poor Pay and Commissions structure. No room for growth! Local Management has no voice in running local office Local management does not have your back Do not accept a position!

    Advice to Management

    Don't be so stingy! Pehaps if you would pay your people, you would not have such a high turn over . Let local management run the office and not Newsday. Newsday folks have no clue what it is like to sell to the small retailer in NYC. Give people raises if they do good.

    amNewYork2014-10-08
  7. "From nothing to number one in Manhattan in a year."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Circulation Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at amNewYork full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Many of the best and brightest people in the industry worked here. We had great success here during startup in 2003.

    Cons

    Long hours, but tht's to be expected at a startup.

    amNewYork2013-09-29
Found 7 reviews