bd’s Mongolian Grill Reviews | Glassdoor

bd’s Mongolian Grill Reviews

Updated Jul 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 72 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
bd’s Mongolian Grill CEO Joe Phraner
Joe Phraner
24 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Tip out on sales not tips, a lot of side work, heavy on sales and add ons(in 3 reviews)

  • "No gratuity, hard work, some people don't tip(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Master Griller in Novi, MI

    I worked at bd’s Mongolian Grill part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very flexible, always good to me.

    Cons

    Needs to have more steady management staff.

    bd’s Mongolian Grill2019-07-18
  2. "Fun environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Waiter in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at bd’s Mongolian Grill part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy good people and good money

    Cons

    Not everyone tips Slow seasons are slow

    Advice to Management

    Cut servers earlier when its not busy

    bd’s Mongolian Grill2019-06-19
  3. "No respect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at bd’s Mongolian Grill

    Pros

    Can be a welcoming place at first

    Cons

    Management is outrageous, they don’t respect their employees in the slightest

    Advice to Management

    Better train your management team.

    bd’s Mongolian Grill2019-06-10
  4. "1+ year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Bolingbrook, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at bd’s Mongolian Grill part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Somewhat of a laid back environment

    Cons

    Tip out on sales not tips, a lot of side work, heavy on sales and add ons

    Advice to Management

    Change tip out policy based on tips so servers don't lose money

    bd’s Mongolian Grill2019-05-14
  5. "Awful management and worse hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Waitress in Overland Park, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at bd’s Mongolian Grill part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discounted food, chefs were nice, and opening is easy.

    Cons

    Hours were bad, impossible to call in sick, management was rude, and tips were not great.

    Advice to Management

    Get better at scheduling enough people at the right time. We don't need 8 people on a Tuesday morning.

    bd’s Mongolian Grill2019-05-14
  6. "A decent place to work if you are single, don't have a personal life and don't care about being underpaid."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at bd’s Mongolian Grill full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food, can be personable with staff.

    Cons

    Under paid No work life balance Nothing gets fixed Can't keep teammates since they barely make minimum wage Expected to work over 55 hours a week.

    Advice to Management

    Just sell it already.

    bd’s Mongolian Grill2019-04-18
  7. "Pile it high..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Server/Waiter 
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at bd’s Mongolian Grill full-time

    Pros

    Tips can be good also good food as well. For what pay to get the ingredients cooked fresh for you pile MEAT or proteins on top of bowl as much as possible!!!

    Cons

    Other work performed besides waiting on customers especially opening can use a bit of work. Not a place I would miss working for.

    Advice to Management

    Watch for dead beat customers that don't pay!!!!

    bd’s Mongolian Grill2019-01-20
  8. "Understaffed underpaid overworked poor conditions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cook in Auburn Hills, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at bd’s Mongolian Grill full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fellow team members are great

    Cons

    Going broke,everything is about money. Things never get fixed, never enough staff to give great service or food.

    Advice to Management

    Dont hure people in and tell them things are going well. The company needs to close its doors.

    bd’s Mongolian Grill2018-11-08
  9. "Griller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at bd’s Mongolian Grill full-time

    Pros

    Mostly friendly team mates and coworkers

    Cons

    Management was very divided and there seemed to be little communication. Employees were never punished for being late or for not doing their jobs.

    bd’s Mongolian Grill2018-08-29
  10. "Good Part-time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at bd’s Mongolian Grill part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Easy work environment, discounted food, fun atmosphere

    Cons

    Pay for cooking and prep staff is inadequate.

    Advice to Management

    Raise pay of grill staff

    bd’s Mongolian Grill2018-04-02
Found 72 reviews