athenahealth Member of Technical Staff Reviews | Glassdoor

athenahealth Member of Technical Staff Reviews

Updated Mar 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
34%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
athenahealth Chairman and CEO Bob Segert
Bob Segert
6 Ratings
  1. "Great Company to work for with a lot of Potential!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Member of Technical Staff in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The Austin office is one of a kind! Its located at the old Austin Power plant that's been completely modernized and has an amazing futuristic look and feel. In the Austin office, every Monday its Taco day. Company orders free breakfast tacos from Torchy's. There's a large shipment of all different types of snacks every month which is pretty cool. The office is beautiful and the people that work in the Austin office are super nice and laid back. My manager is relatively new to the company as I am as well, but we have a good synergy and it seems like there's a lot of room for growth. When I first got here it seemed like there was a lot of churn in the company because of the leadership changes. However, the new leadership team really does seem like they are doing a good job in focusing on the employees and making a difference in healthcare. Overall, even though I've only been here a couple of months, I love working here. I highly recommend it!

    Cons

    The infrastructure is a bit legacy but there are large scale projects to get it modernized.

    Continue reading
    athenahealth2020-03-17
  2. Helpful (10)

    "The Goal is to Sell"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Member of Technical Staff in Watertown, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary's fine, though they will no longer give equity to new hires. It feels good to work on something that will help people. Lots of good people.

    Cons

    athena has always been a company in constant transition, but this last year after the acquisition has been destructive. Our new management's only goal is to sell the company for as much as possible in four years - nothing else matters. This has lead to large layoffs while we show a profit, teams attempting to work on major projects being totally under-resourced, a migration from good enterprise tools (Slack) to cheaper ones that make our jobs harder (Microsoft Teams), and a constant push to cut costs while simultaneously being told the company is in great shape and we are "getting our mojo back". This experience has eroded athena's once-famous company culture, and it's been months since I've seen a week without a goodbye email in my inbox. In addition, the hedge funds that own us has, despite their claims, an extremely short-sighted outlook for us. We had a hiring freeze after the acquisition, only reopened this quarter after we showed good numbers for last quarter. I'm told "this is just how being owned by a hedge fund works" but only being granted resources when we do well gives me zero confidence I will still have a job when something outside my control happens to make the company post a bad quarter, especially given how detached it feels like senior leadership is from their employees.

    Continue reading
    athenahealth2019-10-20
  3. Helpful (5)

    "A shell of it's former self"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Member of Technical Staff in Watertown, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Still a few good people left at the company. Pretty flexible hours and work from home schedule.

    Cons

    Athena is not the same company it was when I started a few years ago. The Elliot investment and buyout has completely shredded any culture that was left. All decisions at this point come down to cost saving and making the company more attractive to go public again or a new buyer in a year or two down the road. It's really disappointing to see a company that once had a great culture and mission be torn apart by Wall St's greed.

    Continue reading
    athenahealth2019-11-08
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Not the same company it used to be, LGBT beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member of Technical Staff in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Great work/life balance * Cool office

    Cons

    * Management is not LGBT friendly, even though most of the company is friendly * They will work with you to get a promotion, and then take it away at the last second and deny you a bonus * Management is not up front with you and will lie to protect themselves at your expense * You may have a manager that will lie to your face in order to make themselves look better * You can be a great developer, but they won't give you a raise or bonus if they find something they don't like about you * Managers change frequently and products you are working on change all the time * Company is constantly feeling like your job is going to go away at any time, no stability * When you bring up grievances, they will not acknowledge issues or attempt to fix them, they will just punish you for doing it, even though they say they won't.

    Continue reading
    athenahealth2019-10-18
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Not for Diverse Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member of Technical Staff in Watertown, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Looked like a friendly company with opportunity.

    Cons

    Underneath the smiles, the dominant culture is one of indirect communication, lack of manager's being accountable, lots of closed door decision making, passive excluding, and nepotism. In less than one year, a few women of color quit, frustrated to not have a voice or seat at the table while watching the dominant demographic get promoted and listened to. Worse experience. Look at the company demographics, roles, and tenure for a true picture.

    Continue reading
    athenahealth2019-09-12
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Gone downhill substantially since acquisition process began"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Member of Technical Staff in Watertown, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are still great. My co-workers were always smart and fun and passionate. People believe in the mission statement of Athena and will work hard toward it. Very accepting and diverse environment. It was a joy to work with the people there.

    Cons

    Everything about how the company is run now. There seems to be no direction. All-hands meetings are frequent and filled with corporate buzzwords that with absolutely no substance. Genuine questions from employees rarely get genuine and meaninful answers. The environment team no longer cares about providing a comfortable work environment and instead are focused on cost-cutting. Benefits and perks are being rolled back and not replaced. Attrition and layoffs are brutal. Jonathan Bush was what allowed a company so large to still feel like a small, tight community. Since he was forced out, I never felt like anyone above my immediate manager was at all interested in my experience at Athena.

    Continue reading
    athenahealth2019-07-03
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Frequent management changes with old tech stack"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Member of Technical Staff in Watertown, MA
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good culture, dog friendly place

    Cons

    Has restructuring every 2 years, old tech stack

    athenahealth2019-05-01
  8. Helpful (29)

    "Abandon ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Member of Technical Staff in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Only pro was work life balance which is probably why I stayed so long. Managers don't care if you work from home or took off early as long as you got your stuff done and was available online for meetings. To be honest, I rarely worked a full 40 hours a week.

    Cons

    Honestly, where to start? There's so many things wrong with this company. In no particular order: - Constant restructuring. Organizations get changed multiple times a year. You move your desk multiple times a year. Products get started and canceled all the time. There have been some people working here for over 5 years that have yet to see a project get released due to cancellations and restructurings. - Compensation may be competitive when first joining the company. As time goes on though and you get promoted 1 or 2 times, you will end up being severely underpaid. Ended up with a 33% salary boost after leaving. I was also paid 30k under other people of the same title that had been recently hired. This is definitely a stay 2 years to get a promotion and jump ship company. - Watertown has a very toxic culture. No one there seems to know how to use Google to find solutions to previously solved problems nor does anyone there seems to care about continuing education. I've encountered so many instances of people implementing a horrible library to do something when there is a well used NodeJS/Java/etc library to do the same thing. Responses always were 'didn't know about it!'. Literally a simple Google search would have gotten you the results. Watertown also has a huge problem of just reinventing the wheel in general. Instead of using industry standards or software, they insist on rolling their own. Not only that, but Architects, Managers, etc expect the right now versus doing it right. I've had an Architect argue with my team that he wouldn't support us in getting what we needed because we could have implemented the work in an iFrame. An iFrame? in 2018? Get real man. - Watertown also has a horrible communication problems. If you have to work remotely with them, good luck. I've had to CC managers on emails to developers in Watertown before due to them ignoring Slack messages. - The holy CTO that is Prakash Khot. As previously mentioned, he's a textbook example of a sociopath. He manages to say a lot of stuff in a short amount of time without saying anything meaningful at all. He thinks he's an amazing architect but honestly, the only things he's done is take the company in the logical direction to play catch up with the technology trends while managing to completely rob the company of any morale and culture that we once had. He used last year's layoffs to fire everyone that opposed him and who he didn't like. - Ever since Prakash came on board, the company has slowly lost all the culture and fun it once had. It's now more corporate than ever. - Attrition is also very high. Everyone that's been here for more than 2 years is slowly leaving. The company is losing people faster than it's hiring. For anyone thinking about it, you WILL be replacing someone that left. - The board and upper management don't know how to manage this company. They had a prime opportunity to sell the company at $160 a share which is way over market value. Instead they twiddled their thumbs and ended up selling anyways at $130 a share. Who knows what the restructuring will be like. Likely to be further layoffs.

    Continue reading
    athenahealth2018-11-19
  9. "Software Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member of Technical Staff in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is competitive, good work/life balance

    Cons

    Little autonomy or room to learn new skills

    athenahealth2018-07-31
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Ossified Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Member of Technical Staff in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Generally speaking, there is a lot to like about athenahealth — the social mission of the company distinguishes it from many other software companies in the Boston area and the density of talented engineers there is surely right up there with all the FAANG companies in Kendall Square. Small scrum teams new to agile make it an ideal place to try new agile development techniques, and some teams have recently gone in on TDD and XP, which have allowed software teams to jive well. You have the opportunity to meet lots of people within different orgs — software, design, product, data science, etc. If you reach out and know those people well, you will cross pollinate ideas and meet a lot of talented people.

    Cons

    There is a level of leadership at athena that has been around since the beginning, and is a level I believe inhibits progress on both the product and technology. So many good engineers have been on projects that have been cancelled 80% of the way through because this ossified level of leadership got nervous or suddenly realized they didn’t understand the project or decided that they had a much better idea than the last one. These people have prevented the Boston software teams from fully embracing web development as it was in 2010 much less 2018. With all the talk from the CTO about microservices and REST and responsive front ends, this level of senior product leadership has decided to collectively inhibit the modernization efforts at the company to focus on tasks that only continue to become more difficult in a monolithic code base and will hamstring the company in due time. Company culture has diminished immensely since the activist investor has declared interest in the company. No more group outings, company parties, catered lunches, and so much more. These are small things that keep people happy and give you a sense of bonding and teamwork. Without them, you only cement existing personell silos between orgs.

    Continue reading
    athenahealth2018-05-26
Found 25 reviews