KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

athenahealth

Engaged Employer

athenahealth

Add a Review

athenahealth Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 21, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 200 of over 2K reviews

4.2
81%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
athenahealth Chairman and CEO Bob Segert
Bob Segert
139 Ratings
Pros
  • "good comapany to work with,good work life balance(in 206 reviews)

  • "Great culture, People Oriented company with challenging work(in 77 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "There has always been a bit of a sacrifice on the work/life balance(in 81 reviews)

  • "Senior Leadership tends to micromanage(in 43 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of athenahealth and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great company that is focused on execution

      Jan 21, 2021 - Executive Director in Watertown, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      New leadership team is transparent and has earned the respect of the organization through delivering on its promises. The company is now all about action and accountability and welcome change from prior years

      Cons

      Very few. We are driving hard and fast, so some work life balance issues, but one has the flexibility to manage that on their own

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      This company is not what it seems.. don't fall for it

      Jul 29, 2020 - Sales Representative in Watertown, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Dogs in the Office Some Great People to work with Travel

      Cons

      athenahealth makes themselves attractive to recent college grads in their sales department with the front of a sparkling culture, great work/life balance, chance for promotion, and a livable wage. This is all a FRONT. The culture can be extremely toxic with people talking down to you or trying to intimidate you, lying to your face about promotions, making you put in more than the average 40 hours/week and then cutting it from your timecard without saying a word to you, management playing favoritism in a very awkward way that is unprofessional, not answering employee questions without reading off of a script, and throwing you into more useless meetings than you even have time for. They have even put a complete hold to their claim to fame, which is athenaGives (giving our EMR to non-profit clinics in need) and have not been transparent with practices who have been on a waitlist for months. This entire company feels like a cult, not a community. Don't fall into their trap.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Culture, Old Tech

      Jan 13, 2021 - Software Engineer in Watertown, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great work culture - Good compensation - Opportunities to improve old tech - Great work life balance

      Cons

      - Currently using old tech

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      It keeps getting better!

      Oct 29, 2020 - Senior Sales Manager in Watertown, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The team at athena is a highly motivated and engaged team capable of incredible things. The new leadership team has enabled steep growth trajectory. Our clients NPS scores continue to improve. We are fixing healthcare!

      Cons

      There has always been a bit of a sacrifice on the work/life balance.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Grwat place to build career

      Nov 24, 2020 - Manager in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance, career developmenr, fun interesting work

      Cons

      Private equity owned, benefits could be better

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work

      Aug 10, 2020 - Senior Manager in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Great company culture -Employee feedback is highly valued -Work/Life balance, flexibility -Co-workers are generally very friendly and treat each other with respect -Strong leadership teams -Very talented co-workers in all geographies

      Cons

      -Slight favoritism to home office-based employees (Watertown, MA) -Compensation is slightly below-average -Lack of diversity at all levels of leadership -As with most larger companies, it's easier to get to the next level career-wise by looking elsewhere, even for the most productive employees

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Supportive environment for parents, fun atmosphere

      Jan 21, 2020 - Senior Manager Marketing in Watertown, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It might vary by division, but overall the work/life balance is excellent. My manager, division, and colleagues are understanding about family commitments and it is easy to work from home whenever I need to. 3-month maternity leave policy is a plus, and the lactation rooms in the office are great. There is also an athenaParents group that is active and helpful. I don't use it myself, but there is a Bright Horizons daycare sharing our campus, and it is very convenient for many employees. I also enjoy coming to work every day to see colleagues and be in this space. It's an energetic environment, there are dogs everywhere, and the atmosphere feels fun and casual (but everyone still works hard!). Employees are social and engaged. It's a place where you can form true friendships with colleagues.

      Cons

      There has been a lot of turnover in recent years, including at the executive level. It's led to some frustrations and confusion, but I really believe we are past it now. We're on the right track and I feel optimistic about being here long term. Depending on the division, it can be hard to get promoted, and the same standards are not always applied across the company.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      A lot of internal career opportunity

      Jan 9, 2020 - Marketing Manager in Watertown, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people are the biggest pro. I am so lucky to work with incredibly smart and hard working colleagues! With this great group comes a lot of networking opportunities internally and the chance to learn new skills and even move into a new role when there is an opening. I have also had great support from my manager during my time here to network and explore both growth within my team and elsewhere in athena. I would also note that my work life balance is great. Though I work hard, and so does my team, I am able to be flexible with my schedule when needed which is great. I have a seen a shift towards consistent leadership and shared values in the company, and am really eager to see the continued growth and development not only of the company as a whole but of my colleagues and friends at athena!

      Cons

      There has been a lot of change over the past two years, but the company is certainly stabilizing a lot and people seem optimistic. It will be important over the coming months to continue this stability in leadership.

      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Nice place to work

      Oct 18, 2020 - Clinical Quality Associate in Memphis, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work Culture and work life balance

      Cons

      Nothing In specific. All good

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Fantastic Place to Work

      Oct 14, 2020 - Senior Manager in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Phenomenal work-life balance Transparent leadership Wonderful, intelligent coworkers

      Cons

      Promotions can be political High deductible health plan

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 200 Reviews

    Popular Careers with athenahealth Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at athenahealth? Share Your Experiences

    or