bebe stores Reviews | Glassdoor

bebe stores Reviews

Updated May 24, 2017
393 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

393 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Great discount, flexible schedule (in 56 reviews)

  • Flexible schedule & great employee discount (in 26 reviews)

Cons
  • The work/life balance is terrible and when you take a day off they make it seem like your not doing you job (in 12 reviews)

  • Long hours, store clean up, competitive (in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "store manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Miami, FL
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at bebe stores full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    great team environment, beautiful clothes

    Cons

    do floor set every day

    bebe stores Response

    Feb 10, 2016 – SVP Human Resources

    Thanks for taking the time to write!


  2. "stylist"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stylist in Plano, TX
    Former Employee - Stylist in Plano, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at bebe stores part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    -Not much cleaning to do
    -Amazing clientele
    -Good hours, for the most part
    -Awesome pay, base plus commission

    Cons

    -Management can pick favorites
    -Coworkers can be arrogant
    -Inventory and floor setting every wednesday becomes too much, can last till 5am or even 6am

    Advice to Management

    stop picking favorites, listen to what the stylists have to say such as concerns, and schedule properly.

    bebe stores Response

    Feb 10, 2016 – SVP Human Resources

    Thanks for the review! We [post schedules at least 3 weeks out and don't use on-call shifts so our Associates can better plan their life outside bebe!


  3. Helpful (3)

    "Poor management"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at bebe stores (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    My coworkers are great people.

    Cons

    The executives only care about themselves, not the people who do the majority of the hard work. It's like they feel people are disposable. They keep getting raises or severance while regular employees get nothing.

    Advice to Management

    Make better decisions


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Stylist"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stylist in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Stylist in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at bebe stores (More than a year)

    Pros

    You get to be hands on with new merchandise and have a lot of one on one with clients. It's a good company to start as a stylist.

    Cons

    They pay sucks. They used to start you at 5% commission and you work your way up to 10%. Now they pay hourly which blows!

    Advice to Management

    Protest and get the commission pay back and you just might get some good stylist back into your stores. (We all left the company at my location)


  6. "Good experience, but not the best work environment"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Assistant I in Westminster, CA
    Former Employee - Production Assistant I in Westminster, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at bebe stores full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Many opportunities to grow and learn on the job.
    Many great people to work with at the design studio.

    Cons

    The pay is lacking.
    Corporate culture isn't the best.

    bebe stores Response

    Dec 15, 2015 – SVP Human Resources

    Thanks for the review!


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Design"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Designer in Los Angeles, CA
    Former Employee - Designer in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at bebe stores full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    nice building, loved most of my team mates, a lot of nice places around office to go for lunch and Westfield mall is walking distance.

    Cons

    The company is struggling to compete in the very competitive market place with the likes of Zara and H&M so constant management changes and layoffs.

    Advice to Management

    stop knocking off, offer product that can't be found at the mall for half the price. set the trends not follow them.

    bebe stores Response

    Dec 15, 2015 – SVP Human Resources

    Thanks for the feedback.


  8. "Fun and fashionable"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stylist in Newport Beach, CA
    Former Employee - Stylist in Newport Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Very fun upbeat atmosphere! Great clothes and 50% discount. Management is very supportive and just overall awesome.

    Cons

    Drama with some of the girls because it get pretty competitive, everybody wants to make their sales goal so some are not very nice about it. Also if you're not a people person you probably shouldn't work there.

    bebe stores Response

    Oct 21, 2015 – SVP Human Resources

    Thanks for the review!


  9. Helpful (3)

    "People, client, and brand focused."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager District Trainer in Charlotte, NC
    Current Employee - Store Manager District Trainer in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at bebe stores full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I've worked in retail management for over 10 years. Never have I worked for ANY company that was more passionate about what they do. Bebe invests in their people, and has multiple tools available to continue to develop and grow their people. They see potential and talent in each individual. Even if you're unsure of where you want to go in retail, they suggest opportunities to grow based on your skills and natural talent. Bebe is a career, not a job, and the possibilities are endless with growth. Bebe motivates their team with amazing incentives. There's no "I" in team, but there is in "Win!" and we win together! Stores in the district and all up the corporate ladder, support you, and genuinely care about each person that contributes to the success of the brand.
    "How high is high?"

    Cons

    I truly can't think of any downside. The company is smart and makes decisions based on what's best for the brand.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up guys!

    bebe stores Response

    Oct 14, 2015 – SVP Human Resources

    Thanks for taking the time to write the review!


  10. "No Growth"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist in Los Angeles, CA
    Current Employee - Stylist in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at bebe stores part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great sales driven environment
    Great team
    Great sales and client service training to achieve the Bebe look

    Cons

    There no growth from within and im becoming super discourage. I have a B.S. in Retail Management great experience with competitive internships and chose to work at Bebe my senior year. After graduation Ive inquired about growth within the company wether in management or corporate . I've seen people who don't have degrees or degrees related to the industry given the opportunity to move in the company. Yet I've inquired and pretty much have not had success. I love Bebe, but I have no choice but to look else were. I've had competitor companies reach out to me to apply for positions.

    Advice to Management

    Look within your stores for talent I'm sure there are several stylist in my situation.
    Maybe start a Management trainee internship program that would give qualified student the opportunity to learn hands on managerial skills

    bebe stores Response

    Oct 21, 2015 – SVP Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review! You should speak to your DM or Regional HR Manager about career paths within the organization. More than 50% of our leadership positions are filled ... More


  11. "Love Bebe!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Jacksonville, FL
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at bebe stores full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Best place to work if you love fashion and have a natural talent for leadership. They are all about development and truly acknowledging successes. I've been with the company less than a year but I'm beyond happy with my job. If you work hard and show your passion for the business and brand, doors will open! And I love the commission program for the stylists! They truly can make a lot of extra $$

    Cons

    Hard to attain manager bonuses and low pay. With the changing times attaining set goals to achieve bonus is very hard, even with the new program there's always a clause.

    Advice to Management

    Change the management bonuses diving into season, provide more opportunities for contests and bring each store together as a team!


Showing 393 of 396 reviews
Reset Filters