KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

athenahealth

Engaged Employer

athenahealth

Add a Review

athenahealth Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Dec 4, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 318 of over 1,897 reviews

4.1
78%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
athenahealth Chairman and CEO Bob Segert
Bob Segert
206 Ratings

What people are saying about athenahealth

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of athenahealth and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    As close to the "perfect career" that I have ever found

    May 1, 2015 - Senior Software Developer in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - You won't work with anyone who is neither technically incompetent nor unable to communicate, because they don't get hired in the first place. - Best teamwork I've seen in my career. Engineers work directly with product management and together do great things. - Awesome benefits: a $300 yearly budget for personal items, nearly unlimited free snacks and drinks, regular outings and fun events - The company really values their employees and make you feel important. They spend a lot of money on us. - Meaningful work with the ability to really improve healthcare and people's lives on a daily basis. - Great flexibility on hours and good work/life balance. Some people work 100% remotely. - Lots of opportunity for growth, as the company itself is growing rapidly.

    Cons

    - Continues to use older technologies (Perl, Perforce) with no sign of incoming changes. - Monthly/bi-monthly release cycles means that you can feel frequently pressured with deadlines. - Development practices are too focused on solving short-term solutions. Good practices like refactoring, documentation, and unit testing are often not given any time. Software quality and development time suffers as a result. - Many managers seem like they struggle with work/life balance and regularly work many more hours than they should have to. - Not much in terms of a technical development track. If you want to move up in the company, you're pretty much not going to be writing code anymore.

    25 people found this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great experience, outdated operating model

    Feb 16, 2022 - User Experience Designer in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I got to lead projects and have a lot of input into a consumer-facing product. I worked with a great, diverse team and smart people. Work-life balance is great and you can feel done with work for the day at 5.

    Cons

    I left because I did not see a way of ever getting promoted to senior-level and it was never talked about. I was always told how great I was doing and I got a great performance review score. After I left, someone with less years of experience was promoted to senior-level, so I have zero clue what was going on there. I occasionally burned out because I didn’t have any UX help after two people on the team left and those spots were empty for months. Additionally, I wanted to work 100% remote after reevaluating my life. While I was granted that option for the time being, I was not looking forward to eventually having to be in an office 3 days a week. I left for a role where I might go into the office 3 times a month (or less). There was also memos about losing out on bonuses and raises if you chose to work 100% remote. With inflation, I’d be losing money by staying because I wasn’t sitting in an office doing the same thing I’d be doing at home. Compensation is low. I got a 60% (!!!) raise by leaving.

    2 people found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    Good Work life balance

    Mar 10, 2016 - Software Engineer in Watertown, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Athena tries very hard to offer the perks of other software companies. They have a cafeteria with good and highly subsidized food. They offer full time developers $300 a year ($100 for interns) as a dev budget that allows developers to buy things that improve the work environment. Many developers but headphones, keyboards, massage chairs, ect... They take care of their developers by having frequent events such as wine tasting, boat cruises, barbecues and more. The work life balance at athena is the best I've seen at any tech company. What you get done is more important than the hours you work.

    Cons

    The tech stack at athena is dated. They use perl and have a monolithic code base. There are a number of business reasons to use this technology but in general athena prefers to build everything from scratch rather than using open source software.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Satisfied but....

    Jan 24, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great culture... Great management team... Work not as complicated as they make it. Relaxed work environment (sometimes) access to the beltline :-)

    Cons

    Work life balance is tough.My husband gets upset when I have to respond to emails after dinner. We seem to have to fight Sr management to change process. 'We've always done it like that' rings bells

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Stay away if you want a work/life balance

    Feb 28, 2014 - Senior Product Innovation Associate in Waltham, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's challenging if you are looking for that type of work. The building and culture is very cool - Google wannabes without the free food, cars, cool conference rooms, etc.

    Cons

    You get hired into the 'culture' and they have the right to fire you within 90 days. Even if you are a hard worker and work long hours - it doesn't really matter unless you fit in the culture. The culture is quite the geeky type so it's not really for the 'cool' kids. They throw you in the deep end and expect you to figure out how to swim, if you don't swim within the first few seconds, they will push you down the pool on purpose. They basically set you up to failure so they have an excuse to oust you. The management team is not that experienced because they are so young. Most of the people there worked there from the beginning so they don't know how to appreciate a true work/life balance. They think this is the best company to work for but they have not had much experience out there. They hire college graduates right off the bat and work them until they are exhausted. There are all these cool culture perks there but no one utilizes it because you work so hard. The compensation is not that great compared to how long you work - it's comparable to auditing hours. They expect you to stay at the company and 'mingle' even after you have finished all your work for the day. If you leave 'early' (which is around 6:00 - 6:30PM), they assume that you're not interested in the 'culture' and that you 'don't fit', so they'll have the right to fire you.

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Good Company but not loyal to employees

    Jun 29, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good culture but it has been changing over the years. The pay is alright. CEO is Awesome.

    Cons

    Pay is not based on cost of living but prevailing wages. Even though Atlanta has a lower cost of living than Belfast, Maine, Atlanta gets paid 10% more. They have no loyalty to their employees. If a client complains then your job is on the line. Work life balance can be hard even though they say that they want you to have one. High turnover in client facing positions due to people being fired and leaving. It seems like the company pushes clients into what they believe is right rather than concentrating on what the clients want.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great mission but chaotic upper management

    Aug 9, 2016 - Staff Software Engineer in Watertown, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval