athenahealth Reviews

Updated May 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
62%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
athenahealth Chairman and CEO Bob Segert
Bob Segert
53 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Great opportunity for growth and learning!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineering Manager in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Athenahealth is filled with incredibly bright engineers. During my years here I have found tremendous mentors and developed my skills greatly. I like that Athenahealth is a meritocracy where years of experience are not required for a promotion. A engineer with a few years of experience can reach the highest cohorts if they are truly performing at that level. The other thing that is awesome is the dogs! I bring mine in every day - she is the favorite employee in the office.

    Cons

    Senior leadership has been swung around a bit with our recent acquisition. To be honest the effects haven't been felt too much in day to day activity. It was distracting for a time period, especially given the fomo on the conspiracy slack channels. Thankfully things have stabilized.

    athenahealth2020-01-17
  2. "Great place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Diversity, opportunity, collaboration and the ability to grow

    Cons

    Management out of touch with mid-level employees

    athenahealth2020-05-27
  3. "Getting good again"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Associate in Belfast, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work/life balance They're finally focusing on getting us thorough training (this is LONG overdue) Interesting, impactful work Excellent response and support during COVID. No complaints at all there.

    Cons

    Pay is okay for the area, but it could definitely improve.

    Continue reading
    athenahealth2020-05-25
  4. "Great analytics team rocked by questionable leadership choices"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Science Manager in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    When I arrived, athena had an excellent analytics/data science team culture, with a pronounced emphasis on successful onboarding. The people on my team were very positive and operated with a great deal of integrity. While the company was focused on serving the smaller provider practices, leadership was effective at staying on mission. They company made continual improvements to the Watertown campus with meaningful perks like a high-quality, healthy, subsidized cafeteria and bonding events off-site.

    Cons

    The company took a turn as they over expanded into the hospital space and started to take heat from activist investors (you can read about it in the New Yorker). Leadership panicked and got confused, which resulted in multiple re-orgs which laid people off and left the remaining people without a clear role (Some teams were so purposeless that the phrase 'athenacation' was coined to describe the state of permanent goofing off.) At that point I left, and the company was taken private and may be a very different place now.

    Continue reading
    athenahealth2020-05-11
  5. "Good Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Watertown, MA
    Recommends

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work hours, allows people to be autonomous

    Cons

    Commute to Watertown challenging at times

    athenahealth2020-05-06
  6. "Great place to learn and grow"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing people who care about your success If you put the work in you will be rewarded Truly care about their clients

    Cons

    Can be a bit political

    Continue reading
    athenahealth2020-04-23
  7. "Returning to its former glory"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Clear vision and strategy. Excellent operational execution. Investment capital available.

    Cons

    None, the company is on the right path

    Continue reading
    athenahealth2020-04-18
  8. "Great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Watertown, MA

    I have been working at athenahealth full-time

    Pros

    Nice work environment, friendly coworker

    Cons

    Nothing really come to my mind for this

    athenahealth2020-04-17
  9. "Not Very Demanding"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Work life balance is great - Most colleagues want to do good work

    Cons

    - Compensation continues to shrink in sneaky ways (especially if there’s a down year) - Leadership changes created a lot of churn, but very little impact. - Lack of accountability in pockets of the organization places odd demands on product managers

    athenahealth2020-04-16
  10. "Dedicated & Creative Co-Workers"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - User Experience in Watertown, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at athenahealth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Almost everyone I worked with was committed to improving healthcare. My co-workers were committed to doing the right thing.

    Cons

    Changing directives and conflicting goals can make it a difficult place to work.

    Continue reading
    athenahealth2020-04-21
Found 699 reviews