bebe stores Sales Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Sales

bebe stores Sales Reviews

Updated Dec 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
69%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
bebe stores Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer Manny Mashouf (no image)
Manny Mashouf
10 Ratings
  1. "I felt like I was not given antiquate training, and judged too early."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Stylist in Emeryville, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at bebe stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The Styles are amazing, always fierce

    Cons

    This Company doesn't reflect the moral principles dignified enough to encompass the rash reality that sexist personalities employ the inner floors the these stores.

    Continue reading
    bebe stores2014-12-12

    bebe stores Response

    December 17, 2014SVP Human Resources

    Thanks for taking the time to write your review and I'm sorry you didn't have a good experience. While I don't understand your comment under "cons", I would encourage you to contact your regional HR Manager at 1-877-bebe-SOS, option 2 if you feel like you weren't treated professionally or to report any prohibited behaviors.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Loved the discount!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Stylist in Troy, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at bebe stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    50% discount on all merchandise!

    Cons

    Very competitive. The staff is usually made up of young catty girls that will do anything to make a sale.

    Continue reading
    bebe stores2014-11-16

    bebe stores Response

    November 19, 2014SVP Human Resources

    Thanks for the review! Our generous discount is a great way to keep your wardrobe current and is among the best in the mall! Our Stylists are competitive! We provide best in industry training to help you get that edge!

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great retail learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Stylist 

    I worked at bebe stores part-time

    Pros

    Awesome employee discount, GREAT learning environment for sales and customer service, fun, glamorous environment, flexible schedules. This is the kind of job for someone with previous retail experience looking to build their portfolio and network AND for those that aspire to move up into management.

    Cons

    The wage is low, and you get commission but there is a high return rate so you lose that commission very easily. If you work more than part-time (basically a manager), then you may not have a problem; if you are part-time you should just consider the hourly pay. Very independent, competitive sales floor (you better be on your game! and claim your clients quickly before the other associate does)

    bebe stores2014-10-30

    bebe stores Response

    October 31, 2014SVP Human Resources

    Thanks for the review! Up to 67% of our leadership team in the stores organization is promoted from within and supported through our Leadership Development Program and Advanced Leadership Development Program.

    Continue reading
  4. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Associate in Rancho Cucamonga, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at bebe stores for less than a year

    Pros

    Discount! , upbeat and fun environment , good sales experience . Always something to do , never a dull moment. Always learning about what's in trend and what's not .

    Cons

    Managers constantly on you about sale goals and they don't give you the time to breath and let you do your job . Rude stuck up customers . Don't get payed enough . Not a lot of hours . There's alot of favoritism between some managers and associates

    Continue reading
    bebe stores2014-10-08

    bebe stores Response

    October 31, 2014SVP Human Resources

    Thanks for the review! I agree -- we do have a great culture at bebe and a very competitive commission plan where you can earn incremental commission rates if you are eligible to join Presidents, CAO or Chairman's Club.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent benefits, Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at bebe stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been working at the company for 2 and a half year. I started from minimum wage earned commission as a stylist. I got promoted twice last year from a key holder for a month then to a sale manager position. The company has excellent managerial development program. I've learned a lot about the business, selling and clientele business. The company pretty much taught me all about it than other retail stores I worked at previously. All my coworkers are very friendly working as a team.

    Cons

    If you work at a lower volume store it is hard to earn commission. Very high turn over rate. People come and go all the time in the retail industry. Always experience understaffed. Also being a manager pretty much u need to have completely open schedule. It is hard to work at this job if you're in college and full time.

    bebe stores2014-10-06

    bebe stores Response

    October 31, 2014SVP Human Resources

    Thanks for the review and congratulations on your promotions! Career development is very important to us and you have the ability to ascend to DM or RD levels if you choose the stores track or come to corporate. Keep up the great work!

    Continue reading
  6. "Enjoyable job. Not really a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Hollywood, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at bebe stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun work and 40% off for clothes, happy work environment, interesting clients

    Cons

    Watch your paycheck closely, the payroll dept isn't very good. Audits usually return you owed money.

    Continue reading
    bebe stores2014-10-08

    bebe stores Response

    October 31, 2014SVP Human Resources

    Thanks for the review! You can review your time sheet anytime to make sure it's correct. If you feel like your pay isn't correct please call your Regional HR Manager at 877-bebe-SOS, option #2 and we'll look into it.

    Continue reading
  7. "Lots of responsibilities, but overall a good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in New Brunswick, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at bebe stores full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great discount great environment great clothes decent pay

    Cons

    usually no weekends off long hours very early mornings and late nights had to constantly deal with covering for no call/no shows

    Continue reading
    bebe stores2014-10-22

    bebe stores Response

    November 19, 2014SVP Human Resources

    Thanks for the review. Talk to your manager about cross-training the stylists -- it's how they will get to the next level if you get promoted. Up to 67% of our leadership teams come from internal promotions!

    Continue reading
  8. "Glamorous Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales Stylist in Queens Village, NY
    Recommends

    I have been working at bebe stores part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The best reasons working at this company is you meet a lot of people and that give you a chance to increase your clientele.

    Cons

    Your gonna work hours and not always meet your goals.

    Continue reading
    bebe stores2014-08-24

    bebe stores Response

    September 17, 2014SVP Human Resources

    Thanks for taking the time to review us. Sounds like you are on your way to meeting more of your goals by clienteling but there are a number of other ways too. Ask you manager for her/his recommendations on ways to hit your goals more often and don't forget, we have a world class training program -- after 3 years (!) with us you could always take a refresher or use some of our other tools like role playing and the World Class Service Training Cards. Good luck and thanks for all you do!

    Continue reading
  9. "Learn to deal with A LOT of politics!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at bebe stores full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Interacting with NICE clients was really the best part of the job.

    Cons

    NO job SECURITY!! Also, if you're NOT a S.M. or up, you can forget about anyone having your back!!

    Continue reading
    bebe stores2014-08-19
  10. "Learn and develop many skills and get a great discount! - must be able to work under pressure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at bebe stores full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Strong team that utilizes real results for constant improvement. Supportive managers that push their team with positive feedback and direction. 50% discount is great for buying clothes for work and after work activities. Dress code allows team members to dress professionally and showcase personal style.

    Cons

    Training is inadequate for part-time associates and so is their pay. Wearing heels for extended periods can be a bit painful. A lot of pressure to deter shoplifters, difficult when shifts do not have enough coverage. Too many promotions in cycle at the same time.

    Continue reading
    bebe stores2014-08-05

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 93 reviews