KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

athenahealth

Engaged Employer

athenahealth

Add a Review

athenahealth Employee Reviews about "senior leadership"

Updated Jun 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 24 of over 2K reviews

4.2
81%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
athenahealth Chairman and CEO Bob Segert
Bob Segert
139 Ratings
Pros
  • "good comapany to work with,good work life balance(in 206 reviews)

  • "Great culture, People Oriented company with challenging work(in 77 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "There has always been a bit of a sacrifice on the work/life balance(in 81 reviews)

  • "Senior Leadership tends to micromanage(in 43 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of athenahealth and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "senior leadership"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      athenahealth is steadily regaining its former glory

      Feb 14, 2020 - Product Manager in Watertown, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent benefits, great work life balance, strong culture of growth and empowerment, lots of super smart genuine people, tons of flexibility, competitive salaries, leadership seems to be back on the right track, business outlook is strong.

      Cons

      Some mid-to- senior leadership still seems stuck in the old way of doing things and lack coherent vision. Culture is still recovering following the loss of the founder/CEO and the acquisition by private equity.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      The Goal is to Sell

      Oct 20, 2019 - Senior Member of Technical Staff in Watertown, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary's fine, though they will no longer give equity to new hires. It feels good to work on something that will help people. Lots of good people.

      Cons

      athena has always been a company in constant transition, but this last year after the acquisition has been destructive. Our new management's only goal is to sell the company for as much as possible in four years - nothing else matters. This has lead to large layoffs while we show a profit, teams attempting to work on major projects being totally under-resourced, a migration from good enterprise tools (Slack) to cheaper ones that make our jobs harder (Microsoft Teams), and a constant push to cut costs while simultaneously being told the company is in great shape and we are "getting our mojo back". This experience has eroded athena's once-famous company culture, and it's been months since I've seen a week without a goodbye email in my inbox. In addition, the hedge funds that own us has, despite their claims, an extremely short-sighted outlook for us. We had a hiring freeze after the acquisition, only reopened this quarter after we showed good numbers for last quarter. I'm told "this is just how being owned by a hedge fund works" but only being granted resources when we do well gives me zero confidence I will still have a job when something outside my control happens to make the company post a bad quarter, especially given how detached it feels like senior leadership is from their employees.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great opportunity for growth and learning!

      Jan 17, 2020 - Software Engineering Manager in Watertown, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Athenahealth is filled with incredibly bright engineers. During my years here I have found tremendous mentors and developed my skills greatly. I like that Athenahealth is a meritocracy where years of experience are not required for a promotion. A engineer with a few years of experience can reach the highest cohorts if they are truly performing at that level. The other thing that is awesome is the dogs! I bring mine in every day - she is the favorite employee in the office.

      Cons

      Senior leadership has been swung around a bit with our recent acquisition. To be honest the effects haven't been felt too much in day to day activity. It was distracting for a time period, especially given the fomo on the conspiracy slack channels. Thankfully things have stabilized.

      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Great Leadership at Director Level

      Jun 9, 2020 - Senior Associate in Watertown, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Strong team camaraderie and good learning environment

      Cons

      High level of senior leadership turnover

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Not a managed company

      Jan 26, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Watertown, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Non-management people are terrific and a dog friendly campus make it a nice place to be. The mission still resonates and is important.

      Cons

      Be careful who you work for. How your life is at athena is completely dependent on who your manager is. Some manager get how athena is broken and helps you manage through it. Others throw you to the wolves, criticize everything you do and bury you in corporate politics. Senior leadership has not a single clue about the company they are running because they barricade themselves in their ivory towers and almost never mingle with the masses on a regular basis.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      It’s gone way downhill

      May 2, 2019 - Manager in Watertown, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There used to be a culture, we were doing good, disruptive things in the healthcare tech space

      Cons

      Lowball pay, unreasonable expectations set by sales and onboarding, abysmal senior leadership

      Continue reading
      17 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good Product, But Tough Times

      Jan 11, 2019 - Customer Success Manager in Watertown, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Competitive salary, good bonus, company stock - Work/life balance is manageable - You'll work with talented and intelligent individuals - As far as medical software goes, athena has a good product; most doctors hate EMRs no matter what, but athena will rank pretty high in any kind of industry ranking list - There's a feeling that the work you do matters - If this is your kind of thing, you can bring dogs to work

      Cons

      - the turnover at the top of the company was pretty unsettling, particularly watching CEO get dragged through the mud publicly; i also think in the 3 years I worked there athena had something like 6 CFOs. It felt like every other month we were finding out about a change to senior leadership - mass layoff in 2017, entire process was handled just so poorly, but seeing 400-500 people lose their jobs without a ton of warning was hard to get past; I wasn't laid off but felt like the next time around I wouldn't be so lucky - the health insurance was less than ideal, if you're married, you'll want to use your spouse's, no matter what - the customer support center is a major point of frustration for clients, I even had a few clients who refused to call and demanded I handle everything for them - cases take far too long to be worked on, which frustrates clients - there's an unfortunate culture of "client-facing" vs "non client-facing"; a lot of operational teams are needed to face off with clients to ensure best customer service, and these teams refuse to speak to clients - constant reorgs and change -i listed company stock as a pro, but i'll probably never work at a publicly traded company again after this experience; just way too much power given to shareholders and while it made athena a ton of money going public, in the end this company would probably be best being privately owned so it didn't have to make decisions based purely off making investors money

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Proceed with caution...

      May 24, 2018 - Lead Software Developer in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A few ago I wrote about how this was the best job I ever had. A lot has changed since then, most of it for the worst. You may be fine here, or you may not. It's definitely not a horrible place to work, but it sure seems like it some days when comparing it to how it used to be just a couple years ago. > The vast majority of the people you work with directly are awesome. > Work/life balance is fantastic. There are a days now and again where you are expected to be in the office, but usually you can work from home whenever you need to. > A lot of new projects and technology coming into play in the last year. I don't know anyone in Austin who is still writing Perl code on an ancient monolith anymore. > For the most part, the managers I've worked with over the year have been excellent and most people have a positive relationship with theirs. > The company mission is inspiring, although depending on where you land you might be doing nothing more than moving data around and not feeling inspired by your day job. > Free breakfast tacos on Mondays. Other basic free snacks and drinks are available as well.

      Cons

      Most of the employees right now are not unhappy. The company has been bleeding talent since last October when they laid off 10% of employees to placate a whiny shareholder. If you decide to accept an offer, you should realize that you are likely replacing someone who quit. > Senior leadership is awful in many ways. No matter how far down the ladder you are, they will make decisions that will negatively impact your morale and career on a regular basis. > The CTO, Prakash Khot, is full of bad ideas but thinks himself an infallible messiah of tech. I've never seen a leader take an organization high in morale and productivity and drag it down so low. Example: he decided a few months back that all teams across the entire company should consist of exactly 3 developers (with few exceptions). Every engineer that I've talked to about it said it is the stupidest idea that they ever heard. > Highly political and back-stabbing environment. The CTO used company-wide layoffs last October to forcefully remove the entire senior leadership team in Austin. These were the best leaders I've ever worked with in my life and did their jobs extremely well, but the CTO resented them for pushing back against his demands and often awful agenda (see: 3 developer teams). Morale in Austin has absolutely plummeted since and shows no signs of recovery. > Low autonomy for certain groups and teams. If you don't have any desire to design anything and are content with just taking orders from above, you'll be fine. > The company is notorious for re-orgs because SLT at the top are incompetent and unable to provide any stability. This often means having your project abruptly canceled (even if it's 99% done) for BS reasons like a change in SLT's "vision". About half of the projects I've worked on have been canceled for one reason or another > Career advancement isn't really based on performance, but more on luck. I've watched many great engineers be held back in their careers because they were in the wrong place at the wrong time (project got canceled on them) or had a manager who was too busy to notice their impact or didn't care. HR has taken notice and is making solid steps to improve this though.

      Continue reading
      63 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Mixed Feelings, "culture" is too monolithic

      Jan 18, 2014 - Technology in Watertown, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Can be fun if you're on the right team - Career path mobility (to move to different groups or be promoted) - Mission - Beer fridges, games, food, etc. - Good people

      Cons

      - Small startup mentality at a mid-sized company creates more issues than it solves - Culture is monolithic (somewhat cult-like, not necessarily terrible but not all that creative) - Technology stack is outdated, developers may not develop transferable skills - Politics, questionable senior leadership in the c-suite (JB is OK but others are in the wrong roles) - Fast-paced but slow moving (as in not very agile) - Not lots of room for those who think outside-the-box (truly creative/disruptive) - Average (at best) benefits

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Goodness gracious, what happened to this place? Getting significantly worse every year for several years.

      Feb 13, 2017 - Senior Manager in Watertown, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Meaningful pockets of great, intelligent people - Some teams have a healthy culture (when they can insulate themselves from the madness) - If you are talented, do quality work, and can deal with absolute madness with a straight face most of the time, you will probably get promoted - Pretty decent PTO that you can actually use on some teams - Ever decreasing in frequency, yet still cool feeling that you are making some type of concrete, incremental improvements in healthcare to make things work better - For 1-5 minute bursts, the dogs in the office can have a calming, therapeutic effect, until you walk away and realize you are in a place where nothing makes sense anymore

      Cons

      - Senior leadership swirl and erratic decision-making push down chaos to those who have to try making sense of conflicting guidance or no guidance - Just when you are starting to figure things out and get a bit of momentum, some arbitrary, poorly communicated directive and/or another re-org makes you have to start all over again - New CTO doesn't have a clue. Compounding this, CEO seemingly doesn't have a clue that CTO doesn't have a clue. By all means, keep trying to copy and paste "well this worked at Salesforce seven years ago" solutions to a different industry in a different time and see how it goes. Hint: it's going poorly. - Odd, cult-like insistence that strict Agile will magically fix everything, at the expense of common sense in many cases - The people who are most frustrated now are increasingly the intelligent, high-performing contributors and leaders who are simply running out of patience with athena's nonsense

      Continue reading
      60 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 24 Reviews

    Popular Careers with athenahealth Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at athenahealth? Share Your Experiences

    or